We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“beware construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Canada, Kentucky
Level Contributor
305 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“beware construction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

The location is magical and the accommodations are fine, BUT Castle Resourts rented out units that should be closed for heavy renovations that we experienced February 5 - 11.

4 (weekday) mornings out of 6 during our stay the concrete drills, coring equipment, sanders, and saws were screaming away at 8 am. They put an "Aloha Gram" under our door warning us of construction for two days - after we arrived. Then it went on for four days.

Be sure to ask about construction before you book - otherwise your days could be ruined by noise and dust. The photos of our lanai show some of the work. Forget about breakfast or lunch overlooking the Pacific unless you want workers joining your meal and spreading concrete over your food!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    50
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
78
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

The only thing we would have changed was the length of our stay. We wish we could have been there much longer than four nights! Our unit was superb. It was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and even had a nice washer and dryer (took care of our towels, etc.). We loved the view and the sound of the ocean waves. There was an a/c unit available in the ocean front bedroom, but we never needed it, the breeze was so perfect.

The owner, Lynn, was very helpful and gave us a lot of good advice for restaurants, etc. Poipu Beach is a wonderful beach, and restaurants such as the Beach House are very close. The next time we go to Kauai, we will definitely want to stay in the same unit.

We found this condominium to be a great headquarters for our island exploration. Its pretty close to the canyon, Port Allen, and Lihue. Further details about the unit can be found at [--]. It was also nice that it was the last unit in the building, right by the pool. We leave it behind, but will always cherish the wonderful memory of our stay in 101A

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Tips/Secrets — Try tubing, and whale watching (in season)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

We had 4 suites for 1 week after Christmas and all 4 families loved this place. 3 suites were in building A and ours was in building B and by far ours was the smallest, but it was big enough for the 3 of us and the in-suite laundry was a bonus. The 3 suites in Building A were all gorgeous and much larger than ours, all with a full 2nd bathroom and dishwasher. The pool was perfect for the kids and we spent lots of time out on the deck watching the turtles and whales. The daily housekeeping is minimal. I thought the location was stunning for views but a little out of the way on the island. Not much around the area for reasonably priced restaurants, thankfully we knew that going in and ate in six our of 7 nights. Only reason I wouldn't stay here again is the location, I preferred the other side of the island, even with it's rain.

  • Liked — Amazing views
  • Disliked — Location too far away from Lihue and what we thought was better side of island
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own groceries, including seasonings and staples.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cathig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2006

Our Honeymoon started out rocky with a bad condo, then I found Poipu Shores online and we moved that day. They were so wonderful to us. We stayed in room 101 it had King sized bed, A/C (which not many places had), a leather couch, built in washer and dryer for your convience, and TWO bathrooms. The owners also let you use there beach mats and chairs. The waves rock you to sleep at night. The pool is right out the doorstep, and a wonderful beach within walking distance. The condo is set below the others so it's like an intimate little nook. It was truelly a lovely and romantic place.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Schulze05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2006

We rented through the owners at PoipuBeachCondo and had a terrific experience in 305A, a 2 bedroom, though we only used one room. In fact we extended our stay and didn't go on to our next destination becasue we couldn't imagine anything better. Amazing view, well appointed master and very nicely and thoughtfully equipped kitchen (ice tea maker, even spices & a cookbook!) . Included beach chairs, huge beach towels, big washer dryer etc. The pool was a real plus as the ocean was very rough durign our stay (earthquake time!). Also, gas grills were conveniently located and fun for searing the excellent quality ahi (tuna) availble from the fish markets. We also saw the one bedroom owned/managed by the same owners, It was really pretty and while the lanai on that one is shared, it had an amazing proximity to the ocean and air conditioning if the surf noise gets to you. Some units in this building are managed by a large company. I didn't see the inside of these units , but judging by the housekeeping carts. it didn't seem as if they had very nice linens, etc. I would recommend trying to book with this owner for a quality experience at Poipu Shores.

  • Liked — location, pool, amenities, personal attention from owner
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — explore local fruit/flowers markets/fish markets-better than the restaurants!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lmgrbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Kauai. We stayed at Poipu Shores for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. We rented out 101B a one bedroom condo. The furnishings were comfortable.....really felt like home there. The bathroom off the master bedroom needed some work (stained bathtub, broken sliding glass door, very dim lighting) but overall everything was updated.

The lanai was what made this place so special. It's sits right over the ocean with views that are unbelievable. We saw sea turtles right below us everyday. The sounds of the surf crashing underneath were powerful. Definitely wonderful to hear.....rocked us to sleep every night.

The downside of the lanai is that it is shared with another condo that is right next door. We were lucky that no one had rented it out during our stay......if it was, it definitely would have changed the whole experience. The pool is steps away.....it's just to the right of the lanai. We definitely would love to stay there again someday. Kauai is a truly magical place. We had so much fun. Highly recommend snorkeling at Tunnels Beach, driving up to the North Shore, and hiking in Waimea Canyon and off of Kee Beach. We took the Holo Holo Boat Charter out to the Napali coast. Fabulous experiece. Crew was great and the boat was comfortable. There was a large group on board but it never felt crowded.

Ate at Keoki's Paradise (nice ambiance, good food, close to Poipu Shores), Tidepool (in the Grand Hyatt, gorgeous ambiance, impeccable service, great food, pricey), Casa D'Amici (didn't care for it, maybe it was just the meal I ordered, ambiance is decent, close to the condo) and our favorite The Beach House (best view is Table #11, bring your camera!). We will definitely be visiting Kauai again soon. I miss it already!

  • Liked — The lanai and views
  • Disliked — If the condo next to us had been rented out, we would have had to share the lanai. Not a good thing.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Caliifornia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that overlooked the Pacific Ocean for six nights. From our room we could view the turtles swimming right below us. I was told that this is the closest we could get to the ocean on the island. Our condo was clean, comfortable, well equiped, and just absolutely awesome!. Because of our fantastic vew we didn't do as much on the island as we would have liked because we didn't want to leave and just wanted to relax on our lanai. They had just redone the pool and it was beautiful. I was worried about not having air conditioning, but the ocean breezes and the overhead fans took care of that so we were never uncomfortable. The waves crashing did wake us up from time to time, but that didn't bother us. Better to wake up hearing waves crashing against the rocks then from dogs barking or horns honking!

This place is a "must" stay. We are already planning our return!

  • Liked — Beautiful location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank OCSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Property: Poipu Shores Resort
Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing