We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“POIPU SHORES #106A the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
north CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“POIPU SHORES #106A the best!”
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This was our third time and we specifically wanted to stay in that condo. It is on the first floor and we loooved it! You open the door from the living room and walk to the pool, you sit outside on the lanai and enjoy the best view ever, with waves crashing 10 yards from you! And in the evening we would sit on the wall with our legs dangling down and look to the stars- breathtaking. We loved it. It is located close to the west end of the property with a nearby barbeque. Open your front door and you have a little garden--unlike other condos, where you just have a wall to stare at.
Inside is a great kitchen, with everything that may need, and if you can’t find it the people working there will get it for you promptly. Finally, to commemorate our vacation there was a bottle of champagne in the fridge—a lovely gesture.
For those who still find that boring, there’s a wireless internet connection provided. Handy for using as a tour guide or booking a trip. Not sure how to rate "service" because it is not a hotel it is a condo after all (wich we wanted, to be by ourselves)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank calgal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
79
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stayton, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Poipu Shores #103A was a great condo at a great price with an unbeatable view. We were extremely happy with our stay. Nothing like watching the ocean from the living room and bedroom, then stepping out on the porch which overlooks the ocean and walking just steps to the pool. This condo has everything you will need to have a great, care free stay in Kauai. We will definately stay here in the future. Can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smumey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We had the greatest time! Poipu Shores #106A !!! Completely upgraded with new tile, bathrooms, sub-zero fridge, coffee pot etc. . You want it?? It's there! Beautiful unit next to splashes from the ocean, bar-b-ques. a wonderful pool, a 2 minute walk to the beach (snorkle or bogie board), The kitchen has it all from a blender to every untensil one would need. Towels, chairs, boogie boards, books to read, leave everyhting at home and just come......
This is the best unit there from location,( ground floor, about 20 feet from the ocean--watch turtles etc) to the bar-b-ques to parking to the pool etc.

The owners are great to deal with too.

Go get your fresh fish from the little store in Koloa. Have a meal at the Beach House and enjoy the views. Relax-Relax-Relax!!!

Roger & Lyn ------

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger_lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We (party of 6) stayed in unit 307 (2 bd/2 bath ocean front unit). When we entered, we were so taken aback by the HUGE living room/kitchen size and the decor/cleanliness and view from the living room.

We had a corner renovated unit, so we had ocean views on 2 walls, which was a fantastic plus. Waves crashed right under our lanai so that was a huge plus. I don't think I will ever enjoy a hotel again after living in unit 307. We looked at some other units on the property only to realize many others were older and not renovated. We got so lucky to be assigned this new unit.

Huge LCD with DVD and iPod enabled music system in the living room that we used plenty. Plenty of sitting space for all 6 of us. Plenty of space on the dining table for all 6 of us. Brand spanking new stainless steel appliances. Fully stocked kitchen with so much stuff that we could hardly use.

Amazing ocean views from living room and master bedroom. Huge lanai with enough seating for us. Walking distance to poipu beach.

The maid service is every 4 days so you have to make sure you don't dirty your place too much. Laundry detergent is $0.75 at the front desk. Friendly helpful staff.

We couldn't have asked for more. Totally happy with what we got. Highly recommend unit 307 to anyone wanting a 2 bed/2 bath condo. Cannot speak for other units.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATravSvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Very nice condo. Fabulous location. Enjoy sunsets, dolphins, and turtles (lots of turtles) from the incredible view. Ideally positioned between North side of island and Waimea canyon/west side.

Typical island furnishings; sofa and love seat could be more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBumpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Very nice to have your own place in Kauai -- kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer -- for cheaper than you'd get at many of the local hotels. Room was ocean front, with direct access to pool and balcony.

Pretty much no complaints about this place other than the decoration which seemed to have been carried out in the mid-70s and never updated -- mirrored walls, tiled floors -- also, the bathroom could have been a bit more luxorious. Still, well located for the beaches, and families of sea turtles right at the bottom of the cliff outside was pretty amazing. Walking distance from Poi Pu beach, and helpful office staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freudian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks in Poipu at Poipu Shores. This is the second time we stayed there and we love it.

We were on the second floor and the unit was lovely - extrememly well stocked kitchen (way more than any condo I've ever been in). We had great whale watching from our Lanai.

We were there 4 years ago and since then the facitiy did a few improvements - tiled walk ways and pavers by the pool. The facility is "older" and on the outside not very glamorous. I remember my first impression was of an aging motel, but like others have said, it's in a great setting, is clean and many of the units seem to be being upgraded so I think it's a very good value for the money

I agree with other posts that the pool area is small and a bunch of kids would overwhelm it - but that suits me. The neat thing about the pool is the view of the water - - you are on an overlook of the rock and surf. Hard to beat that.

The only downside to me is that you can't really get a late checkout on the day you leave - 12 is normal, if you're lucky, they'll give you til 1. With flights back to the mainland usually being LATE - mine was 9:35pm. , I wish they could be more flexible ....or I'd love if they would even install a shower room so you could hang out at the pool till mid afternoon and then change there. But - I guess that is wishful thinking!!!

Overall, at this point, I'd never stay anywhere else while in Kauai.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — They could spiff it up a little - and charge a lot more - guess we shouldn't tell them that!!!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peachome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Property: Poipu Shores Resort
Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing