We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in condo 206A from Feb5-Feb 12,2014. I have only written one other review before because the service was so great I felt I had to share. Well, I feel the same this time. Myself, my husband, and our 2 kids, ages 8 and 12 loved everything about this condo. It was nice and clean, had boogie boards for the kids, beach towels, plus just little things like ziplock bags and olive oil so we didn't have to go out and buy our own( although we did repay the favour by buying some of the things that we used up). I'm a "typeA" personality and impressing me is usually not really easy to do. But just little details like the matching decor throughout the unit to the good quality sheets really did it for me. But, our FAVORITE thing about the unit was the view. Oh my gosh!!!! It is so hard to even want to leave the condo when you have that view. We saw so many whales, dolphins, and turtles every single day. It was fantastic!! We took a fishing trip one day and caught some tuna. We used the BBQ and sat on the balcony to eat...total heaven on earth! Wifi is included which is another nice touch. The pool is also wonderful...always clean. My kids spent much time there as well. We travelled the entire island over our week spent here, and my kids favorite beach was still Brennecke's Beach, which was only a five minute walk away. I honestly can't say enough wonderful about this place. If I had one suggestion, it would be nice to have more than one key. There were times when my husband would take one kid to the pool and I would be in the condo or the beach with the other. You kind of need two keys for this as you need a key to open the pool gate and you need a key to open the gate to go to and from the beach. That was minor, however, and we made it work. Thank you Patricia for a vacation we will never forget!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write a review of our property. Were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you chose us for lyour next vacation to Kauai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Poipu Shores Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Poipu Shores. It's location is walkable to several public beaches with life guards. On the southern shore of Kauai, it is in an area of condos and homes but also not a far drive from other hotels, restaurants, and golf. After a lot of research, we rented Room 103A, a first floor unit with a patio that led onto the lawn. It is a nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath with kitchen (furnished with what you need to make dinner - or heat up left overs for lunch), laundry and living room with wi-fi internet and had everything we needed. The ocean side bedroom is the master with ensuite bath and had air conditioning. The other bedroom had a bath adjacent and had a ceiling fan. During the day, we opened the doors, and used the a/c to keep the condo cool and it stayed comfortable at night. It was nice to walk straight out and look at the ocean every morning and have the patio with table, chairs and lounger to hang our stuff to dry - that and the view were the main reasons we chose that unit. The unit was also very close to the pool which also overlooked the ocean. Parking was in an upper parking lot and there was a walkway or elevator that could be used to get to the unit.

Poipu Shores is a very nice size - not too large or small. Our condo (103A) functioned well for two couples and would also do well for a family. Everything worked in the condo - a/c, microwave, etc. It had a washer/dryer and granite topped kitchen counters. and high speed internet (did I mention the internet twice??) which allowed pictures and Skype back to home. We called to see if we could check in earlier in the day and they accommodated us. The living room/dining room area is not large, but is functional, and like a lot of condos use a wall of mirrors - which reflects the ocean view. The conso isn't exceptionally large, but had a great ocean front view, was very functional, great location, and reasonably priced. It is true that you can see multiple turtles swimming and feeding below you and it's pool on the cliff less than 100 feet away from the unit also has an amazing view.

We found the unit listed on a website with great reviews and rented directly from the owner. Everything was seamless and we were able to get our keys from a lock box when we got there. The owners were very helpful answering questions we had before booking, and sending information. A $200 deposit was required when we booked with the balance due 60 days before arrival.

Room Tip: Get a bottom floor unit with walk out patio
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cdaughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Were gladlyou enjoyed your stay and hope you have the opportunity to return to our garden isle and Poipu Shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have been to Poipu many times, and you can not find a better location than Poipu Shores. Yes, the furnishings in our condo were not five stars, maybe three stars. The kitchen dishwasher conflicts with the stove, and you need to put down the door to the stove to be able to open the dishwasher wide enough to take dishes in and out. This issue might be fixed with a stove that had a latch rather than a big handle. However, the kitchen was otherwise well equipped. Our cook gave the barbecues five stars for being kept "immaculate" on a daily basis. On our second day of a ten day stay, New Year's Eve, our refrigerator quit with lots of food and beverages from Costco inside. Management responded within an hour and let us move our food to a fridge in a nearby empty unit, and then replaced the fridge with a used working one when we were at the beach. We found if you had a need and communicated it to housekeeping or management, they did their best to accommodate. For a small but welcomed update, we suggest that lamps associated with a switched outlet be added to the bedrooms, and the lamp in the living room be replaced. Also, batteries should be replaced in the smoke detectors.

What makes this condo so very special is its view and location, and we find it value for our dollar. We vacationed in early January, and we watched wonderful sunsets and Humpback whales spout, breach and flap their tails on a daily basis from our lanai. Green seat turtles can also be seen everyday from the lanai. A family can walk toddlers or stroll baby carriers to the nearby Poipu Beach, and you can walk to nearby restaurants. Management is friendly and accommodating, a must for a great vacation, which we had at Poipu Shores.

Room Tip: We were in unit 301 B, and if you don't have to have luxury and can put up with a few issues, th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lonnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review concerning your latest visit to Poipu Shores by Castle Resorts. It was unfortunate that your refrigerator broke but unexpected things like that happen even in paradise. I'm glad that didn't put a damper on your visit and we hope I hope we see you again in the near future. Mahalo from the entire staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am easily giving the Poipu Shores five stars even though it is not a five star accommodation. But the location is ten star and the accommodations were very good! Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and the inlet where we watched Green Sea Turtles every day. We also saw Humpback Whales, Monk Seas and Spinner Dolphins from our deck. The rooms were adequate size, clean, comfortable but not fancy. The kitchen was very well equipped, housekeeping brought fresh towels and took out garbage twice during the week. Easy walking distance to a nice beach where we could snorkel and boogie board or just relax on the beach. There are couple of restaurant within walking distance or an easy drive to more. The front desk staff were very helpful, suggesting among other things, a near by farmer market where we bought lovely fruits and vegetables. Also included is free Wi Fi and free parking. A very nice place to stay. We are ready to go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Mahalo for choosing Poipu Shores thru Castle Resorts for your stay here in paradise. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay on the island and at our resort. Kauai has a lot to offer and being right on the ocean adds to the excitement. We hope to see you again in the near future. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wife and I stayed the week of Thanksgiving 2013, Saturday before to Sunday after, and what a great place to stay. The view, the sound of the waves, the turtles below, we even saw a whale breech in the distance one morning, the pool, the grounds... all were just great. The furnishings, amenities and general ambiance were top notch. Patricia did one heck of a job accommodating us and I would highly recommend this condo for couples...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptrsns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of your most recent stay and we sincerely hope you choose Poipu Shores for your next trip to the Garden Isle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can you say about Ocean-front accommodations in Poipu! Starting with a morning cup of Jo on the Lanai, sea turtles dancing in the surf below, waves of all personalities crashing the shore, ending with stunning sunsets peering through the coast lined Palm. I'd say $285 fit the bill. If that is your bucket list for a perfect vacation then Poipu Shores B 202 is your perfect destination! HOWEVER, we would have loved a functioning washer/dryer, functioning ice maker for our adult beverages, air conditioning, a functioning screen door and prior guests who checked out before 3:30 pm. A bit awkward meeting new people like that. I give the condo a 5/10. I give everything else a 10/10!!!! Won't be back but recommend this complex to most our Ohana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You experienced a visit which is not a true representation of the property. Some units such as the one you rented are privately rented and have a different degree of maintenance than others on the property. Next time, feel free to go to poipushorescondominiums.com and trust you will have a better experience with Castle Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Poipu Shores is an ocean front facility of condos on Kauai's south shore in Poipu. Most units are two bedroom and the condos are individually owned. The draw of Poipu Shores is the ocean view. All condos are ocean front and sit on a small bluff feet from the ocean. Occasionally a guest will complain that they can't hear their TV because of the sound of the ocean. Get a life people. Poipu Shores has a lovely pool and pool/beach towels are available from the office. There are also gas grills throughout the property. So it is convenient to eat in or out with many restaurants close by. We buy our groceries at the Big Save in Koloa. The management at Poipu Shores is efficient and gracious. Castle Resorts manages the condos, but some are rented directly by the owners. We have used Castle for the past fifteen years and have never been disappointed. Poipu Shores remains our first choice for lodging at Poipu.

Room Tip: Try to choose a ground level unit so you have a nice patio. All units above the first floor have bal...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. of your recent visit. We appreciate your feed back and comments about your stay with us. We sincerely hope you come back to visit us again and anything we can do to improve your stay, fee free to ask. Mahalo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $229 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing