We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I am easily giving the Poipu Shores five stars even though it is not a five star accommodation. But the location is ten star and the accommodations were very good! Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and the inlet where we watched Green Sea Turtles every day. We also saw Humpback Whales, Monk Seas and Spinner Dolphins from our deck. The rooms were adequate size, clean, comfortable but not fancy. The kitchen was very well equipped, housekeeping brought fresh towels and took out garbage twice during the week. Easy walking distance to a nice beach where we could snorkel and boogie board or just relax on the beach. There are couple of restaurant within walking distance or an easy drive to more. The front desk staff were very helpful, suggesting among other things, a near by farmer market where we bought lovely fruits and vegetables. Also included is free Wi Fi and free parking. A very nice place to stay. We are ready to go again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Mahalo for choosing Poipu Shores thru Castle Resorts for your stay here in paradise. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay on the island and at our resort. Kauai has a lot to offer and being right on the ocean adds to the excitement. We hope to see you again in the near future. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wife and I stayed the week of Thanksgiving 2013, Saturday before to Sunday after, and what a great place to stay. The view, the sound of the waves, the turtles below, we even saw a whale breech in the distance one morning, the pool, the grounds... all were just great. The furnishings, amenities and general ambiance were top notch. Patricia did one heck of a job accommodating us and I would highly recommend this condo for couples...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptrsns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for writing a review of your most recent stay and we sincerely hope you choose Poipu Shores for your next trip to the Garden Isle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can you say about Ocean-front accommodations in Poipu! Starting with a morning cup of Jo on the Lanai, sea turtles dancing in the surf below, waves of all personalities crashing the shore, ending with stunning sunsets peering through the coast lined Palm. I'd say $285 fit the bill. If that is your bucket list for a perfect vacation then Poipu Shores B 202 is your perfect destination! HOWEVER, we would have loved a functioning washer/dryer, functioning ice maker for our adult beverages, air conditioning, a functioning screen door and prior guests who checked out before 3:30 pm. A bit awkward meeting new people like that. I give the condo a 5/10. I give everything else a 10/10!!!! Won't be back but recommend this complex to most our Ohana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You experienced a visit which is not a true representation of the property. Some units such as the one you rented are privately rented and have a different degree of maintenance than others on the property. Next time, feel free to go to poipushorescondominiums.com and trust you will have a better experience with Castle Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Poipu Shores is an ocean front facility of condos on Kauai's south shore in Poipu. Most units are two bedroom and the condos are individually owned. The draw of Poipu Shores is the ocean view. All condos are ocean front and sit on a small bluff feet from the ocean. Occasionally a guest will complain that they can't hear their TV because of the sound of the ocean. Get a life people. Poipu Shores has a lovely pool and pool/beach towels are available from the office. There are also gas grills throughout the property. So it is convenient to eat in or out with many restaurants close by. We buy our groceries at the Big Save in Koloa. The management at Poipu Shores is efficient and gracious. Castle Resorts manages the condos, but some are rented directly by the owners. We have used Castle for the past fifteen years and have never been disappointed. Poipu Shores remains our first choice for lodging at Poipu.

Room Tip: Try to choose a ground level unit so you have a nice patio. All units above the first floor have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Fairfax_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. of your recent visit. We appreciate your feed back and comments about your stay with us. We sincerely hope you come back to visit us again and anything we can do to improve your stay, fee free to ask. Mahalo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The views are great, but agree with other reviewers that rooms are a little iffy. There are so many options in Poipu, I think we will do a resort next time. The pool at this condo complex is nice and it's great to have a washer/dryer and all your beach gear. But, parking is tight, we didn't have AC and all in all, I think our family wanted more resort activities/amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you find the unit not up to your satisfaction. I'm unaware which unit you stayed in and whether it was one managed by Castle Resorts as some are not. Castle strives for cleanliness in our units and provide housekeeping to ensure it remains clean during your stay. Unfortunately we like most condominium complexes in Poipu, do not have air conditioning and rely on ceiling fans and trade winds to maintain the temperature. We hope you continue to visit Kauai and find accommodations that suit your needs. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place really makes its money off of the view. The views are spectacular, but the rooms are iffy. The furniture is tacky and the whole facility is dirty and very grungy. There are no tennis courts, gym, etc. The pool is pretty nice. If you're more about the view, go for it. Otherwise, I would try something else.

Room Tip: #404A has tacky furniture but great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabbysvacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to give us our comments. Unfortunately the unit you stayed in was not managed by Castle Resorts so we do not control the condition of that particular unit. If you go to poipushorescondominiums.com you can view all our units if you decide to return. Mahalo .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are two couples in our late forties and early fifties. We are widely traveled and enjoy very nice accomodations.

We stayed at Poipu Shores 103A. We have mixed feelings on the lodging.
First, the great parts – the view the waves are crashing onto the rocks literally right below the condo. So the views and the sounds are just awesome. There were fresh flowers to greet us and champagne – both very nice. The condo also had lots of beach necessities - like chairs, mats, umbrellas, boogie boards. The condo also had a very well equipped kitchen.

Now, what leads to our mixed feelings. The second bedroom was just plain awful. Before we arrived my husband and I volunteered for that room as only the master has view and we have been to Hawaii many times and our friends had never been. However, there was such a disparity in quality – beyond the view - the second bedroom was so awful -- they offered to switch halfway through. So, I guess, if you rented this unit and didn’t use that second bedroom it would be fine and wonderful but I would recommend that the second bedroom to no one! The issues: The smell – it is very, very musty and unpleasant and we could not get rid of the odor – the rest of the unit was just fine – no musty odor. The pictures are accurate, but the room in very small and too small for the king bed. So there was no place for two suitcases and no room in closet or drawers to unpack so my husband’s suit case was in the living room. Ventilation is a problem – we slept each night with the ceiling fan on high and another room fan on high. There are windows we kept open but at night we had to pull the shade thus blocking the breeze b/c the room is right on the walkway and we would lose privacy and the outside light was way to bright with shade not drawn. Some of the outlets don’t work and it was only after the electrician came and said he couldn’t fix it that we found a power strip someone had left to make do with the outlet problem. Minor annoyance – two bedside tables but only one lamp. It got us down sleeping in that room and I certainly was congested from all of the musty smell.

So I say pick this unit if you don’t need the second bedroom. The views are truly amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MildredK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you found dissatisfaction in your unit. I hope you will still return to our property in the future. There are several companies that offer units at Poipu Shores and we hope you will investigate all in selecting your next unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $317 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing