We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“307A - Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poipu Shores Resort
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was my third stay at Poipu Shores, and this was the best unit yet. We stayed in this tastefully furnished 2br/2ba condo in mid June 2011. The upgraded kitchen and full washer/dryer were bonuses, but nothing compares to the view location of this unit. It's on the end, 3rd floor, double wide balcony. The crashing surf and sea turtles were only the beginning - we also were treated to leaping dolphins, outrigger paddlers, and a beach view all the way to Spouting Horn!

Calling Poipu Shores a "resort" is a stretch. Yes, they have towel service, a pool and a minimal communal BBQ area, but a resort it's not. If what you want is convenient meals, poolside bars, preplanned activities for the kids, and water aerobics, then this is not for you. If you want the freedom to prepare your own meals or go out, the privacy to enjoy your morning coffee or sunset wine & cheese from your balcony without the constant crush of other travelers, then Poipu Shores fills the bill perfectly. Our stay was relaxing and recharging -- exactly what a vacation should be!

Easy walk to Brenneke Beach, Poipu Beach or Shipwreck Beach. Easy walk to several restaurants, none of which serve breakfast -- that's either a longer walk to one of the big hotels, or a short drive to Poipu Shopping Center. Parking can be challenging for those with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Bldg A has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaNative07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanfrontcondos, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We hope you get the opportunity to viist us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed at Poipu Shores in August 2009. We stayed in one of the larger 2 bedroom condo units. The view from the condo's is incredible and we slept every night with the windows open listening to the sound of the surf pounding the rocks directly outside of our condo. The location is great as well. There is no useable beach right below the condo but useable beach is only a very short walk away. I like this as when we were at the condo we were not plagued with people making noise on the beach which made the condo itself feel much more intimate with the ocean right outside the window. There is great body surfing and boogie boarding a few minutes away at Poipu Beach. Our teens were able to surf and boogie board in the area without worry.

The unit was clean and stocked with the usual needed supplies. We really enjoyed the fact that the unit had 2 bathrooms as well as 2 bedrooms. A family of 5 or 6 could easily stay in the unit by putting smaller children on the pull out sofa. There was also a full size washer and dryer in the unit we stayed in.

We have been to Hawaii twice and love the condo convenience. You can save a lot of money by eating breakfast and lunch in and only going out for dinner. There is a Costco on the island so you can stock up on supplies when you first arrive and then use them up as the week goes by.

When we go back to Kauai I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himifl, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We hope you get the opportunity to come visit us again. We will always strive to fulfill your wishes and provide for your needs. With our pool resting on the edge of the ocean and Poipu Beach a short walk away I'm glad it met your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

When researching accomadations for our vacation in Kauii it was all about location,location,location!We wanted to be as close to the ocean,
and all it had to offer, as possible.Mission accomplished at Castle Poipu Shores,.condo 105A
We almost "owned" that ocean except we had to share it with whales,sea turtles,spinner dolphins and monk seals.Crashing surf,and sunsets you have to see to believe...
Well manicured yard with a welcoming commitee of a very polite sandpiper we named "Sandy"and other beautiful birds that graced the lawn off our patio.
The pool was great,clean and nice warm water.
BBQ also clean and well appreciated after a visit to costco for the best filet mignon steaks ever.
The kitchen has everything you need but utensils do need to be replaced.ie.knives are dull other things discolored or worn.Paper liners in all drawers had an odor and showed wear and tear,obviously not replaced after each guest.
Appliances were modern and clean.Garbarator worked poorly.
Shower drained poorly ,leaving you standing in 3 inches of water.Can't believe this is new or has not been reported before or noticed when housekeepers were cleaning.
This unit could benefit from a "good"general cleaning and a little bleach would go a long way.
Living room furniture had major stains from something ??? on the seat cushions.Time for new furniture.Are you reading this condo "owners"?I'm sure your standards are the same as mine so maybe you need to spend a week here and see what needs to be done to make this unit everything it should be to match the quality you are met with when you step "outside".
Would I return?In a heartbeat .Why? Location,location,location! Mahalo!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonctonWaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himifl, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Mahalo for your rveiw. I am pleased lyou enjoyed your stay and we will certainly address the concerns you had with some housekeeping issues. You comments are always welcome and it helps us strive to do a better job for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 2 week honeymoon in Kauai. We booked via Travelocity and selected Castle Poipu Shores based on the reviews, and really wanted the oceanfront location. We were not disappointed with the view, we saw turtles, dolphins and whales quite a few times right from the lanai.

On this trip the good did not outweigh the bad. The evening we arrived the office was closed(they close at 5pm) and they leave a key with instructions. Originally we were given 203B, and it was awful. Dirty, outdated with pretty much 70's interior, and the bed was very uncomfortable, and it had a mildew smell. In the morning we went a spoke to the office and after some discussion they offered one option of 201B, the only one they said was available. Considering they say they don't assign rooms until you arrive and others were empty I was surprised. They told us it was ‘hard’ to find space for two full weeks, not sure what that meant.
We did move to 201B, it was still dirty and the bed and pillows were as hard as a rock, but at least the interior looked to be updated in the 80's. The noise level of building B at least on the main floor was very loud from the parking log and all the foot traffic(the bedrooms are in the back not on the ocean side). I believe some of the other condo have the bedrooms on the ocean side, which would have been much more enjoyable.

I never did figure out their cleaning schedule, but it was basically once a week. And they brought new towels every 2-3 days, again not consistent. Since the unit was old, it was very dirty in the sense that the baseboards were coated with dust, the light switches and door handles were coated with dirt and dust, and of course the appliances(refridge, oven, microwave) were all rusted due to the salt air and age. Being a condo I did not expect cleaning each day, but there were no tools in the condo to use to do your own cleaning either other then dish soap(no dishwasher).

We went back two other times to the office since they stated they would continue to look and see if something else became available, but after a couple of days we just gave up and enjoyed our honeymoon, and spent as little time in the condo as possible.

Bottom line, I loved the location but I would recommend booking with a specific owner so you know what unit you are getting and what it looks like. And there are other condo’s as close to the ocean as A and C, its just that all of Po’ipu Shores condos are ocean front, but other options are out there. We will be back to Kauai, but we will not come back to this complex.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JMBPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We just came back from week in Kauai staying at Poipu Shores Resort. I'll start with the good. Location is magnificent. We loved the view, the surf, sea turtles and whales. Pool is great and couldn't ask for better location. Our condo was on 4th floor and I have bad knees. Elevator was out for 4 days. They told us it would be operating on 2nd day and never happened. Couldn't really find out what the problem was and why it was taking so long to fix. Our condo was functional and everything we needed was there but was built in 80's and has not been upgraded. Very dated. Maid service was good and prompt except for tile floors that had not been mopped. At condo's request, you are asked to remove shoes but due to dirty floors had to wash black dirt off feet often. Furnishings were nice but no WIFI Due to coconut trees, our view was obstructed because trees had not been trimed in quite awhile. If you don't need new accomadations then it's great for all the other reasons I gave, but if you are looking for fancy this is not it. Price was right though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boiler81q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

"Aloha...My husband and I vacationed at B202 Poipu Shores, and it was amazing!!! The place is beautifully decorated and clean. We had everything we needed, from spacious room, full kitchen, comfortable couch after long days sightseeing, full closet of beach chairs, snorkeling gear, coolers, beach towels and a never to forget AMAZING lanai. I took LOTS of pictures of the sunrises and sunsets! We saw whales and there was plenty of turtle spottings just a look down from the lanai. The sounds of the waves crashing outside below the Lanai on the cliffs were soothing! Having a fully equipped kitchen helped to prepare our breakfast and then we were out and about! So much to see and do on Kauai. Great perk - the washer and dryer. Clean clothes means less to pack and less to do when you get home. I have to say much Mahalo to Tarek the owner of this condo. He is a pleasure to work with from our initial email to the days of our stay. Very responsive and makes your stay a pleasure and rememberable one! Mahalo Tarek :) Your place and places will be suggested to friends and family as well as a return from us.... Mahalo

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibiscus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

A great location -- only a short walk from a swim-able beach. Whales and turtles from the back patio! Room 102A was updated and very nice. We would definitely recommend and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
himifl, General Manager at Poipu Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Mahalo for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. I hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy our resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Shores Resort

Address: 1775 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $338 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into Kauai's coastal cliffs near Spouting Horn. Experience spectacular views of powerful waves from each one-, two-, and three-bedroom suite at this hidden gem. An oceanfront pool is perched over the surf, overlooking a Hawaiian green sea turtle sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poipu Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Shores Hotel Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing