We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hawaiian home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Plantation Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hawaiian home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I just came back to Oahu from a wonderful mini-vacation in Kauai. The Poipu Plantation Bed & Breakfast Inn was GREAT!

We found the hotel itself, our room, the staff, the location all exceptional. Javed went out of his way to make us (and all the other guests) feel welcome and at home. I had spent some time talking with him setting up our reservations, and when I walked into the office he greeted me by name before I could say a thing. The staff are very attentive to guests needs. They are knowledgeable and informative about local events, culture, sights, travel times and "MUST SEE" if you're on Kauai. You feel as it you're talking to a long time friend who just happens to live someplace different that you.

Our room had a king bed that was comfortable, and a small lanai that overlooks the front lawn, and beautiful sunset views. We were up early, and enjoyed our morning coffee and newspaper on the lanai, just like we do at home. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh brewed Kauai grown coffee, and great camaraderie. Our fellow guests included two couples from different parts of Italy, and a couple of scuba divers from Florida. Breakfast lasted much longer than it took to eat it. "Where did you go yesterday/" .. "How was that"... "What are you doing today?" flowed around. Javed and the rest of the staff added to the conversation, and the feeling of "what a great place ... What nice interesting people"

This is not a ***** posh hotel with all new (and impersonal) everything. It is a lot like home, if you live in Hawaii, with Peggy Hopper prints, Hawaiian quilts, take your shoes off in the house. The bathroom was ... well a bathroom ... serviceable, perhaps a little dated, but "just like home" nothing special We couldn't have been more pleased with this place!

We will highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Garden Island -Kauai.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Suite - it is pictured on the website, and as you look at the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Aloha Ed and mahalo nui for taking time to review Poipu Plantation Resort. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Inn and the wonderful island of Kauai. We really enjoy our being with our guests and sharing what we love here in paradise. We look forward to meeting again someday. Me ke aloha from our entire staff. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
155
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family of 15- 3 generations spent a week at Poipu Plantation Resort. We rented 4 condos for the week. The condos were spacious, attractive, and well supplied. 2 blocks from the beach. We also had the use of a large patio and barbecue where we fixed meals 3 times for our large group. We also made use of the beach towels, beach chairs and coolers they loaned guests. They also booked a boat trip along the Na Pali coast for my husband and I. Our kids used the laundry room frequently as well. This place was less expensive than most of the other resorts but the personal service was excellent. Joan S.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Aloha Joan and thank you so much for taking the time to review Poipu Plantation Resort. We truly enjoyed having you back as our guests and particularly bringing the family! You are always a part of our 'Ohana and we look forward to your next visit to our sunny south shore of Kauai! Me ke aloha from our entire staff! A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbell river
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed a week in a 1 bdr oceanview suite. Was a great experience from the time we drove up and found a welcoming note and the key to our suite. Both my wife and were 'wowed' with the ambiance of the suite with its vaulted ceiling and openess. As most have noted in their reviews - the staff is great and they go out their way to assist you. Everything that you may need is available from picnic containers, maps, snorkels and a lending library. Brought back lots of brochures so I could recommend the facility to my friends.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Aloha Midislander and thank you so much for taking the time to review Poipu Plantation Resort. Although late, we cannot read your review without acknowleging your kind words. Our guests are each a special experience for us and we are so happy to have hosted your visit to Kauai. Me ke aloha from our entire staff. A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

My mom and I recently traveled to Kauai and were drawn to the Poipu Beach area. We found the Poipu Plantation online and were immediately impressed with the personal service that Javed and Melissa gave us via email. Booking via email was a snap and they even booked our rental car and a few excursions for us. We arrived after hours but had no problem finding the room. We stayed in the B&B portion of the plantation (I highly recommend this), so breakfast was included. During breakfast (which was always fresh, homemade, and wonderful), Javed would sit and chat with us and offer ideas on what to do for the day and also provide a lovely history of the island. We could've listened to him all day! The walk to the beach is a short one, with turtles and seals along the way. Yes, the resort is a bit outdated and could use some newer furnishings, but we were rarely in the room and everything was completely spotless when we got there and throughout our visit. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: The B&B portion is a bit less expensive, and the included breakfast is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larissatrueplumlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Aloha Larissatrue and thank you, mahalo nui for taking the time to review Poipu Plantation Resort. We are late to see our reviews, but were compelled to acknowledge your kind words. Our guests each bring something unique and special into our lives and enjoying this experience is truly satisfying for us. Me ke aloha from our entire staff. A hui hou! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the self contained 'Mango' unit in late April for five nights. Having previously cruised up from Sydney on the Radiance of the Seas we immediately flew out to Kauai, picked up a hire car and drove out to Poipu arriving at the resort around 2.30pm. The reception was closed by then but the management had left an envelope for us adjacent to the car park that contained the key to our unit plus a general information sheet that gave access without any real delay. The units like most building there are timber rather than masonry and while they show some signs of needing work they are nonetheless homely, clean and comfortable. We did however feel that the kitchen units and the television, which are basic and old, should have long been replaced with newer units. Furthermore the television programs, notwithstanding the multitude of channels available, provide little of interest. So much for cable. It is nonetheless a relaxing and quiet place to stay being quite close to the sea shore with Brennecke's Beach nearby providing a couple of nice safe areas for swimming, Turtles and fur seals can be regularly seen with the former swimming amongst the bathers and the latter asleep on the beach.There are many restaurants, cafes, food outlets there but a shortage of good coffee shops part from Starbucks at Poipu Shopping Centre a shot drive away. Take out ie pizza was noticeable by its absence apart from one we found in Old Koloa Town which we dined ut twice.The management are very friendly and helpful and will readily book tours for you from the office. It was surprising and charmng to receive a thank you card from them signed by four of their staff shortly after we arrived home. A nice touch and sure to earn a revisit or at the very least a recommendation as this is.

Room Tip: In hindsight we should have had a week rather than a mere five days. Although five was enough it mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha Ken S and thank you for your review. While we appreciate your positive comments, it is disappointing to see your perception that the kitchen and TV are overdue for replacement. Certainly all in 100% working order and spotless, our last renovation was in 2006. We are not quick to modernize equipment when it is not in need. As it is, refrigerators and stoves are replaced too frequently, usually for aesthetics, not functionality. Being on this remote island, throwing away is not something we are anxious to do, considering results in a landfill. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service, location and the wonderful island of Kauai and look forward to your return. A hui hou!. Christopher Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just returned last week from a 5-day stay here. The B&B is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and is just a short walk from the beach. It is an older plantation house and had the feeling of being "home" during our stay. Our room had a few older fixtures (bathroom) but was impeccably clean! Breakfasts were wonderful and beautifully served. Javed (our host) is very gracious and was most helpful with ideas for things to see and do. We stayed in the "master suite" which was spacious and comfortable. (Probably the most comfortable bed ever!) Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Aloha Guests and mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Poipu Plantation Resort and the bed and breakfast Inn. Our manager and host Javed is Mr. Hospitality! We know how our guests anticipate their special trips to Kauai and want to be sure you get the most of that time. Knowing you enjoyed your visit makes it all worth while for us. Best wishes for a great year. A hui hou, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Pros: Great location, great breakfast, and really excellent service. However, a little pricey for what you get; our room was spacious but could really use some updating and refreshing as it was a little run-down.

A couple of dislikes: Upon check-in you are handed an information sheet with the "House Rules" (including no food or beverages in your room) which was irritating -- we're adults. Also, the wall between our room and another couple's was extremely thin and we could hear them talking -- luckily they were quiet but it would have been disastrous otherwise. Lastly, the room's lanai is directly next to the screened in front room of the house, so it's not at all private.

We'd probably stay here again but I think I would look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aimeekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher M, General Manager at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and positive remarks. Our rates are best when staying for our standard three to five night minimum. Two night rates will be higher and still very competative.

Improvements are on-going to keep our property fresh and up to date. Next visit you might consider one of our full kitchen suites with larger decks. You will always receive our return guest discount.

Please feel free to contact me directly for assistance. Aloha, Chris Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Property: Poipu Plantation Resort
Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Never an extra fee, pay room and tax only! Poipu Beach neighborhood resort includes ten Vacation Rentals with kitchen (non B&B) and four Plantation House bed and breakfast suites with daily breakfast(no kitchens),all in air conditioned comfort. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. **Breakfast included for Inn guests only (no kitchens). Rental guests with full kitchen, breakfast is not offered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing