We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THE LOCATION and FAMILY ATMOSPHERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poipu Plantation Resort
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Well done to Javed and all the crew at Poipu for making my stay truly memorable!! This really was quite a find..Easy walking distance to main Poipu beach and the restaurants and VERY HELPFUL information from the computer database called javed..He knows everything about Maui,...Just ask. Breakfast in the B and B is a real treat---treated like royalty...This will be my Kauai resort in future.....Thanks to all!!!

Room Tip: If not self catering the B and B is EXCELLENT
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our second stay -- and we'll back back for many more, we hope. It's location is excellent, 3 minutes walk from the beach. The rooms are first-rate, clean, airy, relaxing. But what makes this place so special is the staff -- couldn't be more friendly and helpful. We even got a big bag of free mangos and huge avocados from the delightful woman at the front desk. You feel pampered, but also feel like family -- a wonderful combination!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frostyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great Place. Larger than expected suite that was immaculate. The owner can direct you to which kayak company you should use depending on what you want to see. He's a local who knows everything & seems to have done everything. He can also tell you about what you see on which hikes, what time you should get to them, & how to see if they are right for you.
Incredible staff. Had to cut our vacation short and rush out because of a family emrgency. Left my wallet in the suite and didn't realize it until after we turned in the rental car. The wonderful woman who picked up the phone found my wallet and delivered it to me at Lihue airport in time for us to catch our plane (under an hour).

Need I say more? Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunbunniesNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My family stayed here in June 2010 for 1 week. We had a 2 bedroom Ocean View condo. While it isn't right on the ocean it's about a 3 min walk to the water. Excellent value for what you get. Condo was very nice and clean! Staff was very helpful and friendly. I loved that they had beach chairs, towels, coolers, suntan lotion all available to use each day for free! Very nice perk as most days we were spending the day on a different beach on the island. Highly recommend this condo, can't wait until I can return one day, will stay here for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed in the vacation rental, one bedroom. When we booked, Javad was helpful in getting us a room in the single-story portion and an end-unit away from the street so it was nice and quiet. On our arrival, Chris got us a map of the Poipu area and pointed out some grocery stores and also recommended a few beaches, which was very helpful. We saw Javad a few other times and appreciated his enthusiasm and warm hospitality. Also, beach towels and chairs and guide books are available for guest use in the office at any time which is a nice touch.

Unfortunately, our room was a bit of a disappointment. It was definitely spacious for two people, with a nice front sitting room, dining area and kitchen then a sliding screen to separate the bedroom area. The fresh flower arrangement on the table was a nice touch, and we did save money being able to eat in (highly recommend you do you shopping in Kapa’a or Lihue, though, such as at the Safeway for better prices and more selection! Locally, we found Sueoka’s in Old Koloa the best of the local stuff with some good deli options and Asian market). However, the bed was very uncomfortable and felt like a cheap hotel bed rather than something pleasant that you’d want to linger in. Also, the bathroom is in need of a major overhaul. I think maybe they have started on this as the sink and toilet looked new, but the shower looked like something at a gym and the baseboard is peeling away and discolored in places. We did not mention any concerns to the management because its not as if anything was broken and I’m not sure what they could have done anyway since I do think it was the best they could do given their current resources. Many other TripAdvisor members did give this place a high review, which is one of the reasons we chose it, but I guess we are spoiled since compared to the many other hotels and B&Bs we have stayed at in other parts of the US (both Hawaii and mainland) this did not measure up.

This might be a good place for families as we did notice several families with young children and adults traveling together. It’s not especially romantic for a couple’s get-away, though.

For the low price compared to other condos and hotels in the Poipu area, we got what we wanted in terms of a room with a/c and within walking distance to the beach (great location, easy five minute walk to Brenneke’s Beach and just a few more minutes up to Poipu Beach!) We chose Poipu Plantation for these reasons and also because we were nervous about booking an independent condo with no TripAdvisor reviews. However, unless there is a more extensive remodel and something is done about the beds, we would probably look elsewhere for lodging if we were to return to this area in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamaaina1, Owner at Poipu Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your one bedroom Garden view, bed and shower did not meet your expectations. This particular suite bathroom has a dated handicap shower that is being replaced this fall. Full bathroom renovation will be done and we look forward to having it available for guests before December. Those items of maintenance were corrected as soon as you noted it and we agree that the bathroom details should have been better.

Beds and bedding are high on our priorities and of the hospitality industry. Our beds are a Serta hotel sleeper conventional mattress top and full box spring. Not the luxurious sink into bed, but we believe they are a good standard for our property. We are listening and will consider all options when it is time for bed replacements in the future.

For a more romantic accommodation we suggest one of our upper ocean views as a nice option, better suited to spend time in and enjoying great views. It is really a matter of a guests expectations and budget.

We wish you well and hope if you return to Kauai in the future, you will give us another try and enjoy your return guest discount!

A hui hou! Chris Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We enjoyed our 5 nights in the vacation rentals very much. While it isn't directly on the ocean, the oceanviews for the upper level units are very nice. This is a very well run and managed operation. The units have everything you could ever anticipate in them and they are very well kept up and managed. Melissa is a great resource for local information, much more personal r than any high-end hotel concierge. The vacation rental/B&B combination gives you the best of both worlds. We'd definitely return and hope to next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dljhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Spacious rooms within walking distance to beache(s) and some restaurants. Very quiet location in a nice neighbourhood. Was really good not having to hop in the car every time we wanted to go out. Poipu beach is great for everybody, has really good facilities and also very nice snorkeling. Saw monk seals and turtles! Sometimes we would walk down to Brennecke's on the beach to have drinks in the evening. The staff in reception are very helpful if you need any local information and there are some nice walks around the area too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Plantation Resort

Address: 1792 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9535
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $171 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check our December Celebrated discounts to end of year at the Inn. Situated on an acre of gardens at Poipu Beach is a 1930s Bed and Breakfast Inn and nine cottage style Vacation Rental Suites with private decks. All air conditioned with free private wireless, parking, no extra fees other than room and tax! Wonderful value and quality accommodations at Poipu Beach. Situated on spacious gardens an easy walk to Brennecke's and Poipu beaches and the surrounding coastline. This is Poipu's best value. Come let us share the spirit of Aloha here on the Sunny south shore of Kauai! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Plantation Hotel Poipu
Poipu Plantation Resort Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing