We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poipu Makai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poipu Makai
Ranked #22 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
San Francisco, California
1 review
“wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

we recently stayed at poipu makai and had a wonderful time! the place was perfect for us - plenty of space, well stocked, very clean, totally family-friendly (we were 4 adults and 4 small kids) - sleeping arrangements were perfect. the view is spectacular - literally live entertainment every day with whales and sea turtles frolicking just off our balcony. the condo is centrally located so it's a quick drive to many local destinations (secluded beaches, "baby beach", restaurants, grocery stores, etc.) - great access to everything. the only drawback (which we knew in advance) is that there isn't a whole lot of outdoor space for kids to wander around easily accessible. but the small pool area and breathtaking view more than makes up for it. we'd literally be looking for our 3 year old daughter and find her sitting on the balcony by herself soaking up the view. highly recommend this for travelers with or without family. we welcome the opportunity to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dani s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

truly special place - view from deck couldnt be any ore spectacular - we walk in... walk out on deck and we see a humpback breaching, over and over - incredible - tons of turtles in the surf

spent there a week with our 3yr / 9 month old - sand beach 5 min walk away - perfect protected
little lagoon for small kids

surprisingly good snorkeling , turtle came on beach, tons of fish

condo is top level and end unitt - feels very private, no noise from above
super clean, EVERYTHING there - kitchen has everything short of an espresso machine ; )
has snorkling gear, two flat panel TVs, free internet - very spacious

there is a very small pool - nothing fancy - but who needs a pool with beach in walking distance

poipu is the sweet spot on the island in terms of location
- quick access to stores to kapa'a or koloa'a - gorgeous remote beaches a short drive away

great food close by - living foods for whole food style organic / local ware - and a big save for the
more typical grocery store stuff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pluzall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We rented Unit B-1 through Kauai Vacation Rentals and Real Estate in January 2014. We have visited Kauai many times and usually stay elsewhere, but had guests decide to join us and needed a 2 bedroom in Poipu. The view here is great -- especially god if you want to watch for whales and dolphins. The unit itself was well furnished, good bedding and a well-equipped kitchen. It also has a full size wash and dryer in-unit -- a big plus for extended stays. There is a nice, well kept gas grill available for all. My two biggest concerns: there really isn't god cross-ventilation without opening the sliders in the bedrooms at night -- unfortunately not something one should be doing these days on Kauai. Second, the parking ramp is so tight, you better have a really small car. So next time, we will probably go back to our favorite Kuhio Shores.

Room Tip: There is a pool. It is tiny and very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kimocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family loves this property. We have stayed here twice. Once over the Christmas holiday and just recently this summer. The view from the lanai is superb. There is a lot of space for a big family and they supply many items to make your stay feel like home (beach towels, coolers, beach chairs, fully stocked kitchen, etc.). Our family loves to sit on the lanai and watch the turtles. The pool is small but always well kept and clean. I think the only downside in the two times we have stayed here are #1 the sheets in the master bedroom are a little tired (but the bedroom itself is beautiful-there is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves!). #2 The carpet was left a little dirty from the previous vacationers. Management was aware of it but we had to look at it for the duration of our stay. Other than that we have really enjoyed our stays here.

Room Tip: Always book A3 in this condo complex. It is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Axj907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This unit is a great place to be. We were there in June and every time, within 15 minutes of being on the Lanai there were turtles to be seen just beyond the breaking waves. Big open floor plan. Open and airy. Nice kitchen with everything you need to cook. Some snorkelling gear and boogy boards as well in the unit for use. Brennake's Beach only 1/2 mile away with Poipu bch a bit further. We swam with a turtle at Poipu bch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LangleyInTierrasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing view! Turtles hanging out right in front of you every day. This unit, or any other 3rd floor units (B3, C3, D3, etc) have the best view, where you see the ocean and much of the rocky beach below. First floor units can only see ocean, and also have people walking in front of them frequently (one of the paths to the beach)... so if privacy is key, stick with 2nd or 3rd floor.

Well appointed unit, with lots of basics like beach towels, chairs, sand toys, boogie boards, etc. This unit is perfect for kids; loft area with private living area that has a TV, Playstation 2 with a dozen games, board games, and two bunk beds. Newish updated kitchen with full set of pots/pans/dishes.

You cannot access the water from the little beach in front, but Poipu beach is a 2 min drive or 15 min walk. However the little beach is good for sunsets, the mini spouting horn, and the looking at the crab hole. Ignore the danger sign; it's just for liability... just don't get too close to the edge if there waves are high and crashing over.

Only neg is the pool; great if you have kids, boring for everybody else. There's a nice gas BBQ in the pool area for guest use; and it's cleaned daily by maintenance staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

There are a few other condos along Pe'e Road that appear to have comparable views, so I suspect that any one of them would be excellent choices, as long as you can be assured ocean front.

Let me assure you that every unit at Poipu Makai is indeed ocean front!

We rented through Parrish Collection. You can also find units in Poipu Makei on vrbo.com. It's hard to tell if prices are comparable, as each bit is individually owned, therefore standards of decorating and general upkeep may differ.
The morning sunlight playing off the palm trees, and the marvellous view down the shoreline toward Poipu Beach, are surpassed only by the breathtaking sunsets. All the while entertained by the giant turtles bobbing in the surf, and the whales breaching just offshore.

The location is very good. A neat little Italian bistro Casa di Amici is easy walking distance ( see my review), also Brennekes Beach Broiler, which we did not try. A short drive to a couple of local small malls, five minutes to Koloa for supplies. And a four minute drive to Poipu Bay golf course, which is a wonderful golf experience with an excellent Asian fusion restaurant.
Plenty of dining options nearby, but don't overlook takeout options, so you can dine on your lanai while the sun sets.

Unit E2 was very nice. Brand new kitchen, very well equipped (never seen a garlic press in a rented condo before!) and decent furniture. Minor complaint about the lanai furniture - bar level seating and table is a bit uncomfortable, but on balance, all the better to be sitting a bit higher so as not to have the lanai railing in the way of the view. There is also a chaise longe that has seen better days. We wouldn't use it, even with a beach towel on it. A new seat cushion would solve that issue.
The pool in the back is lame, but we're not big pool people. If the pool was in the front, we would have spent time around it. A couple of neighbouring condos have the pool in front, but the downside there is that the pool gets between you and the ocean view. If pool is important to you, check Poipu Shores just down the road toward the beach.
As others have mentioned, you will hear the surf all night. For some that might be annoying, we found it soothing, and had no problem getting a restful night of sleep.
Poipu Makei seems to be very good value for the price. If you want five star luxury, the Hyatt is just up the road. You will pay a LOT more, and will not have the ocean front experience. (Ocean VIEW yes, but not right on top of the rocks like at PM)

Sad to be leaving for home tomorrow. We will be back, and we will in all likelihood stay at Poipu Makei again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Poipu Shores Resort
#14 of 30 in Poipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Whalers Cove Resort
#3 of 30 in Poipu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#5 of 30 in Poipu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Makai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Makai

Property: Poipu Makai
Address: 1677 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9704
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort situated on the edge of a bluff providing spectacular views of the blue Pacific and the entire Poipu coastline. A small property with only 15 Kauai condos, Poipu Makai provides privacy and intimacy while being just a short walk to the world renowned Brennecke's Beach and Poipu Beach. The sounds of the sea fill every room and each condo has large lanais offering a great lookout for hours of watching turtles, dolphins, seasonal whales and brilliant sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poipu Makai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Makai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing