We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon”
Review of Suite Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suite Paradise
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Bay Area California
13
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We chose Poipu Kai as the resort to honeymoon. We chose a one bedroom gardenview. Even the gardenviews had very good beach access. We loved the Poipu Beach Park. My husband boogie boarded at Brenneckees' Beach and I snorkled at the lagoon which had no current or waves (like swimming in a lake).

Our condo was large very clean and private. The resort is spread out so it does not seem to have alot other people around you. Perfect for people looking for peace and quiet. With all the pools we could get away from kids by going to another pool. We walked to restaurants and hardly used the car.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 520 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stayed in building 11 in Manualoha. We had requested ocean view, extra deluxe from Suite-Paradise. You had to crane your neck from the upstairs lanai to see the ocean, so we were a little disappointed with that. We don't have anything to compare about the extra deluxe versus the deluxe since we had not stayed here before. The condo was two stories, huge and clean. The bathrooms were a little run down, ie missing baseboards, but they were clean and well stocked. It was great having 2 1/2 baths and laundry. The breezes kept it nice and cool. It was about a 5 minute walk to the beach, which was wonderful. The grounds were well kept. Manualoha pool was very nice and had a great view of Shipwreck Beach. We would recommend this resort, but get a map from them first to pick a specific building/ condo if you really want to see the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank buckthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2005

My wife, daughter and I recently spent a week at Poipu Kai Resort, specifically the Kahala units. I had booked everything on-line through Suite Paradise and fortunately everything turned out just as described. The condo was large and spacious with a full kitchen. The kitchen and bathroom could probably use some updating, but they were certainly adequate. We had a beautiful lanai the overlooked the tennis courts and had a great view of the ocean. It was nice and quiet. We dined in the lounge of the on site restaurant and the food and service were excellent. There was a decent grocery store just a few miles away which was geat for many of our meals. As for the beach you had the option of a 5 minute walk or 1 minute drive with adequate free parking. The beach was excellent for swimming and snorkeling. You could easily rent snorkel equipment by placing a phone call. The location was perfect as it was easy to get out on the "highway" and reach all the great spots on the island. Depending on traffic it was only about a 10-15 min drive to Lihue. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2005
7  Thank BESnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
11
Reviewed June 29, 2005

This is a great place to stay in the Poipu Beach area. It was nice to have a 1 bedroom suite and a kitchen! The beach views are minimal, but the gardens surrounding the lanai's are beautiful and bring lots of birds. We were at Poipu Kai, and it is a short walk to the beach. We are going again in October and picked a suite closer to the beach this time to try. The rates on-line are really good, and the more you add and longer you stay gives you even better deal. I have checked other avenues, and you can't beat this price.

There are no safe's in the room, but you can rent them for a week @ $5.00.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We booked here based on the recommendations of some friends. I would definitely not stay here again. Here are some of the major drawbacks:

1.) No daily maid service if you book with Suite Paradise (The Aston-managed condos at this property do receive daily maid service, so I'd book through them if you're stuck on this property). This may sound OK in theory, but with all the sand you track in (and practically no cleaning supplies in the condo, unless you buy them yourself!), this gets old quickly. Even the kitchen sponge in our condo was old/used. They really spare no expense! The only cleaning this place receives is after you check out, none while you're there.

2.) MAJOR drawback: no air-conditioning. The web site says the trade winds keep the units comfortable, but we found this to be utter BS. It was uncomfortably hot especially at night, no matter how many clothes we took off, cold drinks we consumed, or fans we had running.

3.) You are stuck in your assigned condo, no matter how dreary. Management is extremely rigid. When I booked via phone, I was nervous about their no-refund policy. I was told, if you don't like the unit you are assigned, Suite Paradise manages so many condo properties in Poipu they can almost certainly move you to another. Not so. We were first assigned to a disgusting, reeking old condo with a rust-covered refrigerator and filthy carpet (yes, we know these are rental properties, but for the love of God, minimal standards should be required!). It was incredibly hot and gross. We had to fight tooth and nail to get moved to another condo. The battle-worn manager will not budge. Their excuse is that they are "all booked up." We seriously considered moving to the Sheraton or Hyatt, we were so disgusted. The next unit we moved to (after a big fight) was a little better, but still the gross carpet, nonexistent cleaning supplies, foul-smelling towels, and it was too ---- hot. I did not feel like this was a vacation property, it was just too hot and not very clean.

The only upside is that it's close to Brennecke Beach (about ten minutes or less on foot), and the grounds are well-kept. You also won't feel like you're being hustled or pressured into timeshare presentations or activities, etc. But the time you spend in your condo... well, prepare to be hot and wish you had some bleach and 409 to clean up the place.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cjllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPPKmanager, Manager at Suite Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2009

Accommodation preparation before arrival and a normal cleaning after a guest’s departure is included in the nightly rates. Additional maid services are available at extra cost for which we recommend a minimum 24-hour advance notice. Each accommodation is self sufficient with a closet of backup linens, towels and beach towels. Each accommodation aside from Kiahuna Plantation and the Sugar Mill Cottages is equipped with a washer and dryer for free guest use. Vacuum, broom and cleaning supplies are in each accommodation. This information is reiterated via guest confirmation and verbally via Suite Paradise reservation agents.

All accommodations are equipped with ceiling fans to augment Kauai’s gentle trade winds and windows are placed for cross ventilation. Ceiling fans are placed in the living room and bedroom(s). Suite Paradise does not advertise air conditioning as one of its amenities therefore potential guests should be aware that air conditioning is not provided, especially since we disclose this in red text on our web site. A few very select accommodations are available with air conditioning at extra rates. Air-conditioned accommodations are a rarity on Kauai requiring advance booking over the phone with a Suite Paradise reservation agent. Rates for an air conditioned condo accommodation is higher than those not equipped with air conditioning as we must accommodate Kauai’s high electricity costs.

Being a vacation rental management company for privately owned accommodations we have high standards for accommodations offered to guests. Every accommodation owner is required to meet these standards and is required to upgrade, renovate or refurnish as needed. The Suite Paradise Quality Assurance department oversees the quality, care, and upkeep of each accommodation. Welcome calls are conducted by the Suite Paradise guest reception desk the day after guest arrival to insure that the accommodation in its entirety is comfortable and satisfactory to the guest or if not remedies are made. In the rare case where a guest is still not satisfied, alternate accommodations are offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2005

We stayed at the Poipu Kai for our honeymoon. It was perfect; we had a one bedroom condo on the ground floor. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, pots, pans, paper towels, etc. They even had a welcoming bottle of wine for us in the fridge! One of the swimming pools was about 10 steps away from our front door and we never heard any noise coming from that area.

The beach was a short 2 minute walk away. Suite Paradise contracts with an activity outfit and our snorkling gear and beach chairs were delivered directly to our door. The day we left, we left the equipment outside and there was no hassle. We really appreciated that.

The one thing that bothered me was that the sprinklers went off every morning promptly at 5 a.m. and they were very loud. I wondered why they needed to water the plants since it rains so much. In any event, that was my only downer and I will defintely make plans to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TulaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed May 5, 2005

Wonderful three bedroom condo in close proximity to Poipu Beach. Great resturant on premises. Excellent tennis facilities with round robin events held three times weekly. This has been our second stay at Poipu Kai and we are looking very much forward to a return trip next year.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#2 of 29 in Poipu
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Paradise

Address: 1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $150 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kai Resort is a 70 acre property starting at Poipu Beach Park and sprawls over to Shipwreck Beach which we share with the Grand Hyatt Hotel. The expectational large privately owned condominiums and villas are furnished as complete vacation homes with complimentary high speed. Full home style kitchens and washer and dryers are included. The private lanai is off the living room. The resort has several swimming pools and a large tennis center with both soft and hard courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Suite Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kai Resort
Suite Paradise Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing