We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we keep coming back & will never stray from this slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

In four trips to Kauai, my family has *not* booked a condo thru Suite Paradise once & that time had all kinds of screw-ups in our lodgings. We learned our lesson & stuck with Suite Paradise. Sure, you don't know the exact condo you get until you arrive. But you are guaranteed whatever class of condo you reserve (oceanview / gardenview, deluxe, etc.), & the staff takes care of you, if you need it. But honestly, we haven't had any problems when we book here.

Each unit is well cared for & fully stocked with all the normal things you might need -- full kitchen gear, coffee maker, toaster, blender, beach chairs, cooler, updated TV / DVD / VCR / CD players, even board games. Plenty of towels for bath & beach. Comfortable beds, lots of pillows. Spacious rooms. Even wifi is included!

Best of all is the location. The oceanview condos really do have good ocean views from the main rooms (not just a tiny spec of blue way out there if you crane your neck, which *other* places will provide). It's a short walk on the property to pools & hot tubs, & a long walk to the beach or a short drive. Nearby is shopping & great restaurants.

My parents & my husband & I have stayed here several times since the 1990s & we will be back!

Room Tip: Get an oceanview condo - you're in Hawaii, it's worth the splurge to have breakfast every mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trystbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 515 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great little condo! Not expensive and totally equiped! Including parking stop. Very clean and with air conditioning! Also very close to the beach :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emmanuelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have been to Kauai and stayed in condos rented through Suite Paradise 2 previous times before this trip. We decided to splurge this time and get a condo closer to the beach--and a little larger. We didn't realize that it would put is in Poipu Sands instead of Kahala--should have asked more questions. We love Poipu Beach, but it is too far to walk there with children from Poipu Sands. Shipwreck Beach is close, but it isn't a good swimming beach. It was disappointing. Also, this unit wasn't nearly as upgraded as previous condos we rented, and had many locked closets/cabinets. The cookware was mininmal, and the teflon coating was scratched up to the point that I would not use it. When we were paying more money, we expected more as well. The management took care of the curtain rod which was falling down promptly when we called. They also came to fix the flashing lighting--but when it happened in another room, we were leaving the next day and didn't bother complaining.I would consider another stay through Suite Paradise, but would definitely ask more questions. We did not complain to management about the cookware or locked closets, and wish we had done so while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is the second time we stayed here and enjoyed the room and location. The beach is fantastic, the waves were really fun, snorkeling some of the best on the island and the shave ice cool and sweet.

But the rental equipment was very poor quality. The masks leaked on everyone and the boogie boards were banged up quite a bit. Two of six boards broke and they charged us for one of the boards saying they had never seen a board break. Take the extra time to go to one of the rental places and get it done right.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyDude123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobkeane, Director of Operations, Suite Paradise Guest Services by CondoReady at Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

We strive to offer quality rental equipment at great prices for our guests. We tested the masks after the guests returned the gear (rather sandy) and found none to leak. Our Cressi masks are of excellent quality so it seemed odd that four would leak. The most common reasons that masks leak is because of straps being overtightened, face shape (creases, width, etc.) and masks not rinsed and cleaned after each use.

The reviewer above did not inform us of the problem until their scheduled day of departure (8 day stay) which gave us no opportunity to swap mask designs (all masks are not the same) to create a better fit. There is no way to tell if one has a perfect seal until it is in the water. Had the guest informed us immediately, then we could have given them a different mask or if nothing worked a refund. Instead, they waited until the end of the stay and insisted on a discount (which we did not give them based on the tardiness of their reporting problems.)

They also informed us of one broken board. We send out 300 body boards a year and been Suite Paradises guest Services for nearly 10 years. In that time we have never had one returned broken in half. In the name of customer relations, we chose not to charge them for the board. In addition, after they missed their flight, they asked to retain all the equipment for another day which we did at no charge.

When the gear was retrieved the following day, we discovered another board was broken in two pieces which they did not report. We charged them $50 for the board (the rental agreement clearly shows we could charge $100) nor did we charge for the excessively sandy gear ($10 per piece.)

Customer service is very important to us. We are not in the business of charging for broken bad equipment. We need to charge only 1 or 2 guests over the course of a year. We valued this guest very much and to that end we believe that we were very fair about any charges.

Thomas Gross
Director of Operations
Suite Paradise Guest Services by CondoReady, LLC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is my new favorite place in Poipu! Very clean and comfortable. We loved it. The furnishings really reflected the island life and the condo was completely equipped. Great place. We loved being able to walk down and snorkel every day. Highly recommend it!! Aloha

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank robindawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was my first trip to Hawaii and it was fantastic! My room was awesome (one bedroom)! Renovated with tons of room. I was in a room with my two small children and we felt safe and the room was perfect. It was quiet, well furnished , and clean. We were about 3-5 minutes from Poipu beach and maybe 2 minutes walking to the pool. We had two lanais, and a beautiful courtyard to look out on to. We'll definitely be back, hopefully next year and this is most definitely where we'll stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megs7175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We just returned from staying in 1001 Manualoha in Poipu Kai. We booked through Suite Paradise because I had heard their properties were the best maintained in the resort, and we were not disappointed.
The Manualoha section of Poipu Kai is really conveniently located to Brennecke's and Poipu Beaches. We were able to walk to both. Our building (number 10) was one of the farthest, but it was still only about a 10 minute walk to Poipu Beach which is the farthest of the two. The pool was beautiful and had a great view of the ocean. It has steps to enter and goes pretty deep in the deep end. My kids were able to dive in the pool which was really fun for them.

Manualoha 1001 was a 2/2 condo. It is the end unit in a group of 6 condos. The two on the ends are two-story and the four in the middle are one floor each. When you walked into the condo there was a bedroom immediately to the right with two twin beds. Across the hallway was a full bathroom. This was where our kids slept. There is a dining area and that opens to a nice family room. We had a flat screen TV on the wall. The kitchen is fully equipped, but is not an eat-in - but you have the dining room so it is no problem. There was a pretty sitting area in the back yard which faced the garden. The stairs lead up to a door which opens to a beautiful bedroom suite. We had a king sized bed, flat screen TV on the wall, a sitting area, beautiful full bath with separate tub and shower and two decks off the bedroom. Our only complaint was that the back windows are not covered (which are not needed for privacy - no one is around to see in) so the sun comes in in the morning. Most of the time we were up early anyways, so it was not a big deal.

No A/C - No Problem! There were a few times it got a little hot in the afternoon, but we put on the fan and opened all the louvered blinds and it cooled down. At night, it really cools down and sometimes we turned off the fan and closed some of the blinds. I ended up really liking the fresh air at night.

There was a grill in the courtyard that is shared by all the condos. We grilled a couple nights as did some of our neighbors. It was a really nice option for cooking.

Overall the property was very quiet at night. One night, a group was clearly having a party, but is was not too loud and they ended up being quiet by midnight. I am sure I could have complained if it had really been a problem. The community seems to be mostly occupied by families with kids of all ages.

Poipu Kai is conveniently located on the South Shore. There are tons of restaurants and shopping very close by. You need a car - but that is true for the whole island. It was easy to get onto the highway to get to other parts of the island. Once you get your bearings, it is a pretty easy place to get around.

Definitely invest in snorkel equipment for your entire stay (rent or bring from home) as the snorkeling on Poipu Beach is amazing and is literally in your back yard! We rented from Snorkel Bob (will give separate review) and were very happy we had the equipment our entire stay.

One negative - there was not wireless high speed internet in our unit - only a cable connection. This was a pain as we could not use the Ipad in the unit. In this day and age, I would think this would be standard. Our next door neighbors had it and we were able to tap into their wireless service occasionally.

I miss Mahualoha and Poipu terribly!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise

Address: 1941 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $150 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poipu Kai Resort is a 70 acre property starting at Poipu Beach Park and sprawls over to Shipwreck Beach which we share with the Grand Hyatt Hotel. The expectational large privately owned condominiums and villas are furnished as complete vacation homes with complimentary high speed. Full home style kitchens and washer and dryers are included. The private lanai is off the living room. The resort has several swimming pools and a large tennis center with both soft and hard courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Poipu Kai Resort - Suite Paradise Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing