We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poipu Crater Resort
Nearby Hotels
$349
$339
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $413/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$779
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poipu Bed and Breakfast Inn(Poipu)(Great Value!)
$195
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$529
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$546
$459
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
$225
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vacatia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
13
9
1
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
9
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolshort drivebeach chairstennisextinctfanspropertieslanaipillowscondolandscapingbeachesaccommodationsproperty
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 28 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband, brother-in-law and I stayed in unit #23. This unit needs some serious refreshing. The fan in the living room sparked and stopped working on the first day. There are bars preventing you form opening the living room vented windows. Carpets need cleaning, kitchen and master bath need updating bad. This unit gets direct sun exposure all day, and with the skylights this place is a sauna! We met the owner of unit #26 across the resort and he let us check out his condo. It is shaded all day and was cool in the hottest part of the day, with no fans of air conditioning needed. He also has completely renovated the whole unit. Being the same price, this is the unit to stay at! The pool was the highlight of our stay. We had the pool all to ourselves the whole time! It is very private and secluded down in the crater. Tons of tropical flowers, and beautiful birds. We would stay a the Poipu crater resort again, but in unit #26.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DISCOKITTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We loved our stay here. At first I thought it might be too big for just my husband and myself but we loved being able to spread out and have plenty of space if one of us was up earlier than the other. We were in unit #6 and although the decor was somewhat dated, it was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. It had so many nice features to make it feel homey which was nice: washer/dryer, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrella, large cooler, books to read, etc... The lanai (deck) was large and it was wonderful to sit there and eat breakfast every day.

The condo is located in a crater. We were in the top of the crater (#1-10 were at the top) so I don' t know if that helped with the breeze. There is no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans in every room and I noticed 2 stand fans in a spare closet that could be used. We didn't need any air conditioning when we were there since it was on the cool side. The only thing is that the crater echos a lot and there are tons of birds and roosters that start crowing pretty early in the morning (although this is normal across Kauai). So we didn't leave the windows open at night and that helped with the noise in the morning.

The location was great and although we weren't right on the ocean, it didn't seem to matter since every day we were exploring different parts of the island anyway. The condo complex had a small (but nice) pool, ping-pong table, BBQ area, and tennis courts. We were happy with the management company (Parrish Collection)- we wanted to borrow tennis rackets and although Poipu Crater didn't have any, they let us borrow some from their neighboring property- Nihi Kai Villas which was nice.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was nice to park right outside our condo and go right in. It was much more comfortable (and cheaper) than staying at any resort.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed a week at this unexpected tropical treasure. It is not like anything else offered in the Poipu area. These townhomes are like your own home in a tropical botanical garden. In the morning the birds sing throughout the enclosed crater. The winds blow across the giant lanais that we lived on for all our meals and evening cocktails. All other condos are two and three story apartment style and have skinny long lanais that are good for nothing. Here we could park our car right next to our townhome with no stairs. we stayed in unit #20 which was extremely updated with great beds and bedding and all the appliances were new. Everything worked great and the place was really clean and we felt at home right away. We would recommend this place to anyone who wants the real Hawaii experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BeachLoverCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

My family and I just spent 2 weeks at Poipu Crater Resort. We were a large group of 38 people and stayed in 11 condos in the Crater. The trip was fabulous!

The condos in Poipu Crater are great and they are the best deal on the island. There are 15 duplex-type buildings with 2 condos in each building. There is lots of open space in the Crater and the plantings make for good privacy. Each condo is a 2 story, 2-bedroom/2 bath condo with a good kitchen, living room and eating area. Each condo is fully equipped, including laundry machines, coolers, beach chairs, etc. The lanais are large (~12 X 12) and were a favorite sitting area for all.

There is a great pool area. The pool was large and refreshing. There was a covered area with three tables and chairs as well as 3 BBQ's. There is also a clubhouse with 2 tables and chairs, a couple of couches and a full kitchen. Our group made extensive use of the whole pool/clubhouse area every evening and it worked out perfectly.

The grounds of Poipu Crater are beautiful. The whole resort is very Hawaiian looking. You can sit on the lanai and enjoy the foliage and the birds or you can enjoy a game of tennis, ping pong, or a dip in the pool.

Each condo is privately owned and although the decor in each unit is similar, they were all different, depending on whether the specific condo had been renovated recently or not. All of the condos were great for our group.

Poipu Crater is about a 10 minute walk from Poipu Beach Park (you can cut through the grounds of Poipu Kai Resort). As Kauai is an island to explore and people tend to venture off and explore the various gorgeous beaches around the island, the proximity to Poipu Beach Park is less important than one might think.

I would strongly recommend Poipu Crater to everyone; especially any large groups. Our family has already re-booked 5 condos for spring break 2008!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

we loved staying at the Poipu Crater, it was the most beautiful place we've ever been to and when we go back we will of course stay there. It felt like home and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kimmydawn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews