We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best snorkel tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Sea Rider Snorkel & Whale Watching Tours

Kauai Sea Rider Snorkel & Whale Watching Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At team Sea Riders we pride ourselves in what makes us different from other companies. Kauai Sea Riders has been providing specialized small group Zodiac Eco Tours on Kauai since 2005. As a Marine Biologist, I have always focused on providing Eco Tours to our guests – focusing on education while at the same time having a great time. All of our staff are professionally trained and share the same passion and reverence for this amazing ocean environment we get to play in everyday! We choose snorkel locations that aren’t over crowded or common, and you will have a Divemaster guiding your snorkel adventure ensuring you have an exceptional snorkeling experience. At the end of the day, our goal is to have our customers feel that they have been expertly cared for, had an experience of a lifetime, and have learned something new about the ocean and its incredible inhabitants.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best snorkel tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We began the trip by coming near to a pod of spinner dolphins, then swung by a lagoon, then on to a turtle crossing above some lava tubes: amazing. Captain Tara gave us lots of information about where to sit on the boat (little kids in the middle with their parent), everything we saw, conservation efforts, and the proper way to snorkel. I suspect she wouldn't have much patience with goofing off, risky behavior, or troubling the marine life in any way. She and Nick were very kind to our 9-year-old, who was on her first snorkeling trip—she and a woman who felt she wasn't a strong swimmer were pulled by Tara on a board all around the snorkeling area. Tara brought along a second, backup, dry wetsuit for our daughter because it was a cold day in february. We saw turtles, old and young, and lots of fishes. Then we zoomed off to an area where we saw humpback whales breaching. Then on to the second snorkeling spot before heading back to shore and lunch. The lunch was great—the usual sandwiches but with homemade bread—and we were all so hungry. Everyone was shaking with cold (even with the wetsuit shirts) by the second spot and definitely on the ride back to shore, but it was still the most magical trip and the underwater visions have stayed with me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alsisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    24
    6
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Snorkel Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is the best snorkel trip. The group is small so Tara is able to give a lot of attention to those on board. I was a little nervous about getting into the big navy seal raft at first but it was so easy to get on and off and much smoother than a larger boat tour. Tara was fantastic with the kids and let them each take a turn to drive the boat. They offer a gluten free option for lunch as well. Highly recommend this. We snorkeled with turtles, saw thousands of fish and saw whales as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wattsup70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Saw a lot of whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great guide, saw a bunch of whales, breach, slap, spout etc. Also saw spinner and bottle nose dolphins. The boat is kind of like a big raft, so you likely will get wet. I got sea sick, and so did another passenger, but it was worth it anyway. Only 10 people on the boat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We took the afternoon whale watching tour with Captain Tara on a Monday and loved it so much that we booked a snorkel tour with them on a Friday. We learned so much about marine life and local life on both tours. We saw dozens of whales on both tours and spinner dolphins swam right alongside the boat both times, as well. On the snorkel tour, we swam with tropical fish and sea turtles, but we're cautioned to not make contact, as the staff respects the fragile nature of these amazing creatures. It's the personal touch of the crew that makes this company stand out. They went above and beyond, both times, to make sure we saw and learned as much as possible about the island and it's waters. Highly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank boi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Fast Whale Watching Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family 2014 New Year in Kauai included a Zodiac Speed Boat, Navy Seal quality, carrying just 11 of us zooming out into the waters to whale watch. The ride alone would have been enough, but seeing LOTS of whales up close, getting great shots, the gorgeous coastline, sea turtles, was everything we hoped for! My grandson even got to "drive" the boat alongside our Captain Ben!! What a great time. Highly recommend and worth the bucks!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joytogo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Sea Rider Snorkel & Whale Watching Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Sea Rider Snorkel & Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing