We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2006

This resort is where we let ourselves splurge during our 3 island vacation. We only spent three days here, unfortunately, so we didn't even get to try the pool. Our condo was very close to the ocean and we had a terrific view. We also didn't try the restaurant on site because we wanted to explore other places on the island. Our assessment was basically of the condo and how the building was situated on the grounds of the resort.

The condo (#185) was really nice. I like the high ceiling and the fans were much needed. Once the doors to the balcony were open, a refreshing breeze filled the rooms. The bathroom can feel a little still when the door is shut, though.

Our only complaint is the lighting outside at night is very dim. We tried to find our way to the laundry building and it wasn't easy. While there, numerous guests stopped to ask us directions on how to get to the registration building. That tells us that at night, it's hard to find one's way around this property.

When we checked in, the activities planner was very willing to help us make reservations for all the things one must do on Kauai, but we felt like if we didn't make a commitment on the spot, our chance to do them at all were lost. That's not the case, though, and she didn't inform us that there were other options for us. She was trying to sell us on the companies she had contracts with and they were pretty much completely booked.

I suggest making sure you have adequate information on ALL the businesses who conduct tours where you want to go (and review them as well because they are not all alike). There were quite a few open spaces on other boat trips than the one she suggested. ULTIMATE KAUAI is a great book, as are their other guides.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rgcs1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    624
    200
    110
    51
See reviews for
563
808
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Outrigger Kiahuna from June 21 to June 28 of this year. We had a wonderful time and since we were treated so well it was hard to picture the place where some of the reviewers were writing about when they were complaining. We wondered if it was the same place. I have to say, I was nervous until I got there because of some of the bad reviews. I can't believe people have complained about the staff here. From the moment we arrived here, the staff was more than accomodating and very friendly. I guess some people will complain about anything if they get the chance.

This is a beautiful property and the two condos we were in were both very nice. We didn't have an ocean view, but we didn't pay for one so we weren't expecting one. It is true what has been said about the heat, it was quite warm during the day, but since we weren't ever in the condo all day, it didn't bother us. The fans were more than adequate at night and we actually slept covered with the blanket. It was quite cool. There were roosters, that too is true. However, they didn't bother us. In fact, we found them to be quite amusing! Trying to take pictures of them though, is quite difficult. They just won't pose! And we did hear our neighbors, but only when we were on the lanai. It was quite peaceful here.
I would definitely stay here again and hopefully it won't be too long before we go back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

Our family of four checked in to this property anticipating an ocean view room and an action-packed week. Having arrived from the Big Island, where we had a wonderful resort experience, this place disappointed from the get-go. Our custom vacation was booked 9 months ago, and we were put at the very back of the property. Apparently, you pay a premium price for an ocean view so that you can listen to all the road noise on Popui Rd., peer through a large tree for a sliver of ocean, and hear every auto and service truck entering the property on the east side. At 10:30 at night, we were subjected to street sweepers, tow trucks, and people coming home and setting off their rental car security alarms. Kids on the lawn at 6:00 a.m. playing soccer outside our room made an alarm clock completely unnecessary. Then there was the line-up outside our lanai for use of one of the few grills (great way to meet people?!). But what frosted us the most was the insolent and abrupt attitude of the staff. They looked at us like we were nuts when we told them we wanted a different location, and of course nothing was available. The vacation packager was able to negotiate a discount, but when you've been planning for two years, that's little consolation. The concierge at this facility is just a front for an activity sales desk - beware- these people don't know what they are doing and they will waste a lot of your time. And if you happen to be visiting for the first time, you'll get the "Well, it's always been done this way and you should know that" line. They can't even get a dinner reservation done, so don't trust them with anything really important. And forget about the pool; it's so far from the ocean front that you'd need to plan a day trip. Oh ya , it closes at 6:00 p.m. We loved Popui beach and the island, but we hated this property.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

This was our first trip to Kauai. It was extra special since we celebrated our daughter's 13th birthday there. We originaly planned to stay at Poipu Kai and book through a managment company. A family friend who has been going to Kiahuna every year since he was a kid said we HAD to stay at Kiahuna. I really wanted our daughter to have her own bedroom, but 2 bedrooms are hard to come by and are really expensive at Kiahuna. We ended up renting a 1 bedroom through a private party in building 23. I loved this location. We were in the center of the property so nothing was too far away. Also the way building 23 sits we only recieved morning sun on the lanai so it was nice and cool in the afternoon.
Noise was never a problem for us, though we were upstairs so I don't know if the lower levels hear more noise or not.
The layout of the condo is very efficient. The kitchen had more than enough for our cooking needs. You could of made a Thanksgiving dinner if you needed to. The plantation shutters work well to keep things nice and comfy. We left them open all day and shut them up tight at night. We left the ceiling fans on high the whole time. The beds were very comfortable, even the sofa bed! The owners had just purchased new furniture so we lucked out.
The beach was nice, but a little crowded sometimes. You can always walk to Poipu Beach Park for more room. For sunsets we would walk around the point at the Sheraton for a perfect view.
For equipment rentals I wouldn't rent from the Activity Hut at the beach though. Their rates were really high and they had strict rules about when they would rent equipment. Go to Nukumoi Surf Shop for your rentals.
Poipu Shopping Village was nice for clothes shopping. You must try a Puka Dog while there. Whalers General store was little pricey but not too bad. Keoki's Paradise is very good and it was nice being able to walk to dinner.
My only complaint about Kiahuna was the location of the pool. We didn't care too much about swimming in the pool, but after a long day of surfing and swimming a nice soak in the hot tub sounded good. We had to rush over there to catch a quick soak before they closed at 6. I was told that before they built their pool you could use the Sheraton's, which would of been nicer.
All in all I loved Kiahuna Plantation. We tend to prefer a more casual family atmosphere than a high end resort type place. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank scincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

We just got back from our honeymoon in Kauai and loved the island! Our stay at the Kiahuna Plantation was nice. We booked it through a travel agent who said these grounds were great. We stayed in unit #139. It was very clean, well maintained and it looked like the carpets had just been replaced. There was a partial ocean view. The first thing I noticed was that there was no air conditioning but I noticed that the owners provided two portable fans and there were ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room. It had a plantation-like feel to it and definitely did not feel like typical hotel living. The first few days I was a little disappointed with it when I was comparing it to my parents' room at the Marriott in Lihue. They had air conditioning, their view was of the pool and Kalapaki Beach, their bathroom had marble tiling and looked like it was brand new. They paid $65 less per night than we did too. However, the Kiahuna grew on me as the days went on. It had a large lanai where we lounged and sipped on margaritas. There were some bugs, geckos and flying cockroaches but I guess that's to be expected in a garden-like resort. We received notices that they would be inspecting for bug problems and be treating it with insecticide. I tend to be sensitive to chemicals--they seemed very accomodating and said they would just inspect the place but not spray anything. There was an ant problem as well but they took care of the problem right away the next day and left us a note telling us what they did.

Went to an orientation they were hosting where they educated us on the island and told us they could book any tours, adventures, etc for us. We did the Aquatic Adventures scuba and had a wonderful experience. Staff was knowledgeable, friendly, funny and very patient. Also did Holoholo Charters and staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We took the 7 hour catamaran ride and snorkeling near the Forbidden Island of Ni'ihau. Also, got surf lessons right on the Kiahuna Beach and was fun!

Kiahuna Plantation was on a beautiful stretch of beach...not a lot of sand area to lay out but was nice nonetheless. Walked down past the Sheraton next door and saw amazing sunsets. Also went to the Beach House Restaurant which has the best food and drinks on the island and the view was gorgeous! Try to get a table fronting the ocean.

Overall, the Kiahuna Plantation was good. Our unit was very clean and the service was responsive. I don't know if spending that much money per night could justify coming back in an ordinary circumstance but memories of our unit from our honeymoon would bring us back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kristin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

We spent seven nights in condo #212 at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation during our visit to Kauai. (We were on the island May 22 - 29.) We chose this resort because of all the good reviews it got here on Trip Advisor and were delighted to prove all of those reviews correct! The condo itself was beautifully furnished, and the full kitchen helped us pare our food budget down by letting us cook in. Despite the lack of air conditioning, we were never hot. Just keep those louvered shutters open and you'll have constant breezes blowing through to cool you off!

Because we were in an ocean view room, we didn't have any noise problems from Poipu Shopping Village across the street. However, having visited the shopping village a couple times at night, I can imagine that, if you were in a condo near the street, it would be rather noisy. Since we were in the back half of the property, the only noise problem we had was due to a bull frog that lived somewhere close to the window of the master bedroom, where my grandparents were sleeping. Other than that, it was an incredibly peaceful place to relax. I spent considerable time reading on one of the lawn chairs on the lanai, serenaded by the gentle murmur of the ocean waves and cooled by the ocean breezes.

The service at the resort was excellent as well. Toward the end of our visit, we had a problem with the in-room safe. Maintenance was there within 10 minutes to help us get it open and replace the battery. They were also very helpful to us on the day we left Kauai. Check out is at noon, but our flight did not leave until 9:50 PM and we didn't want to spend all day with a carful of luggage (that's definately asking to get your car broken into). We got to store our bags behind the concierge desk while we drove up Waimea Canyon and, when we came back, we were given a one hour timeslot in the hospitality suite to rest for a bit and freshen up before heading to the airport.

In short, this is a wonderful resort. I would recommend spending the extra money to get a partial ocean view or ocean view room, because it is certainly worth it. But, no matter where you stay, you will benefit from helpful cheerful staff, prime location, and relaxing rooms.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank aymiewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

My wife and I stayed here in May of 2006. We stayed in unit 73, which had a great view. Because it is located in about the center of the resort, we had little road noise. The unit was very clean and well stocked. We were able to cook for ourselves most meals and we saved a lot of money on both food and drinks. The bed was very comfortable. Only downside is the beach..it is very narrow and small and very rough surf(however, virtually every beach we saw on this island was too rough to swim safely) and occasional noise from the neighboring units. The service was excellent, though we did not ask for much, and the grounds are meticulously maintained. Maid service was great and they replaced shampoo, soap and conditioner even if we didn't need it. It is located about in the middle of the Poipu Resort row, so every restaurant and the Poipu Shopping Village are all within walking distance. We would highly recommend this resort.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing