We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Nearby Hotels
$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$866
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$623
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$459
$377
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$209
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Island Inn Hotel(Lihue)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveler rating
776
661
222
120
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
661
222
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hutcactus gardencastle resortsroyal garden viewno air conditioningroad noiseathletic clublouvered windowsbeautiful groundsbeach chairs and towelsthrough vrbopoipu roadbedroom condocloser to the beachlaundry facilitypartial ocean viewgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,609 - 1,614 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2006

We just got back from our honeymoon in Kauai and loved the island! Our stay at the Kiahuna Plantation was nice. We booked it through a travel agent who said these grounds were great. We stayed in unit #139. It was very clean, well maintained and it looked like the carpets had just been replaced. There was a partial ocean view. The first thing I noticed was that there was no air conditioning but I noticed that the owners provided two portable fans and there were ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room. It had a plantation-like feel to it and definitely did not feel like typical hotel living. The first few days I was a little disappointed with it when I was comparing it to my parents' room at the Marriott in Lihue. They had air conditioning, their view was of the pool and Kalapaki Beach, their bathroom had marble tiling and looked like it was brand new. They paid $65 less per night than we did too. However, the Kiahuna grew on me as the days went on. It had a large lanai where we lounged and sipped on margaritas. There were some bugs, geckos and flying cockroaches but I guess that's to be expected in a garden-like resort. We received notices that they would be inspecting for bug problems and be treating it with insecticide. I tend to be sensitive to chemicals--they seemed very accomodating and said they would just inspect the place but not spray anything. There was an ant problem as well but they took care of the problem right away the next day and left us a note telling us what they did.

Went to an orientation they were hosting where they educated us on the island and told us they could book any tours, adventures, etc for us. We did the Aquatic Adventures scuba and had a wonderful experience. Staff was knowledgeable, friendly, funny and very patient. Also did Holoholo Charters and staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We took the 7 hour catamaran ride and snorkeling near the Forbidden Island of Ni'ihau. Also, got surf lessons right on the Kiahuna Beach and was fun!

Kiahuna Plantation was on a beautiful stretch of beach...not a lot of sand area to lay out but was nice nonetheless. Walked down past the Sheraton next door and saw amazing sunsets. Also went to the Beach House Restaurant which has the best food and drinks on the island and the view was gorgeous! Try to get a table fronting the ocean.

Overall, the Kiahuna Plantation was good. Our unit was very clean and the service was responsive. I don't know if spending that much money per night could justify coming back in an ordinary circumstance but memories of our unit from our honeymoon would bring us back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kristin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We spent seven nights in condo #212 at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation during our visit to Kauai. (We were on the island May 22 - 29.) We chose this resort because of all the good reviews it got here on Trip Advisor and were delighted to prove all of those reviews correct! The condo itself was beautifully furnished, and the full kitchen helped us pare our food budget down by letting us cook in. Despite the lack of air conditioning, we were never hot. Just keep those louvered shutters open and you'll have constant breezes blowing through to cool you off!

Because we were in an ocean view room, we didn't have any noise problems from Poipu Shopping Village across the street. However, having visited the shopping village a couple times at night, I can imagine that, if you were in a condo near the street, it would be rather noisy. Since we were in the back half of the property, the only noise problem we had was due to a bull frog that lived somewhere close to the window of the master bedroom, where my grandparents were sleeping. Other than that, it was an incredibly peaceful place to relax. I spent considerable time reading on one of the lawn chairs on the lanai, serenaded by the gentle murmur of the ocean waves and cooled by the ocean breezes.

The service at the resort was excellent as well. Toward the end of our visit, we had a problem with the in-room safe. Maintenance was there within 10 minutes to help us get it open and replace the battery. They were also very helpful to us on the day we left Kauai. Check out is at noon, but our flight did not leave until 9:50 PM and we didn't want to spend all day with a carful of luggage (that's definately asking to get your car broken into). We got to store our bags behind the concierge desk while we drove up Waimea Canyon and, when we came back, we were given a one hour timeslot in the hospitality suite to rest for a bit and freshen up before heading to the airport.

In short, this is a wonderful resort. I would recommend spending the extra money to get a partial ocean view or ocean view room, because it is certainly worth it. But, no matter where you stay, you will benefit from helpful cheerful staff, prime location, and relaxing rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank aymiewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bay Area, Ca.
327
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My wife and I stayed here in May of 2006. We stayed in unit 73, which had a great view. Because it is located in about the center of the resort, we had little road noise. The unit was very clean and well stocked. We were able to cook for ourselves most meals and we saved a lot of money on both food and drinks. The bed was very comfortable. Only downside is the beach..it is very narrow and small and very rough surf(however, virtually every beach we saw on this island was too rough to swim safely) and occasional noise from the neighboring units. The service was excellent, though we did not ask for much, and the grounds are meticulously maintained. Maid service was great and they replaced shampoo, soap and conditioner even if we didn't need it. It is located about in the middle of the Poipu Resort row, so every restaurant and the Poipu Shopping Village are all within walking distance. We would highly recommend this resort.

Stayed: May 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Just got back. Loved Kauai. Really awesome place to spend time.

We had one of the dreaded rooms near the parking lots and entrance in building 38...ahhhh! Oh, but wait, it wasn't too bad. If it takes you 10 minutes to walk from there to the beach, you are indeed a very slow walker. It was more like 5 minutes.

The restaurant across the street was not a noise problem. Since there was no air-conditioning in our unit, we had fans going 24/7 and these drowned out any noise. Our Garden View room was actually of a lovely garden. There were some other backlot buildings that had worse views.

Our unit was clean and in good shape. That could have been an issue for me. But it was just fine. Staff cleaned up well after us every day.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. When I stopped in to ask them where to go get a donut for breakfast, one of the front desk workers actually pulled out a personal box and gave me one of hers. All, cleaning and gardening staff smiled and gave us an enthusiastic Aloha every time we met one. They even gave us free use of a room on our last day for an hour to clean up since we had to check out well-ahead of our flight.

Keoki's is the restaurant across the street and we loved it. Best Mai Tais on the Island. No seriously,....we tried a bunch of them. So basically you could walk from our room to the restaurant in 5 minutes too. Also, several other restaurants and shopping in a complex adjacent to Keoki's. We loved Puka Dogs...you might have seen them on the Travel Channel. They are located right there next to Keoki's.

Watch out. Eating dinner in the area is not cheap. It is hard to find a sit-down dinner for less than $20. Kid's meals were $11. I guess that is Poi Pu for you.

On the whole, the resort grounds were finely manicured and well-kept. And the Kiahuna is relatively close to alot of scenery and some of the best snorkeling beaches I can imagine.

I think any disappointments come in when you walk down the beach either way and see the digs at the Sheraton or Marriott. Yep, those were in a different class. But overall, the Kiahuna had some charm and was a pleasant experience.

The airport in Kauai is a nightmare. Don't expect to check your luggage early for flights. We had 10 PM flights and tried to drop our luggage at 6:00 in order to get our rental car back on time. The American Airlines counter wasn't even open yet. Don't know how it works in the morning.

Will post more later as other thoughts occur.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Heartogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We booked our stay at Castle Kiahuna through Hotwire which advertised it as "beachfront, 1 bedroom suite." When we arrived -- we were placed in building 41 -- the view was of the Marriott behind our room (parking lot view) and also had Poipu Road street noise. We spoke to the manager, who claimed that Hotwire had booked us in a "Garden View" -- which was not our selection. We had thought we were getting a "beachfront" based on Hotwire's promotion -- there was no mention of a "garden view" room. We were instructed (upon arrival)by hotel management to call Hotwire to clear up the problem. We called Hotwire our first day on site and were told that they had no control over where the hotel placed us and that in fact, they (Hotwire) did not specify that we were getting a "garden view" room. Note: The room type was not mentioned on our Hotwire confirmation. We then proceeded to speak to the manager who was most uncoopeative, unapologetic or willing to assist in a room change. He only offered to upgrade to an "ocean view" for a price (it became our problem and our expense). He was very rude and unwilling to accept any responsibility. He also gave some lame excuse that their computers were down so he couldn't look at how it was advertised on Hotwire. It would have been considerate to say the least, if he had acknowledged that the room package was advertised incorrectly on the Hotwire site and that he would look into changing it to avoid further confusion by future guests. Overall, we were very unsatisfied with Hotwire's response and the response of the Hotel Manager. No one accepted any responsiblity for the misleading advertising. Also, note that the pool is located at a tennis club across the street from the hotel -- not on grounds.
Consequently, it was extremely disappointing to spend 9 days in a "hotel view" room when we expected to be in an oceanfront room. Interesting to note that when we returned home, Hotwire sent us a survey to review how we felt about stay in our "oceanfront, one bedroom suite." What's up with Hotwire and the Castle Kiahuna Plantation and their "package" deals?

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank 339kathleenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews