We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Above Average for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Slightly Above Average for the money”
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Just got back. Loved Kauai. Really awesome place to spend time.

We had one of the dreaded rooms near the parking lots and entrance in building 38...ahhhh! Oh, but wait, it wasn't too bad. If it takes you 10 minutes to walk from there to the beach, you are indeed a very slow walker. It was more like 5 minutes.

The restaurant across the street was not a noise problem. Since there was no air-conditioning in our unit, we had fans going 24/7 and these drowned out any noise. Our Garden View room was actually of a lovely garden. There were some other backlot buildings that had worse views.

Our unit was clean and in good shape. That could have been an issue for me. But it was just fine. Staff cleaned up well after us every day.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. When I stopped in to ask them where to go get a donut for breakfast, one of the front desk workers actually pulled out a personal box and gave me one of hers. All, cleaning and gardening staff smiled and gave us an enthusiastic Aloha every time we met one. They even gave us free use of a room on our last day for an hour to clean up since we had to check out well-ahead of our flight.

Keoki's is the restaurant across the street and we loved it. Best Mai Tais on the Island. No seriously,....we tried a bunch of them. So basically you could walk from our room to the restaurant in 5 minutes too. Also, several other restaurants and shopping in a complex adjacent to Keoki's. We loved Puka Dogs...you might have seen them on the Travel Channel. They are located right there next to Keoki's.

Watch out. Eating dinner in the area is not cheap. It is hard to find a sit-down dinner for less than $20. Kid's meals were $11. I guess that is Poi Pu for you.

On the whole, the resort grounds were finely manicured and well-kept. And the Kiahuna is relatively close to alot of scenery and some of the best snorkeling beaches I can imagine.

I think any disappointments come in when you walk down the beach either way and see the digs at the Sheraton or Marriott. Yep, those were in a different class. But overall, the Kiahuna had some charm and was a pleasant experience.

The airport in Kauai is a nightmare. Don't expect to check your luggage early for flights. We had 10 PM flights and tried to drop our luggage at 6:00 in order to get our rental car back on time. The American Airlines counter wasn't even open yet. Don't know how it works in the morning.

Will post more later as other thoughts occur.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Heartogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    634
    204
    113
    52
See reviews for
580
822
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We booked our stay at Castle Kiahuna through Hotwire which advertised it as "beachfront, 1 bedroom suite." When we arrived -- we were placed in building 41 -- the view was of the Marriott behind our room (parking lot view) and also had Poipu Road street noise. We spoke to the manager, who claimed that Hotwire had booked us in a "Garden View" -- which was not our selection. We had thought we were getting a "beachfront" based on Hotwire's promotion -- there was no mention of a "garden view" room. We were instructed (upon arrival)by hotel management to call Hotwire to clear up the problem. We called Hotwire our first day on site and were told that they had no control over where the hotel placed us and that in fact, they (Hotwire) did not specify that we were getting a "garden view" room. Note: The room type was not mentioned on our Hotwire confirmation. We then proceeded to speak to the manager who was most uncoopeative, unapologetic or willing to assist in a room change. He only offered to upgrade to an "ocean view" for a price (it became our problem and our expense). He was very rude and unwilling to accept any responsibility. He also gave some lame excuse that their computers were down so he couldn't look at how it was advertised on Hotwire. It would have been considerate to say the least, if he had acknowledged that the room package was advertised incorrectly on the Hotwire site and that he would look into changing it to avoid further confusion by future guests. Overall, we were very unsatisfied with Hotwire's response and the response of the Hotel Manager. No one accepted any responsiblity for the misleading advertising. Also, note that the pool is located at a tennis club across the street from the hotel -- not on grounds.
Consequently, it was extremely disappointing to spend 9 days in a "hotel view" room when we expected to be in an oceanfront room. Interesting to note that when we returned home, Hotwire sent us a survey to review how we felt about stay in our "oceanfront, one bedroom suite." What's up with Hotwire and the Castle Kiahuna Plantation and their "package" deals?

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank 339kathleenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2006

I was very concerned after reading the reviews before I left. But, I was pleasantly surprised!! The grounds are beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The condo was so clean - I could have eatten off the floor. And, it was no noisy at all. I loved the fact that it DID NOT have A/C because it felt like we were sleeping outside in the rain forest. There isn't all the bars like a high end resort, but it is nice because people weren't bugging you about a drink and there was no trash. (If you want a beach drink - go next door to the Shereton)

Overall - this is a great stay - quiet, clean, and a Hawaiian retreat.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

My father inlaw owns one of the 1 bedroom units in the Kiahuna Plantation. So, we had a free stay here. We were disapointed from the very beginning. The particular unit that we stayed in was about a 10 minute walk from the beach. Sitting on our porch we had a view of the parking lot below us. After walking 10 minutes to get to the beach we were disappointed to find out that there was no bar or cafe anywhere near the beach where we could get a bottle of water or a drink when we were thirsty. There was also no pool near the beach. The pool is all the way on the other side of the street (about a 15 walk from the beach). The beach was PACKED and we could only find 1 chair. And the chairs were so uncomfortable that we didn't even want to use it when we did find one. Our unit was run down and tacky despite the fact that my father-inlaw was paying top dollar to the managment company to keep it looking nice. The manager had billed my father inlaw for carpet cleaning and new paint but it was obvious that the carpet had not been cleaned in years and the paint was chipping off the walls. The bedroom door fell off in my hand when I tried to open it. Even if we had been at one of the units on the beach I was so disappointed with the beach that it would not of mattered much. However, from our unit the beach was so far away that we decided to enjoy our view of that parking lot instead of make the hike. I would of MUCH rather payed money to stay at the hotel next door which had an AWESOME pool area, a beautiful beach area and plenty of bars next to the beach so that you can get a drink when you get hot. If I went back to kauai I would NOT stay at the Kiahuna Plantaition even though I could stay for free! However, if you are a family and you need a 1 bedroom unit than this hotel is a good option for you. Just make sure to find out where your unit is located BEFORE yuo book it so that you do not end up 10 minutes away from the beach with a view of the parking lot. If you are a couple looking for a romantic stay than go to a different hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tracybraylina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davewil3, Agent at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2006
Most of your complaints should really be directed to your father-in-law, not the resort management. You complain about the location of the unit, the owner of the unit (your father-in-law) selected the unit he wished to purchase. From your description, seems he purchased one of the lowest priced locations in the far back of the property. These rent for the lowest prices and many people don't mind the walk as a trade off for lower prices. If a shorter walk to the beach is desired, simply book a higher priced category such as ocean View or oceanfront (for more money).

Most there properties clean the carpeting more than once per month. More likely the problem with the carpeting is that is old and needs to be replaced. That is the owners responsibility.

As far as the beach, seems the complaint is that it was too busy . It is busy because it is one of the best beaches on Kauai and Kiahuna Plantation is about the only CONDO property on Kauai that is on a swimming beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Just back from a week at Kiahuna from 12th to 19th March. As you may have heard the weather has been awful on Kauai for the last three weeks, culminating in a dam bursting and 7 people dead as a result on the north of the island. There was plenty of flooding on the Planatation site as well but it was mainly restricted to paths and roads.

Obviously none of this can be blamed on the management (we were with Outrigger). Our condo was excellent, booked independently with the owner. We were upstairs in building 28, with a beautiful view over the lawn to the beach and the ocean. The swimming pool for the site is across the road and is a long walk from where we were, but the Sheraton next door has a pool beside the beach and there is nothing stopping you using it (or the pools at the Marriott Vacation Club the other way) - both are nearer than the Planation pool.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JohnEW2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a weeklong stay in Unit 443, Building 42. The condo itself was in good to fair condition, just the carpet showing some wear. The main concern was the location of the unit and also the hotel staff.

We were working with a tight budget, having just been married. We booked online at Hotwire, got what we thought would be a great deal....A week after our booking we found the the hotel rating had recently been downgraded by Hotwire from 3.5 to 3 stars. We took a small credit of Hotwire bucks and hoped for the best (it was too late now to rebook elsewhere- spring break rush).

Turns out, we booked a gardenview room, this is the hotel's lowest room grade. We weren't able to find out the exact location on the property until just before our arrival. There is NOT (although the office staff will tell you there is) a map of the grounds avaible online at the hotel site, you will need to call and request to have it emailed to you. We then found out that there are three buildings of gardenview rooms, Building 40,41 and 42. These buildings are located between the only main street running through the Poipu area (Poipu Rd.) and another property. There is heavy traffic on Poipu Road all hours of the night. Because the units are not equiped with air condition, there is no relief from the ever present sound of constant traffic. To make matters worse, our bedroom window was about 30 yards from the road!

Prior to our arrivial, we made arrangements with the hotel to upgrade our room for a small fee. Upon our arrivial we were told that the room had been given to someone else. The only alternative we were offered was about $204 additional/night and a take it or leave it attitude! After 24 hours of travel, we decided to take the room and deal with it in the morning.

We contacted the front desk and hotwire daily the first 4 days of our stay. We would be offered a room (for an additional fee), walk over to take a look at it, decide to move, only to be told they had made a mistake - it wasn't available. The general attitude and lack of caring or understanding from the staff made the ordeal even more difficult. This was to be our honeymoon, we wanted to relax and enjoy some quiet time together. We were offered a refund of the remainder of the stay by Hotwire, but weren't able to find an alternative in our price range (that springbreak rush again).

The beach on the property is lovely! Although the Activity Hut is staffed by teenagers who are too busy talking on the phone to answer your questions about snorkel gear or when they'll have more towels. Some of the garden areas are beautiful, the cactus area seems overgrown and in need of maintenance. The pool is nice, but located across the street with the tennis courts. You need to check in at the pro shop for towels, again depending on the staff they may be too busy doing something else to help you out.

We would NOT recommend this property. Not only due to the room location and noise, but also the staff.

If you are considering the property, be careful! We recommend calling for a property map and pick the specific unit based on location of the building. Buildings 16, 18, 37 and 39 may also have the same noise problem due to location.

There are many, many other properties in the area in the same price range that offer so much more! Consider the Embassy in Poipu or the Marriott's Waihai Beach Club. Both of these properties are in the same area and will have so much more to offer in service and ammenities!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 18, 2006

First trip to Hawaii and found the Kiahuna very enjoyable. We even stayed in bldg. 39 and found out it wasn't that bad for noise - except for the roosters. Even that was sort of a good experience. Unit was very clean and we enjoyed the walked through the gardens and to the great beach. We thought the location of the resort was very good - close to many extras and a short drive to other sights. Would recommend it and go again if we went back to Kauai.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing