We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for five nights on our honeymoon. Kauai was great and we loved everything about the island, but this hotel was overpriced. This poor review may be because of the location of our particular building. We stayed about as far away from the beach as possible (not by choice); this meant we could hear traffic and nearby bar noise instead of the calming ocean. The actual rooms and setup was really nice and we didn't mind not having the air conditioning, but it really didn't seem as good as we were expecting. We didn't spend much time at the resort, which made the hefty price tag that much more insulting. Lastly, the front desk staff were rude and we had to wait about two hours from the posted check-in time before we could get into our room (cleaning crew was behind schedule). Try somewhere else...

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for Kiahuna Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,565 - 1,571 of 1,752 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
116
Reviewed June 27, 2005

Like some others, I was a little apprehensive about the place after reading some of the other reviews, but my husband and I stayed in room #405, and loved it! We were at the far east end of the property, so not directly across from the shopping and activity centers. The room was exactly how it was pictured in the 360 video. Spotlessly clean, new berber carpet, very comfortable king sized bed, constant tradewind breeze and ceiling fans kept it comfortable night and day. We had a few adventurous ants wander across the kitchen counter, but keeping all food in the fridge kept that to a minimum. Although the couch is comfortable, the side chairs...not so much. The front desk staff, concierge, and maid service staff were all very warm and friendly. Beach, laundry, and entertainment were all within easy walking distance. We would have happily stayed there another week if we could! Just a note, since we were on the ground level with other rooms above us, and the roosters are quite enthusiastic in the early morning, a comfortable pair of earplugs will make a tremendous difference in how much you enjoy your vacation, whether you stay here or somewhere else.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans
214
Reviewed June 26, 2005

We stayed at Kiahuna in mid-June, in a second floor full ocean view condo. It was definitely a love-hate relationship.

What we loved:

The location, right on the beach.
The view, overlooking the lawn and ocean.
The barbecue, top-notch equipment that made cooking fun/social.

What we hated:

The NOISE! We could hear everything from every unit within two buildings of ours...all day long. From tons of screaming, crying kids of all ages in the early morning to loud baseball playing on the lawn in the early evening. Just not relaxing AT ALL.

The bed in our condo sucked. Just rock hard, with one of those horrible egg-carton foam things to make it "not so bad." Same with the pillows...like those I can imagine finding in a Motel 6.

Did I mention the noise? The housekeeping crew schooled up right outside our condo before starting work, and they yapped all day long, starting at 7 a.m.

This is not a place to go for peace and quiet. If you've got a big boisterous family, this is the place for you. But if you want to sip a glass of wine at sundown and serenely enjoy the view/sunset, go someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NY
119
Reviewed June 22, 2005

My husband and I spent four nights at Castle Plantation in June 2005. Before we booked the hotel, I saw that the review of this hotel is mixed, but my husband thought we should give it a try so we did. It turned out this place is way below what we had expected.

We arrived at around 8pm and went to the registration desk on the west entrace which is closer to the airport. We were told that although the hotel shared the concierge desk with another hotel, we should go to the east entrance for check-in. When we got to the east entrance, it was a crappy small room making you feel like you are staying at a bed and breakfast. In addition, the lady at the check-in desk was not helpful in providing any information on where we can find a good restaurant at around 8pm. She told us everywhere should be closed by then and it turned out we found quite a few places were still open after 9pm!

The room was dirty although they required us to take off the shoes when entering. I found some hair in the bathtub right away, and the fridge is rusty and dirty, as if no one has lived in that unit for years. The owner even dared to post a note saying that this unit is up for sale. Yuck!

Next morning, we went to the concierge desk to ask them to book dinner at a very good restaurant, and it turned out they booked it for the wrong day! What could they handle, anyway?

During our last night's stay, we noticed that the bathtub was not cleaned at all, and whatever trash we put in the kitchen and the bathroom the night before, they were still there. I called the front desk to ask why the room was not cleaned and was told they only provide bath towels (which by the way, are broken, each one of them) and make the bed for the first three nights and they will provide cleaning service starting the fourth night! Unbelieveable! I told them we were expecting hotel services but was told this is how they run the resort there. Since we booked through expedia and could not really ask the hotel for a refund, and we were leaving soon, we did not feel like arguing with them.

Just want to warn those who are still considering this place. For the money you are paying, go somewhere else. We do not stay in places lower than 4-stars, but this place at most worth 2 stars. Just horrible. They need to renovate the place soon or no one should pay $200/night for a dump like this.

Oh, I almost forgot, the roosters were crazy noisy in the morning and my husband could not sleep at all. We absolutely hated this place.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Louisville, Colorado
329
Reviewed June 20, 2005

My spouse and I spent nine days at the Outrigger Kaihuna and loved it. The service was outstanding throughout our stay . . . from the front desk to the concierge to housekeeping. Our lanai was large and quiet with a beautiful garden view. The 1-bedroom condo was clean and spacious; we enjoyed the plantation shutters and great breezes. The grounds and gardens are relaxing with quite magnificent flora. We also had excellent food at the Plantation Gardens restaurant (on-site) as well as at Roy's and Keoki's across the street. We are eager to return to Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2005

We checked out after one night. Since there is no air conditioning (fans, only) you have no choice but to leave the louvered windows open, so be prepared for a lot of "mugginess". Units are very close together (The exception to this would be the ocean front units that don't share as many common walls. )We are a middle aged couple who were in our unit very little, as we didn"t prepare any meals and golfed all day or went to the beach, however some very rude downstairs neighbors banged on our door in the morning with some very major verbal insults as to how noisy and inconsiderate we were. If you have any children or want to speak in a tone above a whisper, or simply to enjoy your deck, do not stay here. Management was abivalent to our complaint, so we moved to the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jadetrail51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2005

14  Thank ChrisClarkston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $183 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing