We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot right on the beach!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kiahuna recently for our kids Spring Break. It feels like "Old Hawaii" here to me. So relaxing and easy. Our condo was in a perfect location up towards the beach. I definitely recommend getting a condo on the front lawn where you can step right on to the beach. It makes a big difference where you're located here. Our kids loved playing on the grass - kicking the soccer ball, hitting a volleyball or just doing cartwheels right in front of our room. The condo had everything we needed and was in good condition. We loved bar-b-que'ing by the beach. Easy walk to shopping across the street and restaurants (Keoki's was fun!). People and service were very nice. Great for families or couples. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor units on the front lawn are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolagirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    634
    204
    113
    52
See reviews for
580
822
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have stayed at Kiahuna Plantation many times over the past 10 years. We are drawn by the beautiful landscaping and gardens, the splendid beach only a short walk away, and the location in Poipu affording easy access to the shopping centre and many excellent restaurants, including the Plantation's own restaurant. The units are clean and comfortable, although, I grant that some are looking tired.

For years guests had access to the athletic facility across the street for pool, spa, and tennis court. We learned on our arrival this time, that this pool was no longer available. It had become a private club, and owners associated with Outrigger had not joined - although owners with Castle Resorts had. We relied on that pool and were enormously disappointed. There were no alternatives other than the YMCA in Lihue. This is a resort - a pool is a basic requirement. We don't do ziplining - we prefer to sit by the pool.

If you are considering Kiahuna Plantation, be sure to ask whether the unit includes use of the Poipu Beach Athletic Club pool.

Room Tip: Ground floor will have walk out to the lanai and grounds - and spare you the steps to the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel can be wonderful, with a great ambiance from wood slat windows, flowering landscaping, and a beach a 2 minute walk away. But all units are not the same, as they are independently owned! We booked through Pleasant holidays, chose the cheapest garden view option and were "upgraded" upon arrival to unit 313. The room was awful! Obviously not updated since the 80s or early 90s, with a sofa table that had a warped/peeling-away tabletop, discolored and peeling tub bottom, a faucet top that came off in my husband's hand, and a bed that rivals the thinness/age of one $50 Utah motel I stayed at. Needless to say, this hotel costs significantly more than $50 to stay at, and I felt I was not getting my money's worth.

After one night, we went to the reservation desk and asked for a different room, one that was updated. They gave us a choice of a few rooms to look at that they said were updated (so they obviously have a list of ones that are and are not), 2 of which we looked at. One in our same price range was obviously updated, with a newer bed, better decor, cleaner in general, but with a poorer view (building 40?). We looked at the other, which was one step up from ours (Garden paradise?) and it had granite kitchen counter tops, 3 sets of gorgeous sliding doors leading to the balcony, new rugs, a comfy bed, granite and tile in the bathroom, and beautiful decor (unit 61). It cost $28 dollars more per night. How can only $28 separate the cost of our first unit and this one? That is absurd. But we had a wonderful rest of our stay in the new place.

Advice:
1) Ask for an updated unit.
2) Look at multiple units and pick the best one.
3) Ask for a top floor room - better views and better breezes.
4) Don't pay for "ocean views" -- few seemed to really be ocean views, these buildings are not very tall.
5) Stick up for yourself if you don't like it!

Best Wishes :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytraveler03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We, a family of 3, stayed here at the end of March and beginning of April. We booked this hotel as part of a vacation package and from doing prior research, we knew what to expect - no swimming pool, no air conditioning.

We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious unit we got (bldg 38). It was a bright one bedroom unit with a sofa bed that could sleep 2. The kitchen was well stocked with dinnerware, cutlery and even ice packs for day trips. Since we were there in March/April, it wasn't so hot that we were dying for air conditioning. Some days we didn't even have to turn on the ceiling fans. One of the burners on the stove was not working, but a call to the front desk and they sent someone right away to fix it. There was also free wifi available in our unit as well and a safe in the bedroom to lock away valuables.

Although our unit was a bit further from the beach, it was a short walk to the Poipu Shopping Village. The walk to the beach is fine as well. After having stayed in Maui at Christmas where we had to rent beach chairs, we were happy and delighted to find out that beach towels and beach chairs were complimentary for hotel guests. Once you reach the waterfront, there are beaches for surfers, and then as you walk east, you'll find more beaches/bays that are less rough waters as the coral and rocks protect against the strong waves (Poipu Beach Park).

The unit we had was clean and although we did see one cockroach, it wasn't a big deal for us. The management did their routine inspection and insecticide spray once during our stay so we know that they're doing their best to keep the resort bug free.

We ate at the Garden Plantation Restaurant once and the food was good. We spent an afternoon walking through the orchid and cactus gardens as well which was beautiful. The resort is quiet, and although we could sometimes hear the live music from the Poipu Shopping Village, it didn't bother us one bit.

Our unit was good for a small family and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nsyvenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
586 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We searched quite a bit to find a condo in Poipu and couldn't have been happier with the Plantation. We've stayed in the garden views, ocean views and ocean front and they all have great views and settings. The beach is beautiful, but not very deep. Make sure you bring ocean shoes as the water has several rocky areas. If you don't like the beach, there's a lot of grassy area where lots of people spread out. The only draw back is that they don't have a pool but if you are truly a beach person, it won't matter

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Samndjsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The grounds are absolutely amazing and everything you would expect from a beach vacation on Kauai. We made a direct booking with the owner since we wanted to make sure what we were getting and it turned out to be a perfect choice for us
None of the units are really beach front or view unless you went for the second story
we picked a ground floor for ease of access, unit was tastefully furnished and had everything we would need for a brief beach vacation. The place is very lush which is beautiful to look at and enjoy.
Noise can be an issue depending on your upstairs or near by neighbors
Also, we were not able to swim in that part of the ocean but lots of other great beaches to explore if you have a car

Room Tip: My best piece of advice is to book directly through an owner since you can actually see what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your visit!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My family spent 10 days in this place second year in the row (2013, 2014) and second time we would like to come back as soon as possible, It's affordable, beautiful and you could choose any activities you'd like around this wonderful place and island. Swimmable golden sand beach just fantastic and could not be better. And if you prefer homemade food instead of visiting restaurants, then full equipped kitchen and many many BBQ places available.

Room Tip: If you have 4 people in your party, then I'd recomend a little bit more expencive 2Bdr instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We hope that you come back again next year! Mahalo for your kind review.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing