We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a slice of heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

we have been going to Kiahuna for over 20 yrs. love the fact it never changes. gardens and flowers are spectacular and so well maintained. Hawaii is not cheap, esp. the food prices, so eating in a couple of nights turns out to be fun with locally caught fish grilled on the BBQ. The best place for a true R&R!

Room Tip: there are bad location of rooms. obviously the closer to the beach the more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    629
    201
    110
    51
See reviews for
571
811
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North western Pa.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for one week in Jan 2014.
The grounds are gorgeous. I am an early riser and did not mind the roosters crowing early in the morning............I found it charming. Some people may not.
We stayed in bldg 22 unit 147. We had a slight view of the ocean. Nice little walk to the beach.
The unit was clean, but needs some updating. The fan in the bathroom was loud enough to wake the neighbors.......and the kitchen was just cheap. (1980's cheap)
We ate in the Plantation Garden restaurant one night....we found it over priced.
We loved the little town of Kola....ate at TomKats more than once and at the Pizzette place.
Great pizza. But stay away from the pork and cabbage unless you LOVE the smoked taste. Too much for me.
Kauai is beautiful.....but can be boring....sorry! The weather wasn't the greatest when we were there....and there is not alot to do if the weather isn't cooperating. That being said, I am glad that we went. We have now been at the 5 main islands of Hawaii.
My favorite is "The big Island."
Aloha,.

Room Tip: No maid service here unless you ask and pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100N144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

My family and I are looking to book a room at this hotel however there was only garden view rooms left. If you have ever stayed in a garden room, could you let me know if you can see the ocean or not at all? Also, could you name some good restaurant nearby that we could walk to easily?
Thanks!

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraLbensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in unit 329, building 39. Although it's the closest building to the road, after the first night,we got used to the traffic noise in the early morning. The kiahuna plantation is a beautiful resort with gorgeous gardens and the best beach on Kauai. The units are older but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The lanais are huge, the barbecues appreciated and the large open lawn at the beach side is truly wonderful. I would have given the kiahuna plantation 5 stars had we had access to the pool across the road. TIP: as in other reviews, if having a pool is important to you, be sure before you book, that you have pool access. Outrigger guests currently are not allowed to use the pool. We didn't know this when we booked, but fortunately we were informed a few months before we arrived that the pool was closed to us, so we weren't shocked when we got here. Although it wasn't a deal breaker for us, it could be very disappointing to many. I would highly recommend the kiahuna plantation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in mid-January. We stayed in Unit 327, Building 39. The grounds were beautiful. Our room (a less expensive "view" vs. "garden" or "ocean") had a great view off the balcony. Every morning birds would come to greet us as we drank our coffee. It was awesome. The hotel does NOT have a pool and it DOES NOT have access to a pool. When we initially booked, the website (Expedia) said it had pool access. It does not. The hotel did not seem to care that we were disappointed (they had EXTREMELY bad attitudes about it). Expedia didn't seem to care either. That was disappointing, but I wasn't going to let it ruin our vacation. The beach itself was beautiful. The grass lawn area is also nice for when you don't want to get full of sand. Our room was "so-so." It was not fancy or luxurious at all. The TV was an old tube TV - not the best picture quality at all. There was no TV in the bedroom - only in the living room. They only changed our towels twice (and the second time the hotel housekeeping staff took one of my towels that I had brought with from home and I never got it back). They cleaned our room once and changed our sheets once. Again: not a luxurious place at all. But it was a good "home base" for us, and we made our breakfast each morning so we saved money on that. I don't know if I would stay here again or not. I didn't hate it. Didn't love it. Just very "meh."

Room Tip: Our room (building 39) was "loud" at night. Lots of roosters & road noise. I slept thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of four adults stayed here for four days in mid-January. The accommodations were great. We were in unit 58 in building 11. This unit was near the laundry room and about a five minute walk to the beach. It had everything you would need to keep you comfortable on vacation. Some of the furniture was a bit worn, but overall it was comfortable and homey. It is a very quiet and peaceful area and the birds wake you up when the sun rises in the morning. For our first visit to Kauai, I thought this was a good location on the island to get to Waimea Canyon one day and then a road trip to Hanalei Bay another day. The sand on the beach is so soft!! You can borrow chairs from the resort to sit on the beach and our unit had a beach umbrella in the closet for use. The bathroom sink area is separate from the toilet and shower which is helpful when getting ready. There is no AC but we did not need it on this trip. There are ceiling fans and several room fans if you need it. The staff at the resort were pleasant and helpful. I would come back here if I found a good price the next time I return to Kauai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovywilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We returned to Kiahuna Plantation after 23 years! Still the same excellence - then and now. We had to cut short our stay ;-( but the staff were so courteous and understanding. We will be back soon. Great that there is a Starbucks across the street. Nice and quiet vacation.

Room Tip: Stayed in a garden room - great value for dollars spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
How could you stay away from us for 23 years! :)

Seriously, that is so nice to hear that we met your expectations after your long absence.

Please do come back again - much sooner!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing