We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for one week in Jan 2014.
The grounds are gorgeous. I am an early riser and did not mind the roosters crowing early in the morning............I found it charming. Some people may not.
We stayed in bldg 22 unit 147. We had a slight view of the ocean. Nice little walk to the beach.
The unit was clean, but needs some updating. The fan in the bathroom was loud enough to wake the neighbors.......and the kitchen was just cheap. (1980's cheap)
We ate in the Plantation Garden restaurant one night....we found it over priced.
We loved the little town of Kola....ate at TomKats more than once and at the Pizzette place.
Great pizza. But stay away from the pork and cabbage unless you LOVE the smoked taste. Too much for me.
Kauai is beautiful.....but can be boring....sorry! The weather wasn't the greatest when we were there....and there is not alot to do if the weather isn't cooperating. That being said, I am glad that we went. We have now been at the 5 main islands of Hawaii.
My favorite is "The big Island."
Aloha,.

Room Tip: No maid service here unless you ask and pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100N144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

My family and I are looking to book a room at this hotel however there was only garden view rooms left. If you have ever stayed in a garden room, could you let me know if you can see the ocean or not at all? Also, could you name some good restaurant nearby that we could walk to easily?
Thanks!

Stayed: March 2013
3  Thank SaraLbensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in unit 329, building 39. Although it's the closest building to the road, after the first night,we got used to the traffic noise in the early morning. The kiahuna plantation is a beautiful resort with gorgeous gardens and the best beach on Kauai. The units are older but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The lanais are huge, the barbecues appreciated and the large open lawn at the beach side is truly wonderful. I would have given the kiahuna plantation 5 stars had we had access to the pool across the road. TIP: as in other reviews, if having a pool is important to you, be sure before you book, that you have pool access. Outrigger guests currently are not allowed to use the pool. We didn't know this when we booked, but fortunately we were informed a few months before we arrived that the pool was closed to us, so we weren't shocked when we got here. Although it wasn't a deal breaker for us, it could be very disappointing to many. I would highly recommend the kiahuna plantation.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AlyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in mid-January. We stayed in Unit 327, Building 39. The grounds were beautiful. Our room (a less expensive "view" vs. "garden" or "ocean") had a great view off the balcony. Every morning birds would come to greet us as we drank our coffee. It was awesome. The hotel does NOT have a pool and it DOES NOT have access to a pool. When we initially booked, the website (Expedia) said it had pool access. It does not. The hotel did not seem to care that we were disappointed (they had EXTREMELY bad attitudes about it). Expedia didn't seem to care either. That was disappointing, but I wasn't going to let it ruin our vacation. The beach itself was beautiful. The grass lawn area is also nice for when you don't want to get full of sand. Our room was "so-so." It was not fancy or luxurious at all. The TV was an old tube TV - not the best picture quality at all. There was no TV in the bedroom - only in the living room. They only changed our towels twice (and the second time the hotel housekeeping staff took one of my towels that I had brought with from home and I never got it back). They cleaned our room once and changed our sheets once. Again: not a luxurious place at all. But it was a good "home base" for us, and we made our breakfast each morning so we saved money on that. I don't know if I would stay here again or not. I didn't hate it. Didn't love it. Just very "meh."

Room Tip: Our room (building 39) was "loud" at night. Lots of roosters & road noise. I slept thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of four adults stayed here for four days in mid-January. The accommodations were great. We were in unit 58 in building 11. This unit was near the laundry room and about a five minute walk to the beach. It had everything you would need to keep you comfortable on vacation. Some of the furniture was a bit worn, but overall it was comfortable and homey. It is a very quiet and peaceful area and the birds wake you up when the sun rises in the morning. For our first visit to Kauai, I thought this was a good location on the island to get to Waimea Canyon one day and then a road trip to Hanalei Bay another day. The sand on the beach is so soft!! You can borrow chairs from the resort to sit on the beach and our unit had a beach umbrella in the closet for use. The bathroom sink area is separate from the toilet and shower which is helpful when getting ready. There is no AC but we did not need it on this trip. There are ceiling fans and several room fans if you need it. The staff at the resort were pleasant and helpful. I would come back here if I found a good price the next time I return to Kauai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groovywilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We returned to Kiahuna Plantation after 23 years! Still the same excellence - then and now. We had to cut short our stay ;-( but the staff were so courteous and understanding. We will be back soon. Great that there is a Starbucks across the street. Nice and quiet vacation.

Room Tip: Stayed in a garden room - great value for dollars spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

How could you stay away from us for 23 years! :)

Seriously, that is so nice to hear that we met your expectations after your long absence.

Please do come back again - much sooner!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are a family of four with one 5 year-old, and rented a 2-br 2-bth oceanview duplex for seven nights. Total cost was about $2400. Comments about that particular unit may or may not apply to the others.
The resort's location is hard to beat. It's right on a 200-yard crescent beach and it's very nicely landscaped. There's an "activity desk" which dispenses beach towels and beach chairs, along with some beach toys, a nice touch. Poipu in the winter has very little surf, but in the summertime the ocean can get a little rough for a few people, although the larger waves are a delight to the boogie-board crowd.
There is a pool, but it's not the resort's pool even though it is made available to its guests, it's not inside of the resort, and one has to cross a busy street in order to access it. The arrangement was a blessing because we wanted our grandson to experience the joys of playing in the ocean waves instead of chlorinated water. We're in Hawaii, right?
The resort is bizarrely divided between two companies, so you first have to figure out where to check-in. There is one restaurant right on the premises (Plantation Gardens), as well as two more (Keoki's Paradise and Roy's) within walking distance, which is quite convenient. Each will be reviewed separately.
Our duplex was large and airy. There was no A/C available, which to us was another blessing because we'd rather be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves than by the A/C racket, and besides, it is not needed with the balmy temperatures...
When we stayed at the resort for the first time back in 1980 or so, the buildings were still new. But they were built on the cheap, and the sound insulation is terrible. Our unit had two bedrooms/bathrooms on the ground floor, and a large living room/kitchen/lanai on top. A mouse could not have walked across the top floor without being heard below. So no alarm clock was needed for us, because our grandson made sure - unwittingly - to wake us by climing the stairs and walking/running around. We could also clearly hear conversations our neighbors were having. Good thing they were not newlyweds, we'd have had a lot of explaining to do...
The unit was furnished with unremarkable but sturdy furniture and wall decors. The master bathroom had a nice his-and-hers vanities, but the shower door needed replacing. We were a little dismayed to find out that the toilets are the "old kind" which flushed about 4-5 gallons every time. And yet, there's a sticker on the bathroom mirror imploring guests to conserve water. Counting on an average of 20 flushes/day/unit, the resort could save up to 40,000 gallons of water A DAY by mandating that new high-efficiency toilets be installed.
The queen-size bed in the master bedroom was comfortable, and the ceiling fans quiet and efficient.
The other bedroom had two twin beds and a closet which contained a couple of boogie-boards - one of which was worthless.
There was a TV in the master bedroom, which we did not use, and a large-screen TV in the living room, with a DVR and a separate stereo system. Wi-Fi was fast and free, a plus.
The kitchen was well-appointed with appliances and cooking utensils. BUT, and we found it to be a big BUT, for the first time ever (and we rented condos in many places for many years...) the cupboard was bare. Bare as is the condo had just been built. Not even a shaker of salt or pepper, no spices, nothing left over from the previous occupants... It's a given that perishable things left over in the fridge gets tossed, but condiments, spices, stuff like that? After questioning the receptionist, it turned out that it is a management policy to leave absolutely nothing after a guest departs. That policy, ladies and gentlemen, we call mean and despicable. As well as charging one dollar for each local phone call.
Our plane was leaving much later on the day of check-out, so we asked if we could stay a little longer in the unit. That option was a available, but we would be charged about $187 for an extra 4 hours... Another mean-spirited policy in our opinion.
Bottom line: the resort's location is exceptional, and in spite of its shortcomings, the units are pleasant. When a few policy adjustments are made, we'll be able to enthustiastically recommend the Castle Kiahuna Plantation Resort. But until then, be prepared to get absolutely everything you need if you intend to cook in your unit.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank apiquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your mixed review of our resort. For the most part, I thought it was fair.

I would like to make two comments though:

1. Regarding leaving food / spices from a previous guest, are you really sure that you would want to use something that you don't know might have been tampered with? Or spoiled? We error on the side of caution, in the interests of our guests safety. To call this policy "mean and despicable" is kind of over the top, in my humble opinion.

2. Charging for a late check out - you were here at one of the busiest times of the year. If we gave you a free late checkout, we lose the opportunity to sell the room again for that night, therefore we ask for a fair price for this. If we are slow, and no one is scheduled to arrive in that unit that day, occasionally we will grant this for free, but normally only in the case of a long stay. Would you expect to bring your rental car back 4 hours late and not be charged for it?

I point these two issues out in order that other readers on this board know what to expect.

We do appreciate your business and hope that you will return here again soon. Feel free to contact me personally if I can be of assistance.

Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,446 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $160 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing