We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Nearby Hotels
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
$419
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$749
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$452
$399
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Island Inn Hotel(Lihue)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,837)
Filter reviews
1,837 results
Traveler rating
776
660
222
120
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
660
222
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hutcactus gardencastle resortsroyal garden viewno air conditioningroad noiseathletic clublouvered windowsbeautiful groundsbeach chairs and towelsthrough vrbopoipu roadbedroom condocloser to the beachlaundry facilitypartial ocean viewgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 1,837 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'll start by saying that this was our third stay at Kiahuna since 2006 and before this last stay it was easily our most favorite place to go when we plan a trip to the islands. All three times we got the one bedroom units that are beachfront which are great. There are still many positives about Kiahuna. The location is perfect! You're staying on a great section of beach and you can walk to many stores and restaurants. The weather on this side of the island is great and rain is not as common like the wetter north side of the island. The grounds at Kiahuna are beautiful and the parking is free, which is nice for a change. The units are cozy and full of fresh air since you can open vents in all of the walls to hear and smell the ocean. So what dropped this five star to a three? They don't have free daily cleaning anymore! You get fresh towels every 3 days and that is it. We stayed 10 days, in the same sheets and with the sand accumulating on the floors. By day 6 we had to wear flip flops around the house because our feet would get so dirty walking around. With the lack of cleaning we had to deal with roaches, large spiders and lizards. The lizards are fine and spiders are spiders so what are you going to do. But I had to kill 3 cockroaches!! When I checked out and asked about the lack of cleaning the lady was almost embarrassed in telling me the owners recently voted to eliminate the cleaning service to save money. I told her we love Kiahuna, but for the money it's not acceptable to live 10 days in a dirty condo. For three thousand plus dollars it costs for the condo we had for over a week, I shouldn't have to pay $55 every time I want my room cleaned. I hope this lack of cleaning is short lived because we love going to Kiahuna, but we will have to look at surrounding accommodations so we can enjoy a clean room during our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for a week in Unit 305, a very nicely decorated one-bedroom condo. It's located in a great spot on Kauai - right around the corner from Poipu beach, and the beach here is wide and has silky soft sand. The water has been a little rough for snorkeling or swimming right here, but that may be normal for this time of year. One disappointment has been that the beautiful pool that was supposed to be available was closed without notice by the athletic club management. While this is not Castle's fault, if a pool is important to you then be sure to contact Castle and see if the agreement with the athletic club has been reinstated.

The grounds are amazing. Unit 305 looks out over a cactus/succulent garden, and there is also an orchid garden with many varieties of orchids. These gardens have pathways, small ponds with koi, and benches for relaxing,

Unit 305 is a long walk to the beach, and there are some steep parts that get very slippery when they are wet, so if you have trouble walking, you will want to request a unit closer to the beach. This is a huge complex. It is an easy walk to some great restaurants and shopping.

I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the large lawn near the ocean would be a great choice! But the other rooms all have good things about the location. Very few have ocean views, but the gardens are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pryncesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to relax and take it easy. Nice room with great view. Nice Sandy Beach adjacent to an expansive beautifully manicured lawn. The landscaping is well maintained, beautiful trees, Had a giant perfectly ripe all yellow Hayden Mango drop by the walk on Saturday morning. It was delicious!!

Decent surf spot on the East side of the beach. Shopping and restaurants nearby at two conveniently located shopping centers. And Joe's on the Green had a pretty good breakfast!! The coffee was great and the hollandaise on the Eggs Benedict was top shelf. (I am a chef and know the difference!)

Nice place to get away and chill for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at Kiahuna was a very nice experience. The units are very comfortable and homey, and they have all of the amenities of home. We lucked out in that our condo had been recently renovated, so the furniture still had that retro 70s feel to it, but all of the appliances and surfaces were newish. Nice TV, WiFi, updated bathroom and kitchen, and spacious lanai all make for a very nice unit. And the prices are very decent for the size of your condo.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, and every inch of it is tropical paradise. There is so much tropical greenery everywhere, and the open areas are well-manicured grass and trees. It's a quick walk to a nice beach too.

I had to ding a star in my rating for a few minor reasons. First, their check-in system is outdated- Not sure why I am filling out all of my personal information on a paper card and on a form, when I've entered all of this information online. Secondly, their pool/tennis area is a third party venue tucked away across the street. That requires a 10 minute walk or an extra drive. But my main gripe has to do with are all the window slats for airflow throughout the condo. Since there's no A/C, the combination of the slats and ceiling fans does the job. The weird part is that the bedroom slats (which are floor to ceiling) are only a few feet from your bed and are right next to the public walkway outside. If you don't fully shut your slats, people walking by can easily see inside your room. Coming up the building stairs, there is a unit directly at the top of the stairs, and directly in our line of sight we saw our elderly neighbors in various states of undress because their slats were wide open. In a condo this relaxing, it is unfortunate you have to be mindful of your own privacy.

Even with these minor issues, we loved the place and would definitely stay here again. It really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not ritzy but not motel 6 either. Just enough space to not feel cramped. Kitchens were well equipped. Grounds were well maintained. Desk staff was knowledgeable, knew their job and the transitions were over in seconds. The property is centrally located to many things to do. We were all over the island daily doing activities and enjoyed coming home nightly to a quiet area. The condos are also equipped with roomy safes that are of concern to us and many others traveling. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has high ceilings.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyInHawaii08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews