We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis - wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This property is much more laid back than the surrounding resort style properties along the south coast such as the Marriott and the Sheraton. It sits right on the beach - can't get a better location. As its condo style, easy access to shops is helpful and there is small set of shops directly across the main road. We picked this property out after staying in the area 18 months ago and couldn't have been happier with our choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Kauai taken in 2012 and third to Hawaii (Maui and Oahu) and this is the best island, out of the three, in our opinion. The condo was perfect for us with a large one bedroom ground floor suite that was quiet, clean, and fully equipped with everything we needed. The service was excellent and it is nice that there is a front desk building with staff there at all times. There was ample parking right outside our unit, which made it very easy to come and go from our car rental. It is also easy to walk to nearby restaurants and shopping. The best thing about this property is that it is right on Poipu beach, which is easily accessed from any of the units. It is the nicest swimming beach on the island because it is the warmest and safest, however, the most scenic and least populated beaches are located on the North Shore of the island. We were happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Castle Kiahuna Plantation Resort is the place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, the view is stunning, and the beach in front is wonderful. The room is equipped with everything needed on the nights you may decide not to go out to the very close restaurants around the plantation. The tennis and golf courses are less than a drive away well how about within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is better than a home away from home, thanks to the Manager Mr. Thompson and his assistant Elaina. This resort is by far the most amazing and best place we have ever stayed in over our travels. If you want a very enjoyable vacation then this is the place to stay in Kauai. We rate the Castle Plantation a Plus, Plus. You may think nothing could be this good well just stay their and you will agree.

Room Tip: Love to hear the ocean and have a GREAT view then stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I booked 14 days at the Kiahuna Plantation. Booking was very smooth and I did so by calling their 1800 number. We extensively researched before booking. Our criteria were to stay in the South due to less rain fall and proximity to the Airport and other towns/amenities. There is plenty to do in the North so we find ourselves in the vehicle more than I thought we would. Traffic moves very slowly on the Island so patience is a must ie. posted limits are 50mph and folks would do 30.

Our flight arrived fairly late so we had a bit of a tricky time finding the property because it was very dark and we had no idea where we were going.... We did not opt for the GPS rental because it was $13/day and it's such a small Island that after 3 days we know the roads well.

Check in was a smooth and efficient process. To save a bit of $ we had booked a garden view room on the 2nd floor. Our first impression was good and then we noticed there was no a/c. There are plenty of windows and fans to maintain a cool breeze. The room was clean and updated.

The King bed was very comfortable and I had a wonderful sleep. Because there are no glass windows there is a fair bit of sound. My wife had a hard time getting to sleep but I use ear plugs so it never bothers me. We note it rained at night and was sunny during the day. The rain offers tropical ambiance and really cools the air down for a better sleep.

The property is very well maintained. I have to say our beach was the best for many resorts we visited.

This place is perfect for families and I think if we ever had children we would definitely book here again.

Laundry services are not in-suite... $2.50 for a wash (30 min.) and another $2.50 to dry (1hr). Facilities were clean and I never had to queue for a machine.

Great value and I would recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: 2nd storey ensures you don't hear anyone above yet... Ground level would be perfect for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lagin_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sixteen family members gathered at Kiahuna Plantation (Outrigger) to celebrate a variety of occasions. It's a great location from which to explore the island. It is also right at the beach, so you are just steps away from the ocean. The staff are very friendly and the accommodations are spacious with full kitchens, up to date bathrooms, TV, wifi,etc.
The beach is fantastic with lots of space to spread out. You can take surf lessons and then try your hand at it... or just watch others try. It is also a calm spot for snorkeling.
The location is good too; it is easy to get to other places on the island. It is near the Koloa fish market and the quaint little town of Koloa, as well as Poipu shopping center.
A great place to kick back for a week.. or longer....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family of four stayed in an ocean view, one bedroom upstairs unit. The view, easy access to the beach (across the lawn) was wonderful. The staff are excellent -- super friendly and helpful. Special kudos to the fellow who runs the towel and snorkel, boogie board, etc. concession by the beach. This guys loves to help the guests, and does so with knowledge and a great attitude. Ask him for snorkeling and other trip recommendations. The units are condos and can vary in terms of their maintenance. Ours was fine. The screens were a bit beat up, thus letting in flying creatures (a couple of huge wasps...), but no big deal. The construction is middle line so noise comes through the walls. But there's no air conditioning (typical in this area and fine with us...) so the windows are almost always open. Breezes at night are wonderful. Make you feel like you are really enjoying the island experience.

Right across the street are several nice restaurants and a Whalers convenience store. When tired in the evening, getting out for dinner or a quick shop is super easy.

When we return to Kauai, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view -- worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my first time at the Kiahuna Plantation. Overall impression was positive: our 1BR condo was very spacious and well appointed. So nice to have all this space with the high ceilings and really tasteful "island themed" furnishings. Kitchen was fully equipped with big refrigerator with ice maker and a dish washer. I particularly loved the huge balcony with plenty of space for lounge chairs and big table with four chairs. Great for bird watching. Our ocean view room did have a nice ocean view, but the building was set back pretty far within the complex, so the view was at quite a distance. You might check the location of your building on a map when you check in.
The biggest plus for me was the beach and the great swimming on this part of the beach. Really great water and easy safe swimming beach.

The few minor complaints would be: lack of air conditioning (no problem in the morning or at night, but it can get a bit uncomfortable during the day), too many kids ( this hotel is definitely "family friendly"), and that the staff did not seem very friendly. Most people I encountered working for the hotel seemed rather "corporate friendly" and sort of stressed out. I had just come frome another hotel in Kapaa, where the hotel staff seemed so much more friendly and genuinely pleasant. Just a little detail, but it sort of sets the tone for your Hawaii vacation.

Had dinner at Plantation Gardens on the hotel grounds: beautiful setting, the gardens are truly magnificent. The food was rather mediocre and overpriced. Cocktails pretty tasteless and unexciting. However, the ambiance might be worth the visit. Service was excellent.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $168 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing