We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Nearby Hotels
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$429
$409
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$749
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$452
$399
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Island Inn Hotel(Lihue)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveler rating
776
661
222
120
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
661
222
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hutcactus gardencastle resortsroyal garden viewno air conditioningroad noiseathletic clublouvered windowsbeautiful groundsbeach chairs and towelsthrough vrbopoipu roadbedroom condocloser to the beachlaundry facilitypartial ocean viewgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My sister and I have stayed at this resort every year for the past 6 years and will return in February 2014. We love the accommodations and proximity to the water, snorkeling, surf lessons, shopping and restaurants. This year was especially wonderful because we brought along 16 of our family and friends to share the experience, and booked condos all over the property for a week! From the reservationists to security, the staff is friendly and helpful. My only negative experience at the Kiahuna Plantation was dealing with the General Manager, Roy Thompson. He is stiff, unfriendly, judgmental and does not return emails after clearly misunderstanding a request for information. But don't let that sway your decision to stay at this amazing resort!

Room Tip: Garden condos are just as nice as the ocean view or ocean front and are much less expensive. If you care to splash out I recomment building 2 or building 30!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beautiful property with a nice swimmable beach. Convienent shopping area right across the street. Our condo (#205 bldg 33) was all nicely furnished with new appliances. Downside is the unit is right next to the spot where people have weddings almost everyday. Not too bad though, they were always done by 10pm. This beach is shared with the Sheraton Resort which has a really nice luau a couple times a week. Insiders tip: If you can't afford the $100.00 per person cost to watch the luau up front, you get a free view from the beach. :)

Room Tip: Bldg #33 pretty noise up until 10pm.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been going here for 30 years with my family and it never gets old. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The grounds are the best feature. It is spread out with gardens and ponds. My wife still loves to catch the toads (catch and release)...amazes my kids! We love the feel of the place. It is very relaxing. The beach is a bit narrow but you have the option of staying on the lawns and looking out over the waves. There is plenty of good snorkeling. The beach shack is very convenient and the staff is helpful. There are restaurants and shops within walking distance. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have always loved the look of Kiahuna Plantation - the grounds are gorgeous, very 'old Hawaii.' Our one-bedroom condo (#249 Outrigger) was excellent - a bit of a sea view, beautifully decorated, everything we needed, including some beach chairs. However, the support services were not great: check-in was difficult because there was virtually no signage to indicate where the office (which was cut off by road-work, you had to find a parking space and walk) was located. Not a particularly 'aloha' welcome; no help to find the unit or lug the suitcases up the two flights of stairs (we would have gladly tipped). The maid service was fine, although it did not conform to the 'schedule' we were give. The maids were helpful and efficient. Bart at the beach shack (and others there) were friendly and helpful, although we weren't booking tours.
When we asked for a late checkout (we had an 8:40 pm flight), we couldn't even get an answer until the day before our departure, then the answer was 'no' - but we could use the 'hospitality' room. Not being particularly interested in moving our luggage twice, plus showering with strangers (usually these rooms are for everyone who is leaving late), we demurred. Our in-condo information listed a twelve noon checkout; the office insisted it was 11:00 a.m., even though we had other information. They were not friendly or distressed about our inconvenience. Finally, on the morning or our departure, someone allowed us to remain the 'extra' hour as listed in our condo information.
The surf was VERY rough on the beach in front of the resort, and there is no lifeguard. Lots of children were playing, swimming, learning to surf, and I'm not sure how much familial supervision there was. As of our trip, fourteen people have drowned this year on Kaua'i. I would advise everyone to be very careful when swimming. There is a drop-off close to shore, and entering and exiting the water is exciting.
Would I stay there again? Probably not. For the cost, I think one can find a smaller, friendlier place with similar amenities, although you may have to search. I'll do the legwork.

Room Tip: We were near the road and got road noise. You could look at the plan of the resort to find a room with less noise. I'd recommend an upper story for trade winds and views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lanisteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was here for a multi-family reunion of sorts, and it could not have been more perfect. Each family had their own condo, so it gave us the space, but then when we all wanted to be together (which was most of the time), we could convene right on the beach, or out on the lawn. The oceanfront facing condos are spectacular - the sound of the ocean is incredible, and the views are amazing. It seemed as if each condo was a little different - some had more updates than others, but they were all nice and comfortable and provided us with really everything we needed for the week. We were a little worried about it being hot, as our condo didn't have any AC. However, there are so many windows, that the breeze was actually totally sufficient, and we never even thought twice about the heat.

The setting is perfect - with the beach right out front, and then the large lawn area that sits right above the beach, great for when you want to be done with the sand, but still be out and enjoying the views. We spent almost every night on the lawn, barbecuing, drinking, listening to music - and then all the kids would just run around, and when it was time for them to go to bed, the adults could still stay outside and hang out.

It would be great if there was some sort of snack bar, but we actually just ended up walking a minute down the beach to the Marriott, where they served food and drinks. The only downside is really the pool area - it is pretty far away, you have to walk through the entire plantation, across a road, and then you arrive at this facility that almost looks like it has been abandoned. The pool is not bad, it looks like it has been redone, but it is just in a sort of depressing area. Why go there when you can spend your days at the beach? It would be great if they put a pool in somewhere in the giant front lawn area. All in all, wonderful place to stay, and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The oceanfront condos were amazing - we were in an upper level with was perfect because we just left our slider open the entire week, and didn't have to worry about anyone walking in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

Please do come back soon, and feel free to contact me if I can be of assistance.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews