We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Nearby Hotels
$699
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$429
$409
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$749
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$452
$399
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Island Inn Hotel(Lihue)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveler rating
776
661
222
120
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
661
222
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach hutcactus gardencastle resortsroyal garden viewno air conditioningroad noiseathletic clublouvered windowsbeautiful groundsbeach chairs and towelsthrough vrbopoipu roadbedroom condocloser to the beachlaundry facilitypartial ocean viewgreat beach
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It had been 12 years since our last visit to Kiahuna....The place is just awesome. Great beach, fun waves, good food nearby, the ability to cook (which is essential for a family trip in Hawaii), it's got everything you need. Definitely be back, hopefully sooner than the last time...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Don't you dare stay away for another 12 years! How about next year?

Seriously, feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance. I am so pleased that we lived up to your expectations from your last visit.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed in room 415 Bldg 40. Kitchenette was nice. We pretty much cooked all our meals there. Stopped at Costco and grabbed all the supplies. Room was decent. Bathroom was fine for showering which you'll need after being out all day hiking or swimming in the ocean. Watch our for the geckos and big roaches in the bathroom (Yuck!!!). Had a nice little living room and lanai with a nice view of the Hotel in front of us and the beach off in the distance. There is a small shopping center about a mile from the complex and a small town about a 15 minute drive north of the complex (you'll pass it on the way from the airport}. This room was literally at the end of the complex some distance from the front office. Unless you're going to be going to the front desk a lot don't worry about it. Was a bit of a walk to the beach from our bldg. Pool was across the street (5 minute walk perhaps) but we didn't use it. Why go to the pool when you have the Pacific Ocean to swim in. The Resort was a perfect base for all the activities. North Shore was about an hour drive. Waimea Canyon about 30 minute drive. Lots of great hiking trails.

Room Tip: Go to Uncle's and try the shave snow. It is delicious. DVDs were not free. Cost was $3. The room had a small library which contained a book on hiking trails. Use it!!! Also, stay longer than 6 nights/7days. You need at least 14 days. Get a Garden Deluxe View or an Ocean View room. I would stay here again.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in July 2013. Each unit is a individually owned condo units. The unit I stayed in had older, not very comfortable furniture. There was no air conditioning and the resort had no pool. The resort had a very small older lobby. There was not much Hawaiian ambiance at the resort. Since the units had no A.C. all the units had all the windows open. Each building has eight units in it. The buildings are close together; the result is; its very noisy. The time I stayed there the resort was completely full with young families and very loud children.

On the positive side. Its very reasonably priced condo units. Its a great location right on Poipu beach. Its a good base to explore Kauai. A good value but not luxury.

Room Tip: Pick a quiet secluded location, or it will be noisy
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike95762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 1br unit with our 16 year old daughter. The room was large. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there aren't elevators or bellmen so we had to drag everything up to the 3rd floor. There were louvered windows which let in a nice breeze to cool us off. There's no air conditioning. In my opinion, the bed was very hard. I had a hard time sleeping. My daughter's sleeper sofa was actually more comfortable for me than the bed. Our room was at the far edge of the property near the road. We were as far away from the beach as you could be. It was quite a walk down to the beach. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, so it was a pretty, if long, walk. I'm sure it would be better if you were closer to the beach. There's no pool at Kiahuna. If you want to use a pool, you have to drive up across the road to the pool & tennis club. That wasn't real convenient. We like to go back and forth from the beach to the pool and we couldn't do it there. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you like having a beach and pool right onsite. I will stay elsewhere in the future, if I return to Poipu.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road, in the center of the property, closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beadqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews about the room & potential noise from roosters, but had no issues at all. We had an ocean view on the first floor in Bldg 14 - Unit 75. There are attendants with golf carts driving around the parking lots & we were able to have all our luggage driven to our room for a small tip - well worth it since it is a couple minute walk to oceanview rooms from the parking lot. It was a beautiful room and looked like it had recently been upgraded. We had a short 1-2 minute walk to the beach with a good view of the ocean from the room. The rooms & lanais were laid out well to maximize privacy. The landscaping was also beautiful and it looked like the lawn was a golf green. There is no air conditioning and it was very hot during our time in Kauai, but we were completely comfortable in the rooms with the ceiling fans & open windows. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: With an oceanview room we never heard a rooster in the morning even with all windows open.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CACWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews