We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was very accommodating as soon as we arrived here. Quite homie coz they are condo type where u can cook your own meals and not worry about where to dine out everyday. Their garden was definitely a plus! Except you'd have to have protection for the bugs and mosquitoes :) There's a shopping area right across the resort, walking distance where u can find Puka Dog (known for their delish tropical relish hehe). Family friend's wedding was held in their restaurant and indeed it was a beautiful hawaiian wedding ceremony! Will want to come back here no doubt, worth every penny spent on this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    629
    201
    110
    51
See reviews for
571
810
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights. We enjoyed the location, right in the heart of Poipu, on a beach, and a 2-minute drive (or longish walk) to the famous Poipu beach. There is a beach on the grounds, but it is narrow and water not very calm there. Huge lawn area and free chairs (not lounge chairs, but short, squat chairs) to sit on from beach shack. Nice place to read and relax, can bring snacks/drinks, which a lot of people did. The condo itself was unexpectedly spacious, separate bedroom with big, slightly soft bed. Bathroom had good shower, separate vanity area. Big living/dining area with older rattan-type furniture. Nice big lanai overlooking garden in our case. And full kitchen, so we bought snacks and drinks for our stay. Maid service once every 4 days or so, which we liked. Can request towels if needed before that. Our unit was on 3rd floor and back by main road, farthest from beach. Can walk to Poipu shopping mall with Starbucks, etc. Short drive to Joe's on the Green, a beautiful place to breakfast - try the early bird special! Short drive to Kukui' ula mall, a newer place with nice shops and restaurants. Try happy hour at Tortilla Republic, one of the better bargains on the island. Wish the pool was in front of the ocean, but that's a minor quibble as we were usually on the go. Pool/tennis was about a 5-minute walk from unit. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Room was a bit older and could use some updating. Just felt a bit dated. However the lanai area was very nice with a decent garden view and was private. We found our particular unit, which was on the bottom floor to be a bit loud, both from outside noise (cars/pedestrians) and from the other guests in the units above us. I did like the grounds which were very spacious and well maintained. Beach in front of grounds was a bit narrow. Hotel was sandwiched between the Marriott and the Sheraton. No pool on property, you had to cross the main road for pool access, so we didn't bother. We got a kamaaina rate so didn't complain, but I would not stay here if I had to pay more then we paid.

Room Tip: Pick and room in the interior of the property or nearer the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Kiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha Finn1033,

Mahalo for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you had to contend with noise while you were here. The property is known for a more tranquil environment. Perhaps an upper floor would work better for you. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with great service, great accommodations, and most of all, great Aloha Spirit!


Thank you for staying with us. We know you have a choice. We appreciate your business.

A hui hou!
CGampon, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My Dad and I returned to Kauai to visit friends and enjoy the island we lived on for a number of years. We chose a condominium for the convenience and comfort. We were in a ground floor unit (#323) with a garden view, which included a framed view of the ocean and the sound of the ocean. The birdsong in the mornings was wonderful! The one bedroom condo was very comfortable, including the hide-a-bed on which I slept. I would return to the property again. The unit is owned by the daughter of a composer of Hawaiian music. One of our dear friends who is a musician knows of him well and was excited by the real life connection to the islands.

I was able to scuba dive with a nearby dive shop I have used for years. All conveniently within about 10 minutes from the condo.

The grounds are extremely well maintained and the staff is very attentive to any needs or issues. Plantation Gardens restaurant and bar is a great on-site place for a drink and meal on the lanai. This is Kaua'i style living: relaxed, easy going and friendly.

I would definitely recommend Kiahuna Plantation to friends and would return myself.

Room Tip: Building 3 rooms are at the top of the resort and overlook the gardens and have the framed ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katheryn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom condo. Ours was a ways away from the beach end, closer to the road, but we were on the top floor so could see the ocean. the beach is rough right at the condos and perfect for learning to surf or boogie boarding, of which we did both. There is a surf school that sets up every day right at that beach. Also there are chairs and some umbrellas, but the weather is so beautiful I never used one. Cool at night, there was no ac in the room but with the fan we found it to be very pleasant. The prices range widely, as the beach front rooms are the nicest, with a hefty price tag..about 4 times as much as the rest of the rooms. The beach house right on the beach being the best one. Proximity to shops is close and the Hyatt resort ($$$$) is right down the road with a world class spa. We went to a luau at the Hyatt. There are 2 shopping malls nearby (both outdoor as is everything in Hawaii) as well as a pool and clubhouse across the street. The pool is beautiful and clean, with a waterslide that my son loved. Boogie boards and surf boards are for rent across the street from the Kiahuna. You need a car, nothing is close enough to walk to, and the road is busy. Koloa town is around 5 min away and it has a world class pizza place as well as a wonderful little coffee/ice cream shop. There is a grocery store here the locals shop at, the closest grocery store. Kauai is my favorite island and this condo has the best beach and location. around the corner from this beach a 2 min walk up the sand is Poipu beach that is clear, calm and great for little ones to swim. It is always crowded, but there are picnic tables and restrooms as well as parking if you are inclined to drive over. We liked the rough since we are active at the beach.

Room Tip: Pick the beach front if you can afford it, otherwise it is a hike from the rooms or you have to driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirenssong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Kiahuna, Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha Sirenssong4,

Thank you for posting your review.

Kiahuna is a large property. We have a lot to offer and a range of rates to suite everyone. Your idea of choosing the unit closest to the beach is fantastic. Prices for those units are a bit more, but specials are available at various locations on the web (including ours).

It's nice that you mention the surf lessons. So many people take a lesson while they're here. I enjoy going down to the beach and watching the first time surfers. Some fall immediately; some stand on the first try; everyone looks like they are having a blast!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We know you have a choice. We appreciate your business.

E malama pono,
CGampon, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCADIA, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Kauai in staying at Kiahuna Unit #14. We have stayed in this unit previously. It is a beautiful location and all was special as usual. The location is perfect and within 50 yards of the beach with a magnificent ocean view. The unit was remodeled about 4 years ago and the improvements were very nice. I would definitely recommend Kiahuna as it beautiful and quiet in our unit. The units in the rear can be affected by traffic noise. The BBQ location is just a few steps away from the unit so cooking there is easy. Overall a very special place.

Room Tip: If you can find the unit owners on line you can save by renting direct from them. Request rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRJIMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Mahalo for your return visit! Unit #14 is indeed very nice, as is the location.

Castle offers many specials, and ALWAYS works with return guests, so it is not always true that renting direct from an owner secures the best rates. It is true though that direct renting allows for a specific unit being guaranteed.

Please do come back again soon!

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had a delightful time at this place. Beautiful garden environment, sea view . Shops close by at Poipu Village.We were at 84 in building 16. The kitchen was well equipped. There was a big TV with a DVD player. The cactus garden is something to see. Never seen such huge cactus. So many different species of hibiscus. Though hibiscus is the national flower of Malaysia the ones I saw here were unusually huge and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outrigger_Kiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha Jan K,

thank you for the great review rating!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the beauiful plants, flowers, and cactus on our lush grounds. A bit more information for you: Hawaii's state flower is the Hau. It is in the hibiscus family. The flower from the Hau starts out yellow in the morning and turns red by evening. The plant itself has many uses in the Hawaiian culture.

We hope to see you here again soon. We know you have a choice. We appreciate your business.

E malama pono,
CGampon, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing