We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" What a View "” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“" What a View "”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I loved our condo , opened right onto the beach.... it was clean , lovely property and great beach.
It was busy since we arrived during Spring Break , they seemed to have their stuff together. We had a one bedroom , kitchen & nice sitting area , but what really made this place was being on the main level , right at the beach. If you were staying somewhere else on the property it might not be so nice getting around because it is a big place.
Beach isn't big , though you have quite a few others that are within walking distance. No a/c , it just didn't make a difference since we were never really that warm with the ceiling fans and also the breeze from the beach.
Clean , great value , lovely property , great location , parking , the only downside is the pool is located across the street . We went for walks everyday , swam , went shopping and sat on our lanai which was maybe the best part of the deal.
We never really had to deal with staff and when we called for clean towels they arrived promptly and were nice. A lovely resort and I would send anyone here to Poipu to this location for a great vacation. Only downside , rain , but isn't that why they call it the Garden Island ? Its beautiful !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprusbeachgirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    624
    200
    110
    51
See reviews for
563
807
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We rented our condo through VRBO, and at times we were treated like pariahs as a result. The young lady at the reception desk was perhaps the rudest person we have ever encountered in a hotel setting (and we have traveled a great deal). The first day our room was scheduled to be cleaned no one came by. When we asked about it at the end do the day, the response was, "Oh, I guess we forgot." Another fellow at the reception desk looked at us and said, "They rented through the owner."
When I checked out, the reception response (same young lady, I believe) was no indication of "Thanks for staying here; I hope you enjoyed your stay.", or anything similar. Instead it was a cursive, "Make sure you leave your key in the room when you leave!."
The toilet in the guest bathroom was plugged when we arrived causing a major overflow the second time it was used. Additionally, maintenance spent about three days outside our condo during our second week cutting down two trees with a chain saw. While I realize these things needs to be done, perhaps a week other than Spring Break when the resort was full might have been a better choice to do this work. It made it hard for our 18 month old grandson to have a nap, I'll tell you that.
Quite frankly I felt sorry for the owners of this unit. It's a lovely condo in a busy but nice setting. We would have returned in future trips except for the treatment by the Outrigger firm.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DougC230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved the hotel, the grounds and the location. Best spot on the beach by far.

Two complaints:
- The restaurant on scene is dinner only. That being said, the hotel is bookended by two of the nicest hotels on Kauai and they have nice restaurants and beach side bars.
- The pool is across the street. They could use a pool on location.

Other than that, it was great. Beautiful location, awesome room, well taken care off. We didn't interact with staff much but the guy at the beach hut was always nice. Close to shopping too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetiktin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would stay longer next time. Access to many beaches. The room and decor updated.
Need to add small rice cooker.

Ocean views. Quiet. Everyone friendly.

Accommodating and assisted our early check in.

Great unit traveling with our 2 teenagers.

Botanical gardens a must see.

Jack Harter helicopter ride our first day. Breathtaking. Kipu ranch atv awesome.

Zipline, kayak tour amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently returned from a week long stay at Kiahuna Plantation in unit 403 (2 adults and 2 children, ages 10 and 13). Even though the resort is several years old, it is well maintained, clean and comfortable. We found the unit offered us everything we needed for a weeks stay. Don't let the lack of AC bother you. There is a constant breeze, ceiling fans and windows that open keeping the unit cool all day. We never felt hot and were even too cool at night a few times. When we first arrived we were a bit disappointed because we were put in a building right at the back of the property, near the road. However we found the location perfect in the end as it was much quieter at this part of the property than those towards the centre that had a lot of small children and families. The road is also only busy during the day when you aren't in your room so it never bothered us. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and rival those of some of the larger resorts on the island. The beach was really perfect for us. It's sandy with just enough waves for boogie boarding. We saw some people snorkelling farther out but it really isn't calm enough for this activity. However Poipu beach is just down the road (less than a 5 minute drive) and is good for snorkelling. The beach services hut is right at the beach and so convenient for towels, chairs, boogie boards,etc. We didn't try the restaurant on the property as the menu didn't really appeal to our kids. Instead we ate a few times in Koloa and Kikuliula Village - both a short drive away. Our favs were Pizzetta in Koloa for pasta and pizza and Tortilla Republic (make sure to try the tableside guacamole). Kauai Pasta in Kapaa is also a great restaurant. Overall would highly recommend this property and the location of Poipu in the southern part of Kauai. It's much quieter, less busy and relaxed than other parts of the island (probably due to the fact it's not on the main island highway).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank tvfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The four of us (adults) stayed at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation in unit 105 from March 14 - March 19. I can't say enough about the lovely condition of the condo and how comfortable we all felt there. Because the surf was high, we did little snorkeling but we did take advantage of the pool and jacuzzi. The location is perfect for dining in various restaurants and shopping in general. We would definitely return to this fine property.

Room Tip: We loved unit 105, 2 bedroom, 2 bath garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

While I was a little bummed they put us out in the back 40 by the road, our condo was very nice and met our needs for our wedding/honeymoon. The condo could have used a little updating but loved how close it was to the beach and how pleasant the staff was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiriusGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing