We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,897)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
799
681
228
124
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
681
228
124
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach hut cactus garden castle resorts royal garden view athletic club road noise no air conditioning louvered windows beautiful grounds poipu road bedroom condo closer to the beach laundry facility partial ocean view great beach full kitchen end unit
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

While the grounds are well kept, the interior of the room bordered on shabby. Stains on fabric, cabinets in need of refinishing, mold in bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but for the price, this didn't seem a good value.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in unit 441. The lanai was secluded, which I liked. Lovely unit, well stocked. I was concerned, because of no A/C, but it was very cool. It had heaters, which we did not use. We were close to the road, which made it easy to go to the market place, and the laundry room. Short walk to the beach. Will stay here, again.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancywaage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent part of our honeymoon here. Its a condo property, which provides a great home away from home. Desire, at the front desk was very pleasant and provided us with a propery map and highlighted everything important to us. She was extremely effficient. The property has beautiful lawns and bbq areas. The beach is very nice and perfect for watching the sun go down. I didnt see any turtles or seals here though. I was a bit disapointed about that but I did see them elsewhere. We saw a monk seal on Gillans beach and turtles basically everywhere else. Kauai is also full of wild chickens, so roosters will crow at all hours.

We stayed in room 104, which was a ground level unit. The unit was clean, had basic kitchen ware, and beach toys. (104 also has a washer dryer). We had cereal for breakfast and cooked dinner every night. There is a general store across the way and a Big Save just a short drive away but I suggest hitting the Walmart for supplies.

The negatives for this unit include a mystery stain on the sofa(not a big deal, we covered it with the extra blanket in the closet), no batteries in the remote, and the bedroom light had a life of its own (on and off whenever it pleased). The windows and doors also have wooden shutters which allow sound and mosquitoes in. We also paid for a garden view that specified cacti and flowering plants but 104 had a view of the lawn.

Overall we were pleased with our stay and would return. The experience will differ unit to unit.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingMing376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed a week with a partial ocean view. The gardens and lawn were beautiful! The staff was very helpful with things and we were close to laundry and BBQ pits. The walk to the beach was fairly close. Did not even want to go to the pool so the walk was not an issue. Nice pool though. Just a long walk. The room was not totally updated but was very nice.

We got a kick out of the sunset watchers on the lawn. A few clapped and most people got up immediately after it set and out their chairs away. It was not even dark! We usually went to bed by 10:00 as we were up at 4:45 prompt every morning when the sprinkler system to water the lawns would turn on loudly. This went on for a half hour. So just as you'd almost get back to sleep the roosters would start crowing and the birds would celebrate the new day. So we just stayed on St. Louis time.

One evening I asked a worker if they could please turn off the sprinklers for just one night. I was thrilled to wake up at 6:15! (when a loud bird ended up squawking on our lanai). But that was very nice of them to oblige. So though the open windows and breeze are wonderful there is not much privacy. You can hear the neighbors talk, do dishes, shower, people talking outside as they walked by. Ear plugs just did not work well and we just adjusted to our new schedule. We were on vacation and not having to go to work anyway. : )

We renewed our vows on Shipwrecks beach for our 20th anniversary by pastor Harold Kilborn from Koloa church. It was awesome! *hint. To get to the beach drive past the Hyatt and turn right at the golf club. There is a parking lot down the hill. We had trouble finding it the first time.

Highly recommend the helecopter tour. Used Blue Hawaiin. It was amazing.

Would stay there again. It was a great location! And great staff!

P.S. since these are individually owned there are no rooms to shower in if you have a late flight. Being a beach it would be nice if the pool had a couple of hot showers to use or even an outdoor hot shower set up somewhere on the grounds to use. We don't need to be perfect to fly home. Just clean.

Room tip: Partial ocean view in the middle of the grounds was very nice!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCnCC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Kiahuna was refurbished somewhere around 2007 and is very nice. It was very clean and relatively new appliances. We had a "view unit" which really had a view. Not spectacular but nice as you could see the surf and watch the sun go down. It is within walking distance of a number of restaurants from modrate to expensive. The service is excellent. When we arrived the screen door was messed up and I called the front desk. Within 10 minutes a maintenance man was there and fixed it. Some people might find the fact that the tennis courts and pool are across the highway a negative and I considered rating it 3 stars but felt that wasn't quite fair as everything else was so good. We were there for 2 weeks and really never had anything but a good time.

Room tip: Keep away from the unit close to the street as the traffic can be noisy. Note you usually sleep with the windows open.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abracadabra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews