We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristinely Manicured Grounds & Picturesque Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had an absolutely lovely stay in condo 145! Not only was the unit decorated nicely, but the owners had a fantastic library of Kauai books & island music for guests' entertainment. The Kiahuna Plantation property sits on a picturesque beach, which serves as a great place to both snorkel and sit and watch the sunset. We were actually lucky enough to see a monk seal, sea turtles, and whales breach (two different occasions!) during our eight day visit in Kauai.

The Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation is conveniently located across from the Poipu Shopping Village which houses numerous shops, restaurants and a market for gathering snacks & breakfast items. If you're not into cooking yourself, the property has two good restaurants on-site. We had a late dinner at the restaurant near the fish pond the night we arrived & had breakfast at the restaurant on the golf course. We had great experiences at both places.

We had an amazing first visit on the island of Kauai and when we return, we will definitely stay at the Kiahuna Plantation again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPNagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 1,782 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent four nights. We were in one of the back units. The walk to the beach is short. The walk to the pool is short. The beach is the best on the south or west of the island. We saw a turtle at poipu beach. Snorkeling was great at both beaches. The best snorkeling in the south was at the little beach on the way to the water spout. This area seemed a little more resort like than on the east side. We did not make it up to the north side so I can't compare to there. Each unit is privately owned so each one is different. Overall I would stay here again. Some people I met had been going for several years.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jw423sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in building 27 unit 242 which is garden view unit. The unit is good, but a bit too far from the beach. If can get a garden view unit closer to the beach, we would stay here next time. The bed is comfortable. The only issue we had was the screen door fell, and made big noise in the early morning. It took us a couple of minutes to fix it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

First I book my stay 2 months out . We arrive on the 26th of Jan 2013. Requested ocean view we arrive at around 10 pm. Told room not ready had water leak in room we will have to put you in another at back of complex.Well at this time of night not much choice. She said room ready in morning to check back at not to unpack. Next morning check in with registration office. Room not ready people have not checked out yet. WHAT? I was told water leak now a room i reserved 2 months ago has someone in it. So they could nothing for me until manager arrived at 1 pm so I said bye-bye. Oh by the way pool is across street not in complex,restaurant only open for dinner any other restaurants are driving distance not walking. Not a good location everything is outside of walking. what i could see of beach I have seen better at South Padre Island in Texas There is no fitness center on complex either.

Room Tip: choose a good room at another hotel the Sheraton is next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jefferyies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week in Unit 324 at the Kiahuna Plantation. The Outrigger staff took care of any issues we had. Wireless internet worked well. The condo was clean. My wife enjoyed visiting the local Farmers' Market on Monday. She was able to cook several meals during our stay. The 5 minute walk to the beach was always pleasant with so many beautiful flowers to see. The beach was very nice with enough "wave action" to be fun. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Koloa Fish Market has great plate lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room 150, Bldg 23. No WiFi! Called for service, Oceanic arrived and the tech noted same problem two weeks earlier. Said new cable had to be installed but owners were not responsive. And they weren't. Since I maintain websites, this was a MAJOR inconvenience (had to use a nearby Starbucks each day).

Except for toilet, all the plumbing needs updating. Faucets are loose. Tub would not drain.

Lest you think I'm just a complainer, I actually found the room clean and convenient. We enjoyed our stay and will return as we've done in the past. Kiahuna is a great location. The Plantation Restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: I'm not certain you can exclude any particular room or demand Wi-Fi. But I'll be doing both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in Bldg. 26 unit 170, to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. It was nice and had a partial ocean view. We walked 2 minutes to the beach. The unit was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable.

One problem I had was finding the cutting board, of all things. It was under the sink where I never looked for it! The other thing was the refrigerator is old and runs constantly.

Most of the "windows" in these units have no glass, just shutters with screens. We didn't know this. We could hear a man nearby snoring at night and also coughing and sneezing loudly. Other than that, it was quiet.

I would go back but would probably spring for a full ocean view.

Going in the winter is different because the weather is so variable. We didn't spend a lot of time at the beach. This is definitely a nice place to stay if you're in a unit close to the beach like we were. Overall, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the map of the place. Choose a place with an ocean view if possible. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,397 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $158 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing