We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance issues marred our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room 150, Bldg 23. No WiFi! Called for service, Oceanic arrived and the tech noted same problem two weeks earlier. Said new cable had to be installed but owners were not responsive. And they weren't. Since I maintain websites, this was a MAJOR inconvenience (had to use a nearby Starbucks each day).

Except for toilet, all the plumbing needs updating. Faucets are loose. Tub would not drain.

Lest you think I'm just a complainer, I actually found the room clean and convenient. We enjoyed our stay and will return as we've done in the past. Kiahuna is a great location. The Plantation Restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: I'm not certain you can exclude any particular room or demand Wi-Fi. But I'll be doing both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in Bldg. 26 unit 170, to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. It was nice and had a partial ocean view. We walked 2 minutes to the beach. The unit was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was comfortable.

One problem I had was finding the cutting board, of all things. It was under the sink where I never looked for it! The other thing was the refrigerator is old and runs constantly.

Most of the "windows" in these units have no glass, just shutters with screens. We didn't know this. We could hear a man nearby snoring at night and also coughing and sneezing loudly. Other than that, it was quiet.

I would go back but would probably spring for a full ocean view.

Going in the winter is different because the weather is so variable. We didn't spend a lot of time at the beach. This is definitely a nice place to stay if you're in a unit close to the beach like we were. Overall, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the map of the place. Choose a place with an ocean view if possible. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bldg 10 unit 80 was very disappointing as there were numerous issues with the unit ranging from the inability to close the screen doors leading to the patio to banging your knees on the tub when using the toilet.....Drive to the pool across the street or walk 10 minutes to the beach...If I had small children it would be a nightmare.....Perhaps my expectations were too high based on others description but this property overall was a complete and utter disappointment....Never again!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for an easy to use and readily accessible beach and pool area....RUN while you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LAP159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are very sorry that your recent stay was not perfect for you. As you booked directly with the homeowner of this unit (which gets great reviews normally), I shared your comments with them and invited them to respond to you. Below please find thier comments:

"We were very surprised to see this guest's review. I was sad that he was so unhappy with our unit 80. We have been renting our home away from home for the last 6 years and have never had a problem with a guest being unhappy. We have had numerous repeat guests as well as excellent reviews. Please see our December review on TA from a very happy recent guest. I am very surprised at this screen door comment as they are new. The bathroom was also just remodeled. His comment about the beach and pool does not make sense. We rent to a lot of families due to our location. I guess the truth of the matter is that you can't please everyone all the time but we will keep trying. Aloha, Alan and Denise Owners of Unit 80"


Mahalo,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room far exceeded our expectations! Huge 2 story with washer and dryer. Nicely decorated and very comfortable and lovely garden view. Short walk to beach, just an overall great place to stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden deluxe is great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth7026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you so much!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have been staying at the Outrigger in Koloa HI now for several days and have founded it to be a very pleasant place. Our condo is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our only disappoint has been the slow and spotty Internet service but since we are on the go most of the time is has not been a big inconvenience and to be fair we have not asked for help from the staff to see if it could be improved. We would recommend the Outrigger has an excellent value if you wish to be on the south shore.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

These are nice condos on a large well landscaped property . We enjoyed our unit that had a view of a grassy area. It was a short beautiful walk to beach . No roads to cross ,just a lovely lawn with flowering trees and shrubs. My husband and I had a 1 BR unit and some of our family had a 2 BR. Both were very nice. Many birds on property . We could see whales from shore.

Positives: beautiful surroundings
Kitchen convenient so we did not have to eat out All the time.
Large comfy room that was a comfortable place to spent the 1 day it poured all day.
Good beach, good location , close to good snorkeling beach, walking trails and restaurants .
WiFi worked fine for us.
Nice area on grass over looking ocean. Many people sat there in beach chairs
Has gas grills that are very popular
On site laundry facilities

Drawbacks : unappealing pool. We avoided it. It was across the street on another property and was surrounded by a rusty fence. If we had brought kids this would have been a disappointment .
Sound proofing in units not so great . We can hear people above us walk, shower, sneeze etc. we were lucky there was not a noisy family above us.

Room Tip: We were in unit 113 Bldg 18. It was lower level with nice view of grassy area and good ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stpauliewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for an island hopping vacation and our first stop was Kauai. Poipu was warm the entire time while drives to the north shore could get pretty rainy. When we arrived to our bottom floor garden view unit my boyfriend saw a sizable cockroach when he was getting a glass of water in the middle of the night and we asked to get moved the next morning. They relocated us to a partial ocean view on the top floor in building 18. The view was amazing and the room had all the amenities. The hotel has its own beach with fine sand and a beach hut. We got snorkel gear there and ended up swimming with a couple sea turtles. the Poipu area is nice and has a lot to see with minimal driving. Although to be honest driving in Kauai is good too. We never went to the pool, but if you wanted to its across the street. The beach wasn't too crowded at this time of year and fireworks for new years were visible from our balcony. Overall I appreciated that they were quick to fix a problem and that it was comfortable and had beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, very open and breezy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotherFeatherlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,377 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $165 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing