We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place for a family vacation at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kiahuna Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. The condos are perfect for a family of four with a nice, big King-size bed and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The condo we had in Building 17, was not the upgraded one and we were a bit far from the beach but at a very walkable distance - at night we could hear the ocean waves. The lawn in front of our garden view condo was lush - certainly a nice view. The property location is perfect- close to the beach, restaurants, Starbucks, the Poipu State Park beach (great for kids). The swimming pool is not part of the property but the Kiuhana Swim and Tennis club are just across the street. If you are in one of the buildings parallel to the street, the club is a quick walk. The beach hut gives complimentary towels and sand toys and you can rent snorkeling and other gear for a reasonable price. Wi-Fi quality is great. (a big plus for me) Negatives: condos were not fully equipped, some essentials were missing. Would be ideal to have a washer-dryer in the condo because of the many times you change clothes during the day. House cleaning was not as frequent as I would have liked it to be and no gym. But overall, a very positive experience and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Falguni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FalguniB,
Thank you for taking the time to review Outrigger Kiahuna . We are glad you had a positive experience. Unfortunately, our plantation condos are not equipped with washer/dryers. We do offer an on site laundry facilty. We look forward to your return.
Aloha,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    582
    180
    104
    47
See reviews for
510
757
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have been to Poipu four times and always stay at the Kiahuna Plantation because it is truly a paradise on Earth. The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained. We stayed in a top-floor 1-bedroom/1 bath condo with a partial ocean view that really was a FULL ocean view. The condo was spotless and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately, the stove and oven wasn't working; however, the maintenance crew came out IMMEDIATELY (within 5 minutes of our call) and fixed it, then returned the next day to ensure it was still working properly! The responsiveness of the Plantation's staff is amazing and much appreciated. Maid service has been cut to every several days (instead of daily service), but the maid actually came by more often than that to double-check to see if we wanted more assistance in that regard (we didn't need it). The pool and tennis courts are across the street but easily accessible. We don't play tennis, but we used the pool frequently. It is a beautiful area, surrounded by foliage, with a 1 1/2 foot deep section of the pool that looks like a sandy beach, for little children. The deepest area is just under 5' so it is comfortable to swim in, yet not frightening if you don't swim well. Try the water slide! I'm in my 60s and I couldn't stop going down it--it is SOOO much fun! We will ALWAYS stay at the Plantation when we visit because, in our opinion, it cannot be duplicated.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated 3rd floor partial ocean to full-ocean view condo! We've tried different ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CABeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear CATraveller,
Thanks for the awesome review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Outrigger Kiahuna. Hope to see you again soon.
E Malama Pono,
Chris A Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm so glad we decided not to stay at a big sterile hotel like the Sheraton. The Kiahuna has the most beautiful landscaping - full of tropical trees and flowers and ponds. Walking through the grounds added so much to our experience of a tropical paradise. And it's within easy walking distance of a nice beach and two shopping centers with restaurants, so we could amble around on foot instead of driving everywhere. The Plantation Garden restaurant on site is excellent and was never crowded. You can even walk to the incredibly beautiful Poipu Beach - it's not that far.

Our 1-bedroom condo at the Kiahuna was comfortable and pleasant inside, with a nice balcony with a view of their cactus garden and a mini-forest full of birds. We could hear the bird song during the day and frogs at night, thanks to the many screened louvers that let in the breeze and make air conditioning unnecessary. Decent TV with a DVD player if you want it, and they even rent DVDs in the main office. Use the kitchen to keep your beer and pineapple wine cold or heat up your leftovers. We never cook on vacation, but we love tropical fruit from the farmers market for breakfast on the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rattlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Rattlebrain,
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad you chose Outrigger Kiahuana. We hope you return again soon.
Warmest Aloha,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived at the Kiahuna Plantation we were given a room that left much to be desired. The room had numerous stains and was quite outdated. We went back to the office and asked about changing rooms. They spent a great deal of time trying to find something that worked. They came up with a solution that required us to stay in the old room for 2 days and then they moved us into a new room (they actually did all the moving too). The new room was excellent.

The grounds here are just truly amazing. They must have an army of people to keep them looking so great. We visited several of the upscale resorts and they have none of the atmosphere of the Kiahuna Plantation. You feel as though you are in the middle of a manicured tropical forest.

Everyone we interacted with from the staff was wonderfully helpful and very friendly and courteous. We could not have asked for a better 2 week stay for our 40th anniversary.

Room Tip: ask how recently a room has been updated or renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinner-wine-romance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear dinner-wine-romance,
Thank your for your detailed review. We appreciate that you gave us an opportunity to make sure you were completely satisfied with your unit. We will share your positive comments with our staff.
e Malama Pona,
Chris A. Gampon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we couldn't have picked a better place. The units are nice, recently upgraded countertops, appliances, and flooring. As a bonus, the owners keep sand toys, boogie boards and beach mats in the closet (flippers too!). Our beach is beautiful and uncrowded, and just a 10 minute walk away is Poipu beach, which is by far one of the best places to snorkel in Hawaii, especially of you have kids. You just float, the fish flock around since there are reefs and rocks all around (so be sure to bring water shoes to protect your feet). The staff was very friendly and we rented off VRBO so it was reasonably priced.

I only had two minor negatives. Their pool is too far away. They have so much lawn beachfront, I think they need a pool there, but their pool is across the street, you pretty much need to drive there. The other thing is, because of the airy, louvered windows and doors, you hear everything your neighbor is doing. I know they need this because of no air conditioning, which isn't needed, but was pretty annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisakenyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that our staff were friendly and responsive.

While we realize that resonable pricing can be found on VRBO, we also encourage potential guests to call is directly or check our website as we often have great deals available, and offer the advantage of many units to choose from.

Please do come back again soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great condo community with beautiful garden surroundings! We loves having all of the convenience of a condo along with the close proximity to the beach, shopping, and dining. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I always saw them working maintaining the grounds. It was very handy to have beach towels to borrow from the hut and although we didn't rent anything, they did have a number of beach items to rent. Poipu beach was great for snorkeling and seeing mink seals. The only downside to this property is that you have to cross the road to get to the pool and it looked a little run down. However even with our two year old we spent most of our time at the beach since Poipu has a great small, protected beach for little ones. Overall we would definitely go back and stay at the Kiahuna.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COfamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much! Please come back again very soon, and contact me if I can be of service.

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Kiahuna was a great resort. The accommodations were perfect for my family of three. The beach was both swimmable and surf able! We stayed in a ground floor unit with one bedroom and a pull out couch. It was clean and the kitchen had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in. The location was accessible to shops, beaches and attractions. We had a rental car and found it very easy to navigate the island and find fun things to see and do. The staff were very helpful and quick to respond to requests. Although we didn't have an ocean view, the view from our patio was very pleasant . We were a very short walk to the beach or to the shops.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Property: Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing