We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably our last post from Kaihuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is our second trip to Kiahuna Plantation. We were here for two weeks at Christmas. This place is OK. Just. The beach is small. The swimming pool is quite a walk, on the other side of the busiest street in Koloa/Poipu Beach and quite a walk from there. Avoid the buildings on Poipu Street; 17, 18, 37, etc. We stayed in 18 this time and the road noise is really annoying. If you are coming to Poipu, this is still a good deal (we paid $3028 total for 13 nights including all taxes and service fees) especially at Christmas time. We won't stay here again, though. We were in Placencia, Belize at Thanksgiving and the charm of Central America contrasts starkly with the crowds and commercialism of Kauai. We'll take the former.
Our same tip from years ago still applies. Book directly with owners. It's a much better deal.

Room Tip: Stay awa from rooms on the main road. Noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SenorVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

I’m sorry that your stay did not met your expectations. From your comments, you note renting directly through owners. While this is an option here at Kiahuna Plantation, I believe your vacation could have been more pleasurable if you booked through Outrigger Hotels & Resorts. We have a wide variety of discounted rates throughout the year. Most important for you, we have a number of options when it comes to room accommodations. I hope you will reconsider and return to Kauai and Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation.

Hau`oli Makahiki Hou!
We wish you and yours, a wonderful New Year!

Chris A. Gampon
General Manager | Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Resort |

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is our second time to stay at the Kiahuna Plantation. We came again for the following reasons
- Poipu is great location for families. Sunsets are great
- Outrigger has wonderful facilities
- great beach with chairs and towels
- great green lawn for kids to play on, and adults too
- condos are nice with kitchens, tv, and internet.
- service is perfect

A couple of tips
- make sure you know the difference between garden view, ocean view, and ocean front. The garden views may be cheaper, but the walk is longer to the beach. If you have ocean view or ocean front then you are on the big lawn, and 60 seconds from the beach. We prefer the ocean view on the ground floor. Ground floor is noisier but the easy exit to beach is worth it
- the front desk is open 24 hours a day. So if you arriving late, they will be there when you arrive.
- there are laundry facilities, but ask for a unit with a washer and dryer since there is no price difference
- you don't need to bring boogie boards or snorkeling gear since most units have it, or you can rent it.
- Plan to grill out a few evenings since the fresh fish is cheap and very good. The grills are located around the lawn, and are cleaned every day
- the front desk is very helpful, so just ask for what you need.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us at Outrigger Kiahuna. We look forward to your third visit.
Chris A. Gampon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This was our second stay at Kiahuna Plantation in a 1 bedroom condo. We stayed with Castle before and decided on the Outrigger Condos this time. Both stays were excellent. We travel with 5 year old twins who love the pool, the beach and wandering the extensive gardens on the property. We choose the Kiahuna Plantation because it is a condo resort but allows short stays so we spend a couple of nights there either end of a week on Kauai's North Shore. We love the Hawaiian plantation feel of the property. The 1 bedroom condos are small but well stocked and very clean. The garden view from Building 39 was wonderful and we loved wandering in the Moir cactus garden. Building 39 is right across from the Poipu Shopping Village with a General Store, Starbucks and restaurants. The pool and tennis courts are across the street and down the road. It was about a 10 minute walk to the pool for us with 5 year olds. Families with younger kids might want to drive over or ask for Builiding 15 or 16 which are close to the pool. The walk to the beach was less than 5 minutes. All the staff were friendly and helpful, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the beach I think the Deluxe or Royal Garden (or ocean view or course) r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketchikankayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Thank you for selecting Outrigger Kiahuna for your recent stay at Kiahuna. We are always happy to try to accommodate your preferred location on propery. Whether you prefer proximity to the shopping center, pool, cactus garden or need a ground floor unit, just let us know when you make your reservation.
Mahalo!
Chris Gampon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is really a condominium resort, but we were able to rent for just 2 nights. The lady at the front desk was very helpful - we were originally assigned a 3rd floor unit, but when I told her that we'd prefer the first floor due to my husband's recent back strain, she found us a new unit. We were in Building 8, close to the beach but with a courtyard view.

The unit has a bedroom, bathroom, living room, dining area, and full kitchen with fridge, stove, MW, dishes, small appliances, and coffeemaker. Coffee and tea were provided as were shampoo, soap, etc. The bathroom has a sink area separate from the toilet and bath. All nicely decorated. There's a safe (with a key) if you need it. Flat screen TV, wired internet (not wi-fi - more about this below), alarm clock, phone, and hairdryer included. No luggage racks, but I suppose in a condo you unpack. One of the closets had an ironing board and iron and cleaning supplies.

There is no AC, but there are ceiling fans. Windows are screened with wood louvers and there's a huge sliding glass door, also with screens and sliding wood louvers. Our patio area had lounge chairs and a table with chairs and a really lovely view of the common area.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Lush grass, beautiful blooming plants, all trimmed and healthy. We didn't have a problem with noise, but we did hear the security scooters patrolling the grounds several times during the night. I always felt safe here. It's a short walk to the beach which is really picturesque. One morning there was even a Hawaiian Monk Seal that had spent the night on the beach, apparently a rare sight as we later learned. There's a foot washing station for when you leave the beach and signs on all the units asking you to remove your shoes before entering.

Across the street is a small shopping center. There's a general store there which even carries breakfast buns, sandwiches and fresh fruit. A Starbucks is there along with the Poipu Burger restaurant - all nice conveniences. There's no breakfast provided by the hotel, but they do offer a free breakfast on your first morning, but you have to listen to an activities sales pitch. We skipped that.

My only problem was that the wired internet didn't work. It was a LONG twisty cable attached to the router under the TV. After plugging it in, we had "limited connectivity" and couldn't connect. After some troubleshooting, (I have a degree in computer science) I think it was a faulty cable. I called the front desk, but all they did was forward my call to their cable provider where I sat on hold for half an hour before hanging up. It would have been nice if the office just had some spare cables, but they say they can only have the cable company work on it. Other hotels had wired internet and our netbook worked just fine. There's a PC in the office, but you have to pay to use it. Oh well. Other than that, our visit was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Mahalo for your review. Your description of the rooms and amenities for the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation was nicely detailed. This is a fantastic spot to get away from it all and still have the comforts of home.

I was surprised to hear of the internet connectivity problems that you experienced. For a number of reasons, the wired modem was the best solution for Kiahuna Plantation. When a modem, patch cable, or other part of the system does not function, the remedy is normally quickly achieved. We will be looking into your situation to discover why you were ultimately referred to the service provider. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation. Thank you also for sharing your experience with others. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Chris A. Gampon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I had high hopes when I booked this hotel.... And they far exceeded my expectations. The service was great and we did late check out and we didnt have to leave at a certain time (we left at 10:00 at night!!!) The beach is a hop skip and a jump away. It was never very rough even during these winter months when the north shore isnt swimmable. The snorkeling is breath taking (saw sea turles at least four times) they have everything there we didnt even have to leave very much. They had it all.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaelmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Mahalo for your recent stay, and your kind review. Both are apprecaited.

I note that you enjoyed a late check out. I am pleased that we could offer it, but for other travelers who might read this, if you have one of the late night flights out of Lihue, you might want to consider adding one night to your stay to ensure that you have a place to relax it. If our units are full, checkout time is 12noon, and that can leave folks without a "home" unit thier late night flight.

At any rate, thank you agan, and come back soon!

Aloha,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a week here after Thanksgiving. Thanks to all the Tripadvisor members for your comments. It helped us make our decision based on what we were looking for in a vacation. We travel to the Islands twice a year and I must say that this year was one of the best due to the fact that our location was perfect and having a condo is so much better than a hotel. I loved the fresh air blowing through the place and the sounds of the tropics. We booked a "Royal Garden" room. I'm not sure that's what we got. We were on the top floor of building 16 right on Poipu Road. I understood that Royal Garden catagory meant you would be in the interior of the property with a view of the pond and gardens, but it was fine. The room was great. The bed was soooo comfy and everything was new. They clean the condo every third day and change towels, soap, coffee, every day. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't say enough about how kind they were from the front desk to the concierge desk to the housekeeping staff. Thank you. We didn't get to try the restaurant but will the next time. The gardens here are so beautiful and the smells...loved it. Our room was on the third floor so that meant steps. Wasn't too bad. We got a good breeze. The place wakes up early so we never did sleep past 7. The roosters would start at about 5 and the birds shortly after. I loved it. It was natures alarm clock telling us to go see the sunrise from the beach. It was beautiful every morning as were the sunsets. The room was fully equipped with everything. All kitchen utensils, ice maker in fridge, dishwasher, garbage disposal, TV in living room only. Drawers had flashlights, books to read and movies to watch in them. Closet had beach mats and chairs, beach umbrella, ironing board/iron, balcony had nice view with a peek of the ocean. It had a table and chairs and two lounge chairs on it. I used the laundry room once. $2.50 to wash 1 load and $2.50 to dry 1 load. A little pricey but worth it if you only have one load like us. We never check luggage so being able to do laundry was a plus. We were in close proximity to the Tennis Club swimming pool across the street so we walked over one day. The bar/restaurant is called Casablanca and looks to be for sale. The drinks here were not impressive yet pricey. Not a good place for an expensive bar. They should go sports bar style and get a bunch of TV's or something. Would probably do better. Not many places to catch NFL games in walking distance. The pool/hot tub looked nice with a slide and a sandy end but we didn't swim. Looked clean and well maintained. We loved Kiahuna Plantation. We did not want to leave. Perfect, much needed getaway. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Top floor gets good breeze. Liked privacy of top floor end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyelive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofOutriggerKiahuna, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

Mahalo for your gracious response. We're happy to hear that you had a great time sharing our beautiful property. We hope you plan to return. We'll be waiting to share our Aloha with you. Chris Gampon, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is a complex of apartments that are individually owned. Partly for that reason, people have varied comments about the appearance of their units.(We booked a 1 bdrm Garden view Paradise but got an upgrade to an ocean view.) Ours was attractive, well appointed, and had a great view. The plantations complex is between the Sheraton and the Marriott Vacation club, and costs a lot less than they do. The grounds are attractive, and there is a pretty, tropical garden in front of the Plantation Home of the estate, which is now a nice restaurant.

Our main complaint was that we were on the third floor of our unit, which improved the view, but there were no elevators. At check-in, they did not warn us we were on the third floor, or offer help with carrying our luggage up the stairs. Later, we complained and were told we should have asked and someone from security would have come over and helped. But it should have been offered when we checked in. It was dark, and the lighting in the complex is low, making it hard to find our unit.

Room Tip: The cheapest units are far from the ocean and do not get daily service. OK if you want to be near po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMarie_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiahunaGM, General Manager at Kiahuna Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself, and that we were able to upgrade you to an OV unit, although we should have offered you bag service.

Please note that the information you posted as to our Garden View accomodations (that are farthest from the ocean) is comletely incorrect. We offer daily maid service to all of our guests in all of our categories, except for any who might have booked direct with an owner.

Best regards,

Roy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,424 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiahuna Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiahuna Plantation Resort

Address: 2253 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $158 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiahuna Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai by Outrigger(R) is situated on a 35-acre oceanfront setting at Poipu Beach shaded by tall swaying palms and scented by fragrant plumeria blossoms. Play at the resort's swimming beach, dine at Plantation Gardens Restaurant, and tee off at Kiahuna Golf Club. The internationally-recognized orchid and succulent gardens are living legacies of this former plantation estate. Explore historic Koloa Town a few minutes away, drive west to Waimea Canyon, or east to Hanalei on the north shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiahuna Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kiahuna Plantation Hotel Poipu
Outrigger Hotel Kiahuna Plantation
Outrigger Hotel Koloa
Outrigger Poipu
Kiahuna Plantation Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing