We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home to Poipu!”
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston at Poipu Kai
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
READING
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home to Poipu!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I recently returned hom from a one-week stay at the Aston at Poipu Kai.
It is a lovely property. We had a spacious one-bedroom condo on the ground floor. Our
unit faced the Pacific Ocean and we enjoyed the sunrises, sunsets, and trade winds
through our lanai door. The condo was in good repair. We did think that the sofa and
two side chairs could be more comfortable, as well as the bed. But, all in all, it was a
nice place as well as a good value. The Aston is located right next door to the Grand
Hyatt, and is a short drive from Poipu Beach proper, as well as many small shops and
restaurants. All of the Staff members were kind and gracious. We hope to return
soon! As with most properties on Kauai, the condos are not air conditioned.

The roosters got loose after Hurricane Iniki in 1992(?) and they are found all over the
island. They do start crowing around 5am, but they were off in the distance and they
did not bother us. We actually found one crowing outside the Buger King in Lihue
at 11am! Guess it had it's time mixed-up! We had no road noise problems. It was
very quiet.

Room Tip: We stayed in Poipu Sands #415. It was a lovely unit. Very nicely decorated. Great view of the Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    105
    32
    18
    25
See reviews for
116
87
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our first night was spent in unit 924 which was approximately 10 feet from the highway, and the traffic noise was so loud I could not sleep. Upon request the next day we were moved to room 301. Our experience there was absolutely wonderful! The unit was clean and quite comfortable. It was within walking distance of the beach and Bennekee's a food stand and restaurant with delicious food. The attentiveness and follow through of the management was positive and appreciated. We would definitely stay at Poipu Kai again.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get put in a room by the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. The one complaint I had was we were facing the major street and the street noise at night was loud considering you had to keep the windows open due to no ac. The unit was very nice and had a great kitchen and laundry. We had a one bedroom which faced the street and a sofa bed. The unit was hot. The front room was a little cooler than the back where the sofa bed was. We kept the balcony door open hoping to get a nice cross breeze but didn't help much. The back faced the gardens so early every morning there were loud birds singing making sure you were up and ready for the day. The garden area was beautiful. We had to drive to the beach which was beautiful. We seen a munk seal on the beach sun bathing which was cool. Across the street was a great place to get shave ice and lunch. Ocean was very rocky. My son and husband were able to do some snorkeling at the beach. Two free movie rentals were allowed each day which was nice.

Room Tip: Don't take a condo facing the road too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyn301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from our trip to Kauai and had to write to warn others not to allow Aston to check you in to this condo unit! It was terribly outdated, dirty and uncomfortable. There was hair all over the bathrooms, tub and corners of the unit. Toenail clippings next to the bed were discovered on our first night and a cockroach crawling up the wall as well. The floor was so dirty that no one wanted to walk barefooted and we wore socks or flip flops to avoid it. One of the blinds broke in the bedroom prior to our arrival and they just didn't replace it so the morning sun came in every morning before 6a and woke us up EVERY morning. I finally nailed a towel over the window in an attempt mask the problem. The bed was as hard as a rock but surprisingly sagged in the middle. My husband's back is still hurting him! Dishes, pots and pans were mismatched and it looked like everything was gathered from a local garage sale. There was ketchup or some sort of sauce spattered all over the front of the refrigerator and remained there our entire stay. I think it has been there for years. One closest was filled with all the broken lamps, picture frames and knick-knacks from the condos 30 year history.

The crazy thing is that the other two families that travelled with us were checked in to very nice condos (213 and 422) at the Aston Poipu Sands and I think our trip would be much different having stayed in either of those units. If you have a reservation, try to request either of these two units they were clean and lovely. If they try to check you into 316, refuse.

Aston should take 316 out of their rental inventory and force the owner to upgrade and upkeep the unit. It is not fair that someone should get a sub-par unit for the same price as others who receive luxury units. Shame on you Aston for allowing this to continue. Others have complained and you still continue to rent out this unit.

Room Tip: Check out the unit before you commit to staying in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KJRTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments and I will continue to encourage the owner to make improvements. The Front Desk staff aware of your concerns with the amenity fee charge, adjusted the entire amount upon checkout. I agree with them whole heartedly. I apologize for the lack of window covering in the master bedroom. We will correct that immediately.

We do experience pests in the tropical environment we live in. With frequent treatment, we have been able to limit them. We will take the necessary steps in ensuring that Housekeeping is advised of the shortcomings you mentioned in your review.
We do hope that you and your family enjoyed the island of Kauai.

Sincerely,

Malana deSilva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If a traveler had to decide between a luxurious hotel and a beautiful Aston condo, I'd recommend going for the condo, no question! Sure a nice hotel like the Grand Hyatt is nice, but typically rooms are boxy and confining. At the Aston condo unit, we had ceiling fans in every room, vaulted ceilings, a refrigerator, washer, kitchen equipped for cooking, and such a gorgeous view overlooking gardens and the ocean. The fresh air coming into the unit is just so refreshing. You just can't beat this deal. Plus Aston goes out of their way to make things even more special for their visitors. I requested roses be placed in the room for my soon to be fiance`and they were even excited to have the honors. Aston is the only way to go when visiting Hawaii. Best customer service, best deal, and home style living! There's just no other way!!

Room Tip: I recommend rooms that you may see the ocean from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinemabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
394 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here July 9-13, 2013. At the recommendation of others on TA, I called a couple of weeks in advance, to request an "updated unit". I also wanted a ground floor unit due to recent knee surgery. The condo we were assigned, Manualoha #803, was really nice! Recently re-done with travertine marble floors and shower, granite counters and other premium surfaces though-out. It was also the largest one-bedroom condo I have ever been inside. My friend won the coin-toss and got the bedroom. I slept on a sofa-bed in the huge living room. Fortunately, there are two sofa-beds. A queen, and a full-size. I took the queen mattress and stacked it on the full-size, and had a very comfortable sleep. The ocean was a short walk away across a large green belt. The condo didn't have an ocean view, but a few steps off of the lanai, there is a filtered view. (I doubt if any condos here have a great ocean view.)
Like most of Kauai, these units don't have air conditioning, but after the unit was opened up for a couple of hours, it cooled off nicely. Temperature is really only a concern at the height of summer. Any other time it would be unquestionably comfortable.
This condo was also much larger than the one I stayed in at Kiahuna Plantation, last time. There are also 2 easily accessible swimming pools, and parking is shaded. (At KP, you have to drive to the pool.)
I will gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a very beautiful, comfortable condo unit located in the Poipu Beach area of Kauai. The unit was a one bedroom decorated in Polynesian style. It was spacious with granite in the fully equipped kitchen. There were numerous bar-b-ques close to our unit and everything necessary for meals was in the kitchen. We were located close to a pool and we had a nice lanai to sit and drink coffee on while watching the birds in the tropical plants and trees directly outside our lanai. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The housekeeping staff came daily and we left a note if there was anything else that we needed (towels, coffee, etc.) and it was left for us. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: This condo is a short walk to the beach and a short drive to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
1.6 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
11.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,274 reviews
14.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
535 reviews
24.3 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.0 mi away
Kiahuna Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Poipu Kai

Property: Aston at Poipu Kai
Address: 1775 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Poipu Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 70 acres of Kauai's sunny south coast, this condominium resort delights guests with ocean views, tropical gardens, private pools and tennis courts. Golf, dining and shopping are all nearby. This prime location is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, Shipwreck Beach and the "Spouting Horn" blowhole. Renovation Notice: We apologize for any inconvenience. In an on-going effort to provide exceptional services and amenities to our guests, please be informed that Poipu Kai will renovate one of its 8 pools – the Poipu Sands beginning August 14, 2017. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the project is expected to be completed by October 31, 2017. Guests may continue to enjoy all the other pool facilities during the renovation project. Work will be limited to Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. The General Manager and her staff will do everything possible to ensure your guests’ comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Vacatia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Resortquest Poipu Kai
Aston At Poipu Kai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing