We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very comfortable units”
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at Poipu Kai
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed in Kahala three times, twice in a unit let by Suite Paradise for the owner and once in a unit managed by Aston that was arranged via Costco Travel. The Suite Paradise unit had nicer furnishings and electronics and was a little larger, but was also more expensive. Both have good beds and comfortable furniture. Second floor units are desirable because they have good ventilation due to good design and ample ceiling fans. We requested the second floor and Aston honored that request. In fact, we had a pretty good ocean view from our "garden view" unit.

The Aston staff - both desk and housekeeping - could not be more accommodating and helpful. They seemed genuinely concerned that we had a great time and that all of our needs were met. The grounds are beautifully maintained, as are the pools. One of the pools Kahala units can access is walled and always at least partly shaded. This is a plus when the winds kick up and/or you have had enough sun for the day.

It is a short walk over lawns and through gardens to Brennecke Beach - not good for swimming, but great for boogie boarding and turtle watching - and the adjacent Poipu Beach, which is a great swimming beach for everyone from young kids to capable snorkelers.

There are also walking paths that lead through gardens and over greenbelts to the Hyatt property and along Shipwreck beach (also not very swimmable) and beyond that there is a nice walk over the cliffs to the east of the Hyatt. Stunning views and interesting geology along the cliffs.

Groceries are close (a ten minute drive at most) in Koloa, at both Big Save and Sueoka's. You can walk to Brennecke's restaurant and Kalapaki Joe's is even closer (also less expensive and very relaxed).

We really like Poipu Kai in general, and Kahala in particular.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit above the ground floor and away from the road.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Aston at Poipu Kai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 277 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for a week, through Interval International on August 25-September 1, 2012. The location is pretty good, close to beaches. But the building we were in Kahala, Room 411, was pretty below average. First the unit we were in had no shade at all, so don't stay in room 411 during the warmer months. The air - no matter how many fans we placed in front of windows etc., - just would not come into the unit! There was no air circulation, no evening breezes. If you stood on the patio then yes, breeze, but no air in the unit, very stuffy and hot. The master bedroom mattress needs to be replaced, so check that before you stay unless you like broken down, hard mattresses. The furniture was dated but comfortable and sufficient. The carpet was dirty, so either needs a good cleaning or to be replaced. The parking was just outside, like an apartment building so that was very convenient. The microwave died when we first used it, but they had it replaced the very next day while we were out and about, so that was great. The room had a small fan, but we were able to get another, larger floor fan from the front desk, that helped keep some air movement. After two nights of waking up sore from the horrible mattress I finally asked the front desk for a foam pad and they brought one very quickly. There were 4 adults, with all our "stuff" and groceries, so I didn't want to ask for another room, however, next time I will make that decision BEFORE we go to Costco and before everyone gets unpacked! The pool was fine, old, but fine. We used the BBQ that was just outside our room, it was a little dirty, but we left it to burn off all the cooked on muck before using it and it was fine. The exhaust fan in the master bathroom didn't seem to actually exhaust, so not sure if it is just old, or needs a good cleaning/maintenance. Other than everything being pretty old, like 80s old, the room was fine, and our stay on Kauai was great!

Room Tip: Room 411 in the Kahala units, don't stay in this unit during the warmer months, the way the room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimAntCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a wonderful 5 day stay at this resort. Since this was a celebration of our 36th wedding anniversary and in our 70s, the Administrator assigned us to a perfect Condo unit. We had the best of both world...the Pacific Ocean and a beautiful garden setting. Since we have mobility problems, we were given a ground floor unit. We shared the garden with the Myna birds! The condo was very well maintained by the owner and lacked NOTHING! The kitchen itself was completely stocked with all kinds of untensils with toaster, blender, full stove, microwave and more.The living room and dining room had comfortable seatings with large windows.We were able to save alot of money purchasing our own food and ate breakfast and a light dinner, with our main large meal at lunch at nice restaurants. Again, our thanks to Malani, with her kindness and graciousness, and to the owner of our unit, who has the best location of all. Our sad farewell to Poipu Kai as our poor old bodies can't take another round-trip on United as we felt we packed like canned sardines!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and good for someone who no longer can climb stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo Ann Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in building 7, 2nd floor. 3rd floor bedroom is so hot the baby will not sleep. Not enough windows to circulate cool air up there, main floor ok if everything is open. Just stayed at another older resort on north shore without AC and was not a problem, was better circulation. King bed great but rock hard, like sleeping on beach and I like firm mattress. Love the location. Building close to pool. Front desk staff great. NEW kitchen but needs a few little things changed for new (knives etc) otherwise great. Stained carpet. Landlines do not work well at all, feedback buzz. I see other buildings are different and may have better circulation but our space is so HOT even on cool days that it is difficult to get comfortable. If you can't handle hot stagnant air then find somewhere else. Great 2 bedroom if you are travelling with friends/family. Area is great for everyone even little people.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to pool if you like to spend time there, ask for a ground floor unit or something wi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LL1979_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

the apartment was great and huge and for our party of 6 was perfect. we had an ocean view on the upper floor, Forniture in the apartment need a restilying and a change as well as tiles and carpet on the floor.
Service was good: the sofa bed needed sheets and they brought them right away, coffe machine was not working and they changed it with a new one.
Direct access to the beach within a short walk, even if I would not suggest swimmiming.
Air conditioning was not needed

Room Tip: ocean view is worth the price difference
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angecorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a big condo complex where individual owners rent out their units. Point being that there is no standard. Biggest issue – NO AIR CONDITIONING!

We rented on Orbitz and nowhere on the property listing did it say that there is no AC, or risk of no AC. It says luxury condo with all bells and whistles. Well, AC in Hawaii during the summer is a necessity at night.

Here is how it went down. The first unit they gave us was on a busy road - with no AC. We called the office, and we were told that no units had AC. So we changed units, thinking we would at least avoid the road and maybe the AC issue wouldn’t be that bad. But no, Hawaii in August is hot.

So we called Orbitz and complained. We could not spend four nights there and we felt that their listing was misleading. They claimed that hotel listings are self-managed and that we should read consumer comments. Whatever. After about an hour, they arranged, with the complex, to refund our money for our unused nights, which was great. So we relocated.

In the end, while I was annoyed with the hassle, they did accommodate and refund. Also, the complex is in fact very nice. The units are huge and GREAT for friends or families traveling together. Truly like little homes, with full kitchens and three bedrooms. There were a bunch of friends in the unit next to us having a blast.

If you go during the winter months, you could probably get away with no AC. But not during the summer, unless you enjoy sleeping in a stale, hot, room.

Bottom line, if the units had AC, it would be nice.

Room Tip: It is not a bad place, my issue with it was the lack of AC.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exploricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is not our first time in this resort, we loved our stay here, we had one very nice garden view unit, very comfortable with lots of space and all amenities that you need in one condo, the entire resort in really beautiful, you can walk to the beach by crossing the very pleasant gardens.
Will request same unit for next year.
Overall I can say it's a very plasant place to stay and enjoy your vacation.
A/C in not available on almost all condos on the island of Kauai, at night you actually don't need it the trade winds make the air cooler at night.
Poupu is my favourite area of Kauai, everything is conveniently located, also it rains less that on the northern part of the island (Princeville)
Enjoy Aston Poipu Kai and the beautiful ilsand of Kauai

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rtwtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
578 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Poipu Kai

Address: 1775 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $221 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Poipu Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 70 acres of Kauai's sunny south coast, this condominium resort delights guests with ocean views, tropical gardens, private pools and tennis courts. Golf, dining and shopping are all nearby. This prime location is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, Shipwreck Beach and the "Spouting Horn" blowhole. Renovation Notice: We apologize for any inconvenience. In an on-going effort to provide exceptional services and amenities to our guests, please be informed that Poipu Kai will renovate one of its 8 pools – the Poipu Sands beginning August 14, 2017. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the project is expected to be completed by October 31, 2017. Guests may continue to enjoy all the other pool facilities during the renovation project. Work will be limited to Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. The General Manager and her staff will do everything possible to ensure your guests’ comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Resortquest Poipu Kai
Aston At Poipu Kai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing