We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condos five minute walk to beach”
Review of Aston at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at Poipu Kai
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We went with a group so I saw several units in addition to ours. This is a large condo compex with units rented by several companies including Aston as well as Suite Paradise among others. Caution: units have no air conditioning. We went in January so it wasn't a big deal but this needs to be better noted more clearly on the website.

Our unit, 121 kahala had a small space a/c unit in the bedroom, but the bed was really terrible (poor quality mattress) 131 has a fantastic view and great bed. Kitchens had microwave, fridge, stove, dishwasher.
The staff would not permit me to select my room number in advance, nor would they tell me what number I was assigned to, even though when I arrived, it was clear that a room had already been assigned (envelope with name, room # and key). That's poor service, as they should have been open to disclosing the unit number when we called that day.

There is no restaurant on the property but there are two very nearby. Pool and hottub were adequate. Several bulbs in our unit were out.

Maid service essentially consists of replacing towels and taking trash every day, and vacuuming/changing sheets every other day. Bring your own laundry detergent, stock up on supplies etc at the big save in Koloa.

Overall good value, decent place but not allowing guests (we prepaid with our package!) to select, confirm or even be told our unit number before arrival was not cool.

Bottom line I'd say fair/decent accommodations at a good price. Short walk to beach, and pleasantly surprised to see ocean from our garden view unit.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank omar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the "GOOD NEWS"! Our team at Aston Poipu Kai is willing and ready to make visitors to Kauai have a great vacation.

We look forward to having you stay with again!


Aloha,


Malana deSilva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

We were in room 301. My parents (both 70), wife and two boys (Almost 2 and 5) were in a two bedroom garden view condo. They provided a crib for our younger son. They put in a new refrigerator the day we got there. The place was nice. Free internet, flat screen TV, a short walk to two pools (one with a hot tube), 5min walk to two beaches (one was great for body boarding and the other was great for snorkleing) a sea turtle came up onto the beach one day while we were there. Don't expect a five star hotel but it is a nice afordable place to spend some time close to the beach, and be able to make your own food in the condo's kitchen or use one of the many gas grills on the property.

Room Tip: Look on trip advisor to see what rooms poeple liked and request one of those rooms. That is what I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellyliming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have been to Kauai many times & prefer staying in condos since hotel/restaurant dining can be expensive! The BAD NEWS: Condo is not on the beach, but close enough to drive or walk...lots of road work between Lihue & Poipu at this time, so expect to crawl along that corridor especially rush hour. THE GOOD NEWS: The two of us were upgraded to a 2-bdrm condo, one of several managed by Aston in the area - appeared to be recently renovated, quiet mountain-view unit, well-stocked kitchen, spacious living/dining area & bathrooms (wish we had 6 more people with us)...no minimum nights stay, so we were there for 2....Stopped at a supermarket by the airport & got a few goodies...checked in by friendly staff, got 2 free movies from kiosk in the main office, stuck them in our complimentary reusable shopping bag (plastic bags are banned in on the island..Yay!)...Maids changed the towels, emptied the trash & tidied up a bit...Checked out the nearby Kukuiula Shopping Center's boutiques & their Wednesday farmer's market with farm- fresh produce & local food vendors (try the heavenly Hawaiian-kine pies!) Great place to relax, & we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had Makanui Unit #421, no elevators to 2nd floor, but it was quiet & had a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our condo was in excellent condition and a 5 minute walk to the ocean. everything was included as far as for cooking, stove ,microwave,refrigerator all in working order as well as a dishwasher . We were able to drive to the local grocery store and stocked up on food as eating out gets to be very very expensive. Of course we were shocked at the prices at the grocery store. If we ever decide to go back to Kauai we would definitely stay there again. PS the beds are uncomfortable

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our second trip to Kauai, as well as our second staying in a condo style property. We were extremely happy with our choice at Aston Poipu Kai. From the well appointed room, meticulously kept grounds, and proximity to the beach, what's there not to like? I would recommend this property to a friend, and plan on returning there for future vacations.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The rooms vary significantly. Ours was by far the worst out of the group we were with. Besides not having been remodeled, the dishwasher was not bolted down and therefore was quite a hazard when loading. There was not enough dishes for cooking, the fridge was rusted, the bathroom was in a state of disrepair, and there was no daily maid service. On the other hand, our room had a loft and we could see the ocean from the lanai. If you stay here, be sure to request a remodeled room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Baajlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Aloha! I am terribly sorry that your accommodations did not meet your expectations. As this is a secure site, I cannot research the exact room number you were in. I would very much like to take a personal look at this unit and be sure it is on our renovation list. I will provide you my e-mail address if you have the time malana.desilva@astonhotels.com to contact me.

We were experiencing some linen issues around Christmas which may have attributed to the limited Housekeeping. Unfortunately, our laundry service suffered a fire the week before and was having electrical issues to get back up and running.

I would hope that we may have the opportunity to host you again, in one of the many renovated condos! Aloha - Malana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This place was very old and our room smelled like moldy. There were spider webs by all the door the fridge was disgusting ...and to top it off my husband and i got back to our room after dinner to find our iPad and charger were stolen. Since this place is so old and outdated they have no tracking of who has access to your room the keys are not electronic. Very very disappointed. They weren't willing to work with us at all they simply said it's not our problem. Very very disappointed. I will never return and I will be sure to let our travel agent know how awful our experience was.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bekahwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malana d, General Manager at Aston at Poipu Kai, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

. I am terribly sorry that your vacation was tarnished with this event. This type of activity is unusual and distressing. Most everyone on Kauai is connected to the tourism industry in some manner.

I hope that you enjoyed the island and that we may have the opportunity to have you visit Kauai again.

Sincerely,


Malana deSilva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Poipu Kai

Address: 1775 Poipu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range: $268 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Poipu Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 70 acres of Kauai's sunny south coast, this condominium resort delights guests with ocean views, tropical gardens, private pools and tennis courts. Golf, dining and shopping are all nearby. This prime location is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, Shipwreck Beach and the "Spouting Horn" blowhole. Renovation Notice: We apologize for any inconvenience. In an on-going effort to provide exceptional services and amenities to our guests, please be informed that Poipu Kai will renovate one of its 8 pools – the Poipu Sands beginning August 14, 2017. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the project is expected to be completed by October 31, 2017. Guests may continue to enjoy all the other pool facilities during the renovation project. Work will be limited to Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 5:00pm. The General Manager and her staff will do everything possible to ensure your guests’ comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Resortquest Poipu Kai
Aston At Poipu Kai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing