We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions, on the burrito”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Crack

Da Crack
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aloha! We are a local owned family business. We offer Mexican style dishes with a Hawaiian twist. We serve fresh, locally caught fish, Shrimp, Beef, Chicken, Pork, Vegan, Vegetarian and gluten free Items. We only use fresh ingredients and everything is made in house. We also only use Hawaiian sea salt. We DO NOT use any MSG, Lard or trans fatty oils or Hydrogenated oils. Everything is prepared with a health conscious approach. Thank you for taking the time to view my establishment! Mahalo!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big portions, on the burrito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The burritos here are quite large. The bowls seem to be a bit smaller, but it could be psychological. The meat is a bit salty, but it's still pretty good. The beef is shredded, almost like carnitas. The tortilla isn't grilled, but I'm not complaining considering I'm on Kauai. I like the butt crack logo. If you went to San Jose State University, it reminds me of the burritos they served there in the student union. Worth checking out if your an oinker like I am.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    292
    85
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun little hole in the wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

a kooky little burrito, taco window - good food, fun take out - very busy ...not the best of what we ate, but worth trying. We brought our food back to our condo and had wine and our great deck.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dandfbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican food with a local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's a small takeout place and there is always a line. We passed by a couple of times and we were curious why there was always a line now we know-Great Food. We got 4 different dishes and even though we were fairly full, we kept eating because it was so good. No left overs. We would definitely go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank subar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, HI
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Crack. Seriously.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Da Crack is a (somewhat new) institution on Kauai. The food is amazing, the ingredients fresh, and the people friendly.

That's it in a nutshell. So now I'm allowed to go crazy and detailed.

Everything...or almost everything? is available as "taco," "burrito," or "bowl." You can figure that out. And, yes, aside from presentation, it's basically the same. I love the bowl form because it makes it easier to bring home & re-heat leftovers, which you will most likely have.

The obvious AMAZING, must-get items are the fresh fish and garlic shrimp.

The fresh fish is just that. Fresh fish. It changes. Obviously. Garlic shrimp are brand new. You can also get chicken, veggies, ets. The next step is to choose "taco" "burrito" or "bowl." They also have an option of jalapeno or chipotle sauce. It does come with rice & beans, although wrapped up with the fish or on the side really depends on how you order it.

There is also an extensive add-on and create-your-own menu and everything is relatively healthy. No hydrogenated oils and all that jazz.

You can't go wrong here. And, if you decide, for some reason, that you have, check out Kukui'ula Market next door for smoothies & juices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mllenotorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Da Crack is Da Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent food. HUGE portions and great prices. My husband ordered two burritos (one chicken, one beef) and had to save the second one for the lunch the next day. I could only eat half of mine (again....lunch the next day). Found this great place in the "Taste of Hawaii" book. AWESOME!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Crack also viewed

 

Been to Da Crack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing