We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty pricey for the quality”

Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe, located in The Shops at Kukui'ula,They offer over 3,000 items in the market including organics, gluten free products, local produce and much more.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“pretty pricey for the quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The market held outside here on Wednesday is a great experience but the deli here was a disappointment. We had their roasted chicken with a side for 14$ and it was dry and lacked flavour. We also had a breakfast frittata which was tasty but at 12.50$ I should have waited an hour for dacrack to open.the farmers markets are your best bet for vegetables and I would give this place a miss.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snipersdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    318
    135
    46
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Local market but pretty touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a beautiful market that sells mainly local products, which I appreciate. It is expensive as many places of this nature are. It seems to be mainly for tourists based on location and the clientele. There are other local markets like the little store in Koloa Town which is not close to as appealing as Living Foods but the prices are lower, Koloa Town is cool and we felt like we were doing business as a local would, which is a goal of ours,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottGrahamMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“no coconuts?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed in Po'ipu and my daughter really wanted a fresh coconut. I convinced her we weren't going to find one falling from a tree, so we sought out this market for one, but came up empty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
455 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wholesome healthy foods to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We shopped here and purchased a few deli type items for lunch at our condo while we were on the island. The green beans, curry chicken salad, and roasted egg plant salads were all fantastic! Fresh, unique and healthy eating. Convenient to Poipu Beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value for the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I are staying in Kauai for our honeymoon at the Koa Kea Resort. We of course did the nice restaurants like Red Salt, Tidepools, etc. but for lunch we wanted to get out of the resort and eat something tasty but also not too expensive. Living Foods Market is like a Whole Foods and is the only place like this in the area that you can eat something healthy, tasty, and for relatively cheap. We really enjoyed eating here and would definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnagle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing