We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey!!”

Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe
Ranked #14 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe, located in The Shops at Kukui'ula,They offer over 3,000 items in the market including organics, gluten free products, local produce and much more.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricey!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We're used to shopping at higher end grocery stores to get all of the high quality produce, meats, and other products that we prefer, and it seemed that Living Foods would be the best option for what we needed.

They have a great selection of some things (chocolate, coffee, specialty items), and we were able to get some of the things we like (our favorite Greek yogurt), but overall this place seemed overpriced and under-represented.

Specifically, their fruit and produce selections weren't as nice or as fresh as it seemed they should've been.

Great for a few specialty items, but otherwise, way overpriced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    320
    137
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive, but has everything you need!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This little grocery store/restaurant was definitely on the expensive side, but its the closest store of its kinds to the Poipu resorts and has everything you need, including a small restaurant that serves food all day. We visited almost every day of our stay in Kauai.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshGator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whole Foods ersatz”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Basically a small Whole Foods in Poipu. Overpriced, but the produce is excellent, and they have a good selection of organic etc stuff (high end cererals and the like). Good resource to have nearby.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this place for organic food & veg”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We found this place near the end of our stay. I'm used to shopping at Whole Foods and felt at home picking up some familiar brands here. It was awesome to walk in & see fresh, organic fruit & veg! We picked up a few items for dinner. Would have loved to do all of my shopping here. I hear they do a really nice breakfast and I'm looking forward to checking it out next time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristinaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BREAKFAST!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed breakfast here twice while on the island! Great breakfast wraps and pancakes. Loved it! Recommend it! Do it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing