We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick, fresh food - recommend the fish tacos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe

Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe, located in The Shops at Kukui'ula,They offer over 3,000 items in the market including organics, gluten free products, local produce and much more.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quick, fresh food - recommend the fish tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

While not as inexpensive as a mainland food market, Living Foods resembles a small, local version of Whole Foods. Highly recommend the fish tacos - some of the best we had during our stay in Kauai. The servers were friendly and laid back; the menu's quite small so a few items had run out by day's end.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    314
    133
    45
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wow, step into a real fun market with not only great products, but a great gourmet menu. Homemade breads, homemade sausage, sauces, dips, salads, plus local fish and meat! Only downfall, be ready for the prices!! I thought it was worth the experience and quality.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You place for belgian beers and fine foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

They have a few belgians (duval and Chimay) as well as a tois pistoles from unibroue, good selection of produce and finer food. Huge avocados.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank allenhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good organic food, very high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I don't know if the prices are super-high because the owners are greedy, or because it just costs a lot to import the food into Kauai. Either way, if you eat organic, go buy your supplies in Lihue before heading up to the north shore. You'll pay less.

The variety is decent considering you're almost at the end of the road on an island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. They do have a kitchen that makes soups, sandwiches etc. The problem is that they didn;t have a menu or price list when we were there. The cook and the store staff were way too busy to answer questions. Do you really want to order something without knowing the cost? We didn't so we stuck with the packaged stuff.
It was decent but almost double the cost of buying the exact same items where we live (Austin TX).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MJSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gourmet market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Started the day off with fresh made pastry and coffee. ALl meals there are exceptionsl

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank cardeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Living Foods Gourmet Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing