We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our stay at the Garden Isle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koloa Landing Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koloa Landing Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    332
    119
    33
    12
See reviews for
791
372
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I took our daughter and our in-laws to this property and had a wonderful time! From when we made our Reservation Elena was extremely helpful and welcoming in finding a unit which would meet our needs. This is probably one of the nicest units I have ever stayed in, it had a wrap around Lanai which was very spacious. The pool areas weren't crowded and the rooms were well-build and designed. Aunt Lovie was also very attentive to her guests!

This property was a breath of fresh air as it is not a crowded resort, so we actually were able to relax. Poipu Beach was a quick 4 minute drive as were several local restaurants. When pricing this property to other even houses we found this place provided outstanding value. Be sure to join Wyndham Rewards before you stay here as they have a generous program.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seatraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a great stay! Beauty and tranquility unsurpassed. We visited other resorts and was always glad to come home. Understated luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank bobokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I didn't give it a 5 across the board was because of the roosters all over the property waking us up at 5 am! If you like to sleep in at all bring earplugs!
This is not a beachfront property and we had a view of a dirt lot and no restaurant.. Just a little shop to get simple groceries and snacks or a breakfast sandwich.
However the service is great and they even upgraded us to a 3 br!
Beautiful and clean rooms and NEW! Worth overlooking the negatives.
Convenient location to beaches, shops and restaurants. We loved Keoki's Paradise! Would highly recommend if you need a condo room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First, the good. The condos are spectacular. Spacious with great appliances (including a washer and dryer) and a large pool. While it wasn’t great not having a bar/restaurant on site, because of the modern kitchen in the unit, we were able to cook most of our meals ourselves and save a bunch of money. For the meals you do want to eat out, there are a lot of restaurants/bars within a five to ten minute drive. The resort is also within walking distance to some really nice beaches.

Now the bad. The service was mediocre. While everybody was nice, the last night/morning left a bad taste in our mouth. We asked for a late check out the night before we left and were told that we could get a complimentary late check out until 1 p.m. (the usual is 11 a.m.) or we could pay for a half day and check out at 6 p.m. We told them we would think about the half day and let them know in the morning. When we told them in the morning that we didn’t want the half day, they told us that they had booked the room in the 10 hours since we had last talked with them and that we couldn’t even stay until 1. So we had to scramble to get ready to leave by 11 and re-plan our last day. The resort appeared far from full, and we felt that the front desk was very unhelpful and rude when we told them we didn’t want the half day. Ended a great stay in a bad way.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe_W541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

BEAUTIFUL accommodations. Upon our arrival we were upgraded. Spectacular room with rap around lanai. Good environment for families or couples. Friendly helpful staff. Beach access with no sandy beach. Backs up to a nice road for walking or biking along beach. Nice coffee shop with good latte's.

The bad thing is there is no restaurant on property, so we always had to eat out. We cooked at the barbeque one night. Although, there is no restuarant on property, there is shopping villages near by (walking distance) that have some amazing restaurants.

Also, as far as I could tell, there was no poolside drink service. Although other reviewers mention this option, I can't say that I ever saw any attendants. We also asked the pool girl i believe her name was Kim, if there was any poolside drink services. She said the bell attendent usually comes down to take our order but we never saw him once. We also asked if she could take our order, she said "shes too busy to take orders" is it really that hard to take a guest order? I also understand that the pool girl is done by a 3rd party of the resort, and she didnt look like she wanted to be there.

The staff is wonderful, very helpful and super accommodating. Auntie Lovey, Elena, and the concierge girl. ( I forget her name) is the best and she made our stay very comfortable. This place is as nice as the grand Hyatt but much more suitable for families.

We are looking forward to our next family trip here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. It is not a beach front property but is an easy drive to nearby Poipu beach. We paid for an upgrade to a full ocean view, which was a view of excavated land for ongoing construction and a strip of the ocean in the distance. There was no construction noise, thankfully.

The suites are very spacious, clean and quiet. There is no restaurant or bar on site. The tiny store has a few grocery items, coffee and limited baked goods but you have to leave the premises for all meals. The only amenities on site are the pools, gym and a spa. The spa is a separate vendor so if you have an issue with the spa, the front desk and management will not assist you. The spa tried to sell us on upgrades to a basic massage, which we declined. I was disappointed to find out that the spa upcharged us anyway and when I complained to the manager of the spa, he was untruthful about what had occurred and fought me on a refund for the overcharge. Review your receipts carefully or better yet, just go to a different venue for spa services.

If the hotel wants to improve its service, they should associate with high quality vendors and add some basic amenities for their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha MK

Mahalo for noting our spacious, clean and quiet villas. We are delighted that you enjoyed your villa. We are disappointed that the spa staff created challenges and we sincerely apologize for the lack of service. We will provide additional training for those who did not meet the Koloa Landing Resort five star service level. We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koloa Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing Resort

Property: Koloa Landing Resort
Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Business Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu Beach are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai's South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Koloa Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing