We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise within Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koloa Landing Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Koloa Landing Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    412
    151
    43
    20
See reviews for
948
528
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fpo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This by far has been my best experience on this island...and this has been one of the most opulent villas I have ever stayed in! Absolutely Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ASL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good place to stay. The only problems that we had was that we are use to the Hyatt that heats the pool. We were not able to use the pool. Also, the kitchen lacked some items that we would have expected to have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The condos themselves are stellar. The rooms are large, with amenities like in-room safes, bathrobe and slippers, ice-maker in the freezer, TVs in every bedroom and a DVD player, a full soaker tub (with toiletries, hair dryet, etc.) and separate shower. The Bosh washer and dryer is a bit small and by closing the door to the washer, you can get a mould problem as the last reviewer advised. I kept the door open after use. They provided the detergent for the dishwasher and the washer.

Here's where things go awry. I had reserved a special (lower) rate room, that was guaranteed to be a partial ocean view. This is not what I received. Instead, I received a ground floor room, facing the side and back of the "adult" pool. The photos on the web site of bright light streaming in suites does not exist on the ground level.

There is also no such thing as an adult pool. There are no signs posted to identify it as such and no towels available. A huge disappointment, since the other very large pool was filled with kids. I was promised that even though they did not honour the room type, I would be in a quiet building by the adult pool. I like kids, but I wanted to be in an adult environment at this pool and there was no such luck. Not honouring your reservation as made weeks earlier is for me an unforgivable situation unless compensation is immediately offered. There was an explanation as to why they could not honour my reservation (no rooms available(, despite my having written confirmation of the room type. To then pay a mandatory $24 a "resort fee" is also ridiculous. It is a payment for "free" internet, local calls, parking and use of pool, putting green and volleyball court. The other issue with having a ground floor terrace/lanai was an outdoor dining table with rooster droppings that was not cleaned during my stay.

The internet service did not work for two days because of a software upgrade that necessitated a call to the help line. Why not send a broadcast email message out to guests instead to explain how to work around the problem? It is also strange to pay for more than 2 devices (an extra $9.99/day).

By the main pool, they rent surf boards and beach chairs, etc. which is very convenient. The weekly rate is quite reasonable as compared to the daily rate. I never visited the lobby after check in, and had no need for their marketplace for drinks or to book boat tours, etc. via the concierge. I was somewhat unimpressed by the lobby which I think is not especially well designed and not very grand, given that the condos are represented as "luxury".

What you forego at the Wyndham is a view (unless you are on a top floor facing the resort or ocean) and immediate access to a beach. They make up for this with a condo that is truly high end (they even have individual doorbells), with plenty of parking, very nice grounds and a good location. If you prefer a pool to a beach, the pool is nice though not deep. Local area stores and restaurants were fine. It is a good mid-way point to other areas to visit that are within 30-1.5 hours from the hotel. All mid-range to high end shopping, clearly targets the tourists.

There was daily towel service and midweek change of bedding. That was more than adequate. I thought they had considered everything that travellers need, including extra outlets for charging gadgets and even a re-chargeable flashlight by the door.

I visited the Grand Hyatt and the grounds and amenities are superior because it actually is a high end, full service hotel. You pay for this in equally high room rates and in every other way ($14 drinks). The pool and beach area are amazing but the rooms do not compare. I would suggest going the condo route for all of the flexibility they offer, but consider a stay at the Hyatt if you can afford it and don't need laundry and a full kitchen and prefer on-site restaurants and shops.

Tips: I would definitely shop at Walmart rather than Costco for shorter stays with fewer people. It has most of what you need (but not fresh produce) at very reasonable prices. Beware of theft at the beach. I had a camera stolen on my last day, while I was at a beach close to the airport. I believe the thefts are quite organized. Leaving anything unattended in cars is risky, and safer but not entirely safe in the trunk. In my case, I think I was distracted so the camera could be taken from my backpack.

The Wyndham staff were nice and addressed matters expeditiously (unrelated to room type). The grounds were kept very well.

Again, the rooms are great and extremely well appointed. The grounds are nice but lacking amenities and it is hard to imagine what it will look like when done. There are many beachfront alternatives in Poipu but the condos themselves are unlikely to match this Wyndham property.

Room Tip: Corner suites are best, higher is better and decide whether you prefer to be close to the pool or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdotontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The condo unit was fantastic. Everything looks new and very high-end. We were in building 2, room 402 (2402). The beds were wonderful. The kitchen could have been stocked a little better (some pyrex storage containers would be nice). The front-loading washing machine had a lot of mold/mildew in the door seal and smelled bad and stunk up a load of clothes we ran in it (had to bleach everything when we got home to get rid of the dirty dishrag smell). If guests had always left the door to the washer open this would probably not have happened.... perhaps a sign on the washing machines are in order? I would have given 5 stars except for this problem. Like most hotels/resorts, the workout room is a joke if you are seriously into free weights (no squat rack or plates... just dumbells), but who wants to work out on vacation anyway?? The property is not really in walking distance of Poipu Beach park (I mean, you could walk, sure, but if you are carrying towels, snorkeling gear, etc, you wouldn't want to as it would be 10-15 minutes). No problem, though, as it's a quick drive and parking is not an issue there. The pool is quite nice. There are a good many restaurants nearby in walking distance. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I had kids with me (we didn't on this trip) and especially at the price we paid. We got the "construction noise rate", but never heard any construction. The rate was less than a room at the nearby Sheraton, and the condo was 2 bedroom with a kitchen, so that's a no brainer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo8243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koloa Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing Resort

Property: Koloa Landing Resort
Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Business Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the most coveted locations in all of the Hawaiian Islands. Travel & Leisure Magazine ranked Kauai as the #1 Hawaiian Island Destination two years in a row. In 2010, Kauai was #1 in the US as an island destination and #2 in the world, based on the readers choice awards. The rich amenities and luxurious accommodations at the brand new Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu Beach are set among 25 acres of lush tropical oasis. The Resort is located less than a mile from the legendary Poipu Beach and boasts two beautiful resort style pools with meandering lagoons and cascading waterfalls. A paradise of natural and cultural treasures on Kauai's South Shore awaits you, at Koloa Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Koloa Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing