We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koloa Landing Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Absolutely LOVED this room and resort. Everything you need for a luxurious stay on an amazing island. Everything in room is high-end and beautiful. The pools are fantastic, romantic lighting at night, waterfall, poolside BBQs, putting green, volleyball, small soccer pitch. We had a HUGE, wrap around lanai and could see both sunrise and sunset! Could watch the whales breaching from our lanai and one morning could see and HEAR a whale slapping it's fin on the water. Totally awesome! Pool is great for all ages - loved the 1ft deep pool part for toddlers! The best, no complaints at all!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha Burdine!

Many mahalo's for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Koloa Landing. We appreciate you as a guest commenting on all of the things you found to be enjoyable here at our resort.

As you listed: putting on our golf practice green, poolside BBQ grills, soccer, volleyball, swimming and much more provide a lot of fun for every type of personality or lifestyle. We're glad you enjoyed those activities while here on island.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our pools, and found it suitable and fun for adults and kids alike. Being able to see the whales and here them slap the water is an amazing experience, and a great memory to have. We're happy we were able to host you during your memory-making vacation.

Once again, thank you for your comments and choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you on the Garden Island soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    443
    157
    48
    21
See reviews for
1,005
573
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We shared the 3 bedroom 3 bath condo with 6 adults and 1 lucky 6 year old. We were all impressed with the upscale furnishings as well as the lay out. We quickly pushed the sliding glass doors into the the pocket in the wall and lived that way for 8 nights. We found the location was excellent. We took walks to Poipu Beach as well as both shoping centers. My dtr-in-law started the day with a run to the blowhole. Koloa Town had 2 grocery stores which had everything we needed like "Poke" Our favorite was the ahi with wasabi. The condo is not supplied with salt and pepper or any other condiments so I brought some spices along in little baggies to avoid buying large quantities. Plastic wrap or foil would have been nice but we made do. The wifi work perfectly and viewing our pictures on the bigscreen TV was a joy.
FYI-We found out that you take your towells from the laundry room down to the pool as there isn't a towell supply down there. We participated in a few of the activities and enjoyed them. My 6 year old granddaughter created a vary nice lei for her grammy. The only thing that everyone must know that if you keep all the windows opened like we did you will hear the roosters! Their day starts well before mine. We had a car and was touring all over the island so we had no issue with the location as some have posted in earlier posts. We also heard no construction noise or looked out on any. We were in building 2 room 304. We're spoiled now and already talking about coming back. All the front staff were great and I wish I remembered all their names but I do remember Kenan who assisted me on check-out. We were rushing to meet the check-out time and he assured me that all was well and not to worry.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 2nd or 3rd or 4th floor and you will get a wraparound Lanai with lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lov2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha lov2trvl!

Boy, it sounds like you were able to experience a little bit of everything during your visit to Kauai! You saw the sights (Spouting Horn), ate the food (Poke) and even found comfort (here at Koloa Landing! We're glad you chose to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

It appears that you made great use of our large lanai's and the ability to push them back into the walls to create a larger living space. As you found out, even with six adults and one child, our luxurious villas provide plenty of space and comfort for you during your vacation.

We hope that the next time you and yours choose to visit Kauai that Koloa Landing will be at the top of your list to provide an excellent lodging experience. We appreciate you and look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We beleave this is the best value here on Kauai. Elegant condo home, 2 bedroom, modern kitchen with all you need for just a breakfast, snak or a meal.
Great location in walking distance to a Shopping Center, the Sheraton Hotel with Beach or Roye's the best Restaurant on the Island.
2 pools, great parking, hot tub, bbq area everything y ask for it. Friendly staff.
We will be back and glad we found it. If you a AARP member, the rates are HOT!
Herbert

Room Tip: Ask for building 3 direct on the pool or building 6 or 9 for better Ocean view. Ask for third or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbertzacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha herbertzacher!

Your experience at Koloa Landing sounds a whole lot like a lot of our other guests ... awesome! We're glad you chose to stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property here.

We also think our location on Kauai's south shore makes Koloa Landing a great spot when dining at Kauai's amazing restaurants or heading out on an exploratory hike or relaxing at the beach.

Many mahalo's for your thoughts and we hope you choose to stay at Koloa Landing during you next trip to Kauai.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Servies Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We really enjoyed the large Lanai in our 3 bedroom villa. The "windows" of the living room pushed all the way back to open up the room to the outside. We were a little further from the ocean than we anticipated, but the ocean view was still very nice from our third floor lanai. The villas were very nicely furnished with high end appliances, fixtures, and electronics. The pool was large and also very nice, but was a bit chilly while we were there. There isn't really any kind of beach access from the property, but the Poipu Beach is very close by. The property is currently undergoing an expansions, but we didn't see a whole lot of activity during the week that we were there. We didn't experience any construction noise at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha BKS69!

Thank you for taking the time to talk about your time at Koloa Landing. We appreciate that you took the time to offer some feedback and express how much you enjoyed our large and spacious three-bedroom villas.

We find that most of our guests also enjoy opening up the lanai doors to experience a large inside/outside feeling villa to enjoy the ocean and mountain breezes. We're glad you were able to take advantage of the option our lanai's provide.

We're glad you had a positive experience at Koloa Landing, and we hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit the beautiful Garden Island of Kauai!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We really enjoyed the lei greeting and a complementary upgrade. The "villa" was even nicer than I had expected, and the large soaker tub was a wonderful surpise. The overall quality of the finishings was amazing. I enjoyed having the opportunity to grill on the poolside BBQ and eating on our own lanai. The one complaint was that there was a pool party including canon-balls right outside our bedroom window at 2 a.m. on our first, jet-lagged night. The thin walls and windows were just a bit surprising in such a large complex. It may get louder once more people know about this place. It was a lot closer to Poipu beach than I imagined from the map where we saw monk seals and whales from shore! We are already planning another trip to Koloa Landing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindseyP706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha wyopookie!

We love hearing that you enjoyed your stay at Koloa Landing. From your picture, It appears you had a great time watching the amazing humpback whales which call the warm waters off Kauai home during the winter months. Great snap shot!

We hear a lot about how people enjoy using our deluxe BBQ grills at both of our pools to grill up some great locally grown beef or fresh ahi or mahi mahi.or other fish. We're glad you were able to take advantage of our fun poolside experience.

We look forward to seeing you and yours again on your next trip to Kauai, and we hope Koloa Landing will be your landing spot on the Garden Island.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed over my kids mid-winter break and used a living social voucher which made the unit very affordable (~225 per night) Room was 2 BR 2 an a half baths. The room itself was execptional wolf appliances, beautiful furniture and fantastic condition. Good views of the ocean and the pool was great. Only complaint was the towels.. there is no towel service by the pool and the maids seldom left any towels in the room, I was calling the loobby 2x per day requesting additional towels.... minor complaint but given how nice everything else was it was just a bit odd! Also expect early morning wake up from the ferel roosters... but that happens everywehre on Kauai :-)

Room Tip: Building 6 has great views and both pools are very accesible (adult and family pool). Also the 2 BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donjo_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha Donjo_ms!

Many mahalo's for taking the time to highlight your stay with us at Koloa Landing! We're glad you and your kids found our two bedroom villas to be perfect for your stay. We're glad you took advantage of our great Living Social offer.

We're sorry for the inconvience you discovered with towels. Thank you for your feedback as that is the only way we can work on constantly looking to improve our guests pleasure at our resort.

We hope the next time you come to visit Kauai that Koloa Landing will be the place you choose to lay your head down at night and kick up your heels.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I loved what I saw on the website but was nervous about booking at this resort because of the the ongoing construction. I looked at other resorts but Koloa Landing just seemed to best fit the bill in all other ways. After a call to the resort to discuss the situation, they assured me they were doing their best to control the effects of nearby construction on the guests. After following reviews of the resort and seeing minimal mention of the construction I decided to give it a try. We reserved a 1 bdrm deluxe oceanview for 6 nights. We arrived to a warm Hawaiian welcome and were informed that they had no 1 bdrm available but they upgraded (at the same cost to us) to a 3 bdrm. We were on the 2nd floor (building 6) so the views of the ocean were not spectacular but it did have a great view of the pool area. Though we could see the construction fence we were never bothered by it at all.
The room exceeded every expectation, it was simply beautiful. Whoever designed this place put much thought into giving guests the maximum comfort and privacy. Everything was high end and very tastefully appointed. It had a huge lania that allowed us to find the sun or shade at any part of the day and even had a corner where you could always be sheltered from the wind.
Another thing we really loved was that it did not feel like the place was crowded at all. We never felt like we needed to fight for space at the pool and were often able to sit in the hot tub and gaze at the stars all by ourselves.
If being on the oceanfront is really important to you then this place is not but the beach is a very short walk away and there are plenty of good restaurants and shopping within a 5-10min walking distance.
Our only regret is that by the time we can go back that this place will have become much popular and will be busier and much higher in price to stay at. Oh well, we loved it there this time and are thankful that we took the chance and were so delightfully accommodated!

Room Tip: Building 6 overlooks the smaller pool area ( very pretty when lit up for the evening) that is not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrin H, Manager at Koloa Landing Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Aloha amtngirl!

Thank you for taking the time to talk about your vacation to Kauai and staying with us at Koloa Landing. We're glad you took the time to ask and find out questions, and we're glad we were able to answer your questions by showing you great results.

We're glad you hear you were able to experience an upgraded 3-room villa during your stay, and that you were able to enjoy all the luxuries that come with those. We also love our large lanai's as they offer a lot of room to relax and enjoy the views.

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to the Garden Isle and we hope to see you and yours the next time you come to beautiful Kauai.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Terrin Hansen
Owner Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,294 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koloa Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koloa Landing Resort

Property: Koloa Landing Resort
Address: 2641 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-8581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#2 Business Hotel in Poipu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Koloa Landing Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection is nestled in the heart of Poipu on the sunny South Shore of Kauai next door to some of the best shopping & dining on the island at the Shops at Kukui'ula Village and a short stroll from world famous Poipu Beach. Situated on 21 acres of lush tropical foliage, the resort boasts the largest accommodations on the entire island - from deluxe studios, to 1, 2, 3, & even 4 bedroom luxurious villas ranging from 500 to 3,600 square feet - making them perfect for couples and families alike. Each studio is complete with a kitchenette and full size washer/dryer, while the villas feature full kitchens, expansive lanai, washer/dryer, and private bathrooms for every bedroom. The resort also includes three incredible resort pools - a 350,000 gallon signature pool complete with swim and walk-through grotto, waterslides, and poolside cabanas, as well as a 6,100 sq ft family lagoon pool and 2,000 sq ft waterfall adult pool. In addition, the property partnered with world-famous chef, Sam Choy, to open the Holoholo Grill, a poolside bar & grill serving Hawaiian comfort food and island libations. Other amenities include a 4,000 sq ft day spa, 24-hour fitness center, lobby bar, family activity fields, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Koloa Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koloa Landing At Poipu Beach Hotel Poipu
Koloa Landing Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing