We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shipwreck Beach

Shipwreck Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$256.25*
and up
Vintage Biplane Tour of Kauai
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“its worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

this beach is fairly quiet and private. it makes for a great walk up the bluff and the views are amazing. dont miss it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    267
    92
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
522 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good for cliff jump, terrible beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I am not sure how this beach got rated so highly. There is the cliff jump, which I would guess is about 30 feet high and most definitely has a scare factor to it; lots of fun to watch and jump off if you are into it. My kids did it once each, but that was enough for them. The beach sand is nice and a good place to layout while you watch people jump off the cliff. However, if you want to go in the water, there are rocks everywhere. Rocks + waves = high risk of injury. Go for the cliff jump; do not go to play at the beach. My kids jumped off the cliff, then we went to another beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
504 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“One of many inspiring Poipu Beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Shipwreck is Poipu's eastern beach. We are staying at the Kiahuna Plantation Condo's. Poipu is a ribbon of beaches and they are all distinctly awesome. The Hyatt overlooks this beach. We drove just past the Hayy and turned right down to the beach. Limited parking so get there early. To your left when overlooking the waves is a great cliff where yonger adventurous people climb up the rocky sandy pathway to jump in and swim back to the shore.
Whatever your expectations are for a beach you will find it in Poipu. Walk the left of the parking lot and the further you go the less people you have to encounter.
Awesome, inspiring, peaceful, bright, sparkling waves and the constant roar of incoming waves will overcome your senses so you can realize that this is what you flew here to experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to explore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is front of the Hyatt. I think there are public spaces to park on the beach because all beaches have public access. I accessed the breach through a walking path from Poipu Kai resort. We walked in the morning. There is a cool trail from the beach to access the cliffs, which was very cool. You could stay on the beach all day if you wanted. There are no bathroom facilities, but maybe there is access by the public parking spots? I'm not sure. It was neat to look at the grounds of the Hyatt, which was beautiful. I liked this spot. Didn't try and swim, so I can't comment on that. We were there in December and the sea looked rough....but again I cannot comment on the swimming. Beautiful quiet spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LsyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful, not busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Located at the grand hyatt resort the start of the Maha'ulepu trail. Long wider beach compared to poipu and brennecke. Cliff jumping too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marleymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Beach also viewed

 

Been to Shipwreck Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing