We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous and well priced”
other travelers have booked this property
Akala Pua is Oriented toward the Rear (Ocean Side) of the Property (Photo when landscaping was new)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Akala Pua is Oriented toward the Rear (Ocean Side) of the Property (Photo when landscaping was new)
Akala Pua's Glass Dining Table Seats Eight (there are two other chairs) and has an Ocean View. Akala Pua\'s Kitchen has Granite Countertops and an Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Akala Pua is Oriented toward the Rear (Ocean Side) of the Property (Photo when landscaping was new)
Akala Pua's Glass Dining Table Seats Eight (there are two other chairs) and has an Ocean View.
Akala Pua\'s Kitchen has Granite Countertops and an Ocean View
Another view of Pua's West Master Bedroom with King Size Bed
Akala Pua Shares a Lawn and Barbecue with Ahe Lani and is just 2-3 minutes stroll to Baby Beach.
Poipu's Baby Beach is just a 2-3 Minute Walk from Akala Pua.  It has knee deep water and no waves.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jaimielau...
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous and well priced”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this home. Perfect location adjacent to Baby Beach and other near by beach access points. Two blocks walking distance to a Living Foods grocery market and delicious dinner option at Beach House restaurant. The home itself is very well appointed, spacious, and worked out perfectly for two young couples with babies (they slept in our respective master suites) and a grand mother in the third bedroom. The finishes in the home were gorgeous and well crafted. Having two families and a grandmother in the house at the same time NEVER felt cramped and always worked out perfectly. The home was quiet, even with babies crying at various times. Beautiful views from the upstairs living room. Fans in every room were more than able to keep the air cool without air conditioning (there is none in the home). The kitchen is large and allows for multiple people to be in it at the same time. The bathrooms were also spacious and well appointed. The hot water worked perfectly and water pressure was perfect. The lighting in the home was excellent as well. The landscaping was gorgeous and there was plenty of room to run around in the garden and BBQ.

The ONE and only complaint I have about this house is that the appliances need upgrading. The dryer took three hours to dry clothes! Once the repair man came to fix it, it took two hours to dry the clothes. The washer is the older top loading type that wastes a lot of water and is rough on clothes compared to the newer front loading type. The refrigerator was sort of weird as well and did not cool as well as we had hoped. The freezer area where ice is made had a lot of ice build up on it as well. The dishwasher did not clean the dishes well (even though we pre-rinsed), so we ended up handwashing everything and using the dishwasher as a drying rack, only one burner on the stove worked accurately, the stove exhaust fan is just a charcoal vent that vents back into the room rather than outside, and the microwave oven had a superficial crack in the front of the plastic. The owner was very responsive to our concern about the dryer and immediately sent a repair man to look at it. But, the appliances seem like they are original to the house (I believe it was built in 2005) and need some upgrades.

If you do not cook a lot and you don't plan on doing much wash (we did because of the babies), then this house is absolutely perfect! Otherwise, I hope that the owner will upgrade the appliances as it becomes financially possible, as it will tremendously add to the perfectness of this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and well appointed.
Liked least: The appliances were old.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2012
Since this review, we have purchased a new high end Samsung refrigerator. We had a lot of problems with the Whirlpool refrigerator and sometimes guests did not close the doors fully so they thought it was not working. The range and oven are serviced regularly, as is the microwave. We have not had any other comments about the dishwasher, but it worked fine when my wife and I stayed in this house in January, 2013. The dryer is an electric dryer (no gas on the island) and they take longer to dry than gas dryers. If you are used to gas dryers, this one will seem slow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707Pat
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
“Awesome beach house”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

House was in a great location and was in exceptional condition. Easy access to major attractions, and close enough to walk to the small marketplace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The individual bedrooms and bathrooms that were separate from the main living area
Liked least: lack of ocean view
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californi...
California
2 reviews
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed October 15, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Everything went smoothly. The owner responded quickly to our search and made sure that we had toys for our grandchild. The home was clean and nicely furnished. We arrived to find lights on, floral arrangements in the upstairs living area. The bedrooms were located downstairs for privacy. If adults wanted to play cards/watch television, they could remain upstairs. For little ones who had a earlier bedtime or adults who wanted quiet time, they could go downstairs to their rooms. Perfect for all 7 of us. The home is supplied with soap, washing detergent, basic cooking ingredients, beach toys/chairs, beach toys. We just hit Costco for the food we wanted. The Baby Beach was a block away. Great vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates
Reviewed September 27, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed September 25, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: How clean and newly remodeled the home was.
Liked least: no bathroom on the main (kitchen/living) floor
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westlake Village
Reviewed July 7, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed June 27, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$280
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing