We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House - Be aware there are chickens!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
White-water view from the large lanai.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White-water view from the large lanai.
Hawaiian furnishings throughout Hale Lani Kai. Open floor plan is ideal for family time together. A new glass table top now seats 6 comfortably.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
11 reviews
White-water view from the large lanai.
Hawaiian furnishings throughout Hale Lani Kai.
Open floor plan is ideal for family time together. A new glass table top now seats 6 comfortably.
Dining area off of the kitchen with seating for 6, along with 2 kitchen counter stools.
Modern kitchen with top of the line appliances, and two kitchen counter stools.
Awapuhi Suite has a wonderful ocean view. Listen to the waves as you sleep peacefully.
Awapuhi Suite has a beautiful ocean view! The three bedrooms each have their own private bathroom.
White water view from Awapuhi Suite windows.
Awapuhi Suite private bathroom with dual sinks, a jetted bath tub, and a walk-in shower.
Brennecke's Beach is an easy walk, with great boogie-boarding and body-surfing.
Bamboo Suite has a  door directly onto the white water view lanai.
Private Bamboo Suite bathroom with jetted tub and walk-in rain shower.
Bamboo Suite bathroom.
White water view lanai with seating for 6, plus two lounges, and a BBQ.
Large lanai with wonderful white water views, along with Poipu Beach Park views.
Looking from Poipu Beach Park, a view of Hale Lani Kai's exterior.
Downstairs Plumeria bedroom with a king size bed, along with a double bed too.
Downstairs bathroom attaches to the Plumeria bedroom and game room.
Screened in game-room with ping-pong and foosball tables, is a fun time for the group!
Boogie boards, umbrellas, snorkel gear, coolers, chairs… The pile has grown since this picture.
Open living space with comfortable hawaiian rattan furnishings. The door leads out to the lanai.
Nukumoi Surf Shop is one property away, and it'sa great place to buy t-shirts, hats and other gifts.
Location, location, location!
Two car covered carport with a full size washer & dryer.
Take a stroll down to the beach to watch the sunset, or enjoy it right from the lanai.
Poipu Beach is magnificent! Especially early in the mornings and right at sunset!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
desmondo1...
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great House - Be aware there are chickens!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This house was a great fit for our extended family trip. It is very up-to-date and is stocked with all amenities that you could possibly think of - including anything you'd want to take to sit/play with at the beach, even for toddlers! The kitchen is stocked with all the common cooking tools, pots and pans and dishes, making it very convenient to have meals at home. Having a bathroom in each of the 3 bedrooms made getting ready for outings much easier and much quicker since everyone had their own space to get ready.

One could not ask for a better location for a rental house. It sat one house away from Poipu Beach Park and Brennecke Beach. Poipu Beach Park has the hidden gem of "Baby Beach" - a small part of the beach is protected by a rock reef providing an area no more than 2-3 feet deep of smooth, calm water for small children to play in. Our 23 month old had an absolute blast in the water and we felt very secure letting him play as there were no currents or big waves and he could easily walk around on his own. Just outside of this protected area there was some great spots for snorkeling, and just beyond that some surfing. Over at Brennecke Beach (just the other side of Poipu Beach) there was great surf for body surfing and boogie boarding. All this combined made it an ideal location for all the members of our party! I would recommend the Poipu Beach area even if you aren't traveling with small children as the "baby beach" was relaxing to just sit in and cool off from the sun!

One word of caution (which I assume goes for most vacation rental houses in the area): the island is inhabited by wild chickens and roosters. This house only has open air windows - windows don't actually close, rather are screens covered by slats you can adjust. So, the noise from the roosters in the morning is quite loud since you can't block any sound by closing the windows. Some of us were able to block the sound with ear plugs and by the end of the trip most of us were used to it. My 2 year old, however, wasn't able to adjust to it, making it a rough week of sleep for him (and therefore, mom!).

Because of the screened windows, the house also doesn't have air conditioning - another thing I would imagine is common on the island. The house was pretty warm in the afternoons - we would be home for my son's nap at this time. I would guess if you didn't have naps to worry about, you'd be at the beach or elsewhere on the island at this time, would enjoy the perfect 80 degree temperature and that wouldn't really be a problem.

Overall, we loved the house and the location of the house. We would definitely recommend it with the word of warning about the roosters so you can prepare yourself ahead of time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location directly across from Poipu Beach
Liked least: Noise from the roosters
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family306...
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Very clean and walking distance to the beach. Great view of the beach off the patio. There are beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and cooler for your use, which is very helpful. A beautiful drive to the North shore with travel time of a little over an hour.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very clean and great view of the beach
Liked least: The roosters
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmillaire
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Wonderful time in Koloa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The six of us rented this place for the first week of May 2012. This house has 3 bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, so the 3 couples were quite comfortable!

All amenities looked new and everything was very clean. The kitchen was wonderful, there was enough place for everybody to participate in the meal preparation.

We did not use the game room at all, but we did use the provided snorkeling gear and beach towels. There were also some folding chairs, a bike, a foosball table and a ping-pong table.

The sundeck is quite large and mostly overlooks Brennecke's Beach. The house is not right on the beach and is slightly behind another house, but the view is still quite good. Anyway, there is so much to see on Kaua'i that you will never be in the house long enough to worry about that!

Speaking of doing stuff in Kaua'i, the house is quite conveniently located, not too far from the midway point of the highway going around the island. We really liked going through the Tree Tunnel and beautiful Koloa to go back home.

All in all, we couldn't have found a better place to stay on our first visit to Hawai'i!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Corrigans
Texas
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: The roosters!
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ddtoj
NH
1 review
“Location, Location, Location, and... Owner, Owner, Owner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We had a fantastic trip to Kauai and central to that was Hale Lani Kai. We spent 10 days at the house and it is beautiful, clean, spacious, just perfect. The location is fantastic. My kids could walk the 50 yards to Brenneckes to go boogie boarding whenever they wanted, about 150yds the other way is Poipu beach. If you are going all the way to Kauai, make sure you're in a great location - this is it!!

On top of the house being fantastic, Kelly (the owner) went absolutely above and beyond to take care of an issue when the refrigerator died right before Easter weekend. I couldn't believe how promptly she coordinated service and arranged contingency plans so that we wouldn't lose any food and wouldn't lose any vacation time.

Thanks so much, we will be back!!!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hermens Family
Arizona
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010 for a stay in June 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful home with a view of the ocean
Liked least: Lots of noisy roosters on the island!! Part of the ambiance...
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2010
Hi Ann,

Thank you very much for the kind words regarding Hale Lani Kai, and your overall rental experience! Mahalo, Kelly Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mrsaman
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and upgraded amenities
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing