We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came Back on Second Trip”
Review of Merriman's Poipu

Merriman's Poipu
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's Poipu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Poipu Road
Description: In a casual yet elegant setting of an Old Hawaii Plantation, Chef-Owner Peter Merriman serves his unique style of Hawaii Regional Cuisine in Kauai's Poipu. A pioneer in the "Farm to Table" concept, Peter serves only the freshest products, at least 90% of which are locally grown or caught, using only sustainable methods. His international menu items are prepared in a manner that highlights the natural flavors of these fresh and local foods. Located in Poipu, we feature both mauka (mountain) and makai (ocean) views as well as sunset views over the Kukui'ula resort. We offer a premium bar upstairs, a downstairs cafe for casual dining, and over 1,000 bottles of wine in our cellar. Our facilities can host private parties and meetings. Our aloha-friendly staff, with a food and beverage knowledge second to none, will ensure that you have an extraordinary dining experience.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Came Back on Second Trip”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We just finished our second trip to Kauai, and made a point to come back this time with our friends--we distinctly remember very good food, and the truffle parmesan fries. As before, the food was excellent (the fish tacos were amongst the best I've had). Outdoor seating with a great ocean breeze made it very, very comfortable. Service was very good!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank speargat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    623
    298
    121
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Tainted By Terrible Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

During our honeymoon in Kauai, Merriman's was one of the top restaurants we ate with regards to the food. The opportunity to have half portions of some of the entrees was a great opportunity especially if you've already spent the day filling up on other island foods. The drinks and desserts were also exceptional. The issue was that we saw our waiter in 10 to 15 minute spurts. We didn't get our amuse bouche without asking for it. My dish was supposed to come with fritters instead of mashed potatoes and it didn't. Plus make sure you like your drink, cause you're going to get charged for it even if they take it back and you didn't drink it. I had ordered the mojito cocktail from their menu, but it tasted like flavored water....so i told our waiter i didn't want the drink and wanted something else. When we got the bill, i had been charged for both drinks even though i didn't drink the first one. Again, the food was one of the best we had, but the service was terrible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixRising7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, casual dining in the heart of the Kukui'ula shopping center”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice location in the heart of the shopping center across from Tortilla Republic. Some of the outdoor tables have lovely views to catch the sunset over the Kalaheo mountain. There's a green grassy area right adjacent to the restaurant where little ones love to run and do cartwheels under the watchful eyes of parents still dining. The food is good though the menu is somewhat limited to burgers, pizza, and salads. Be careful about ordering the cilantro garlic fries, they're very addictive!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowGooseCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mouth watering”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

A farm to table restaurant, everything was melt in your mouth delicious. The staff is incredibly friendly, knowledgable and accommodating. Definitely a must try.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food & Vibe”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a great place. The upstairs if fine dining and the lower sloor is more casual. Both are worth a trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank texascoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Merriman's Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing