We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Merriman's Poipu

Merriman's Poipu
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's Poipu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Poipu Road
Description: In a casual yet elegant setting of an Old Hawaii Plantation, Chef-Owner Peter Merriman serves his unique style of Hawaii Regional Cuisine in Kauai's Poipu. A pioneer in the "Farm to Table" concept, Peter serves only the freshest products, at least 90% of which are locally grown or caught, using only sustainable methods. His international menu items are prepared in a manner that highlights the natural flavors of these fresh and local foods. Located in Poipu, we feature both mauka (mountain) and makai (ocean) views as well as sunset views over the Kukui'ula resort. We offer a premium bar upstairs, a downstairs cafe for casual dining, and over 1,000 bottles of wine in our cellar. Our facilities can host private parties and meetings. Our aloha-friendly staff, with a food and beverage knowledge second to none, will ensure that you have an extraordinary dining experience.
Bay Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful setting and great food. Convenient to those staying in Poipu. Good drinks and great service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    825
    623
    298
    121
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knox
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fry's are extra?”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had the lamb burger which was delicious but you don't get anything with it. We also had one of their pizza's Gluten Free dough and it was awesome. Waiter was well trained and informative, but didn't come back very often. It was nice to eat outside in the breeze but the only views are other restaurants, and stores as it is in a shopping area. I must note that the Cilantro fry's were cooked perfect. It's quite costly to eat out in Kauai unless you go where the local go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Staying in Poipu food can get fairly expensive, that being said this restaurant is in the mall down the street. The service was fast and we got immediate seating (we did eat early 5:00pm). We ordered pizza and is was really good. Their parmasean cheese French fries were really good to my surprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but below our expectations”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After visiting Merriman's on Maui on a previous Hawaii visit, my expectations were high for this visit on Kauai. Overall though the experience was disappointing based on those expectations. Kauai's Merriman's has a nice view of the sunset and you can see the ocean, but it is not an oceanfront view. Service started off very good but we couldn't decide if the server was trying to leave us alone to be uninterupted or if he just wasn't interested in serving our table. We ordered a round of cocktails upon being seated and we were not offered a wine list or additional drinks for the rest of our visit. The fish entrees we both ordered were good, but not great. The fish was cooked very well but based on the price the whole dish should have been more interesting. We will stick with visiting Merriman's on Maui instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch after shopping!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Loved my big juicy burger (called BKE?) and they have a really fun cocktail menu. It's a cool surfer theme'd place that supports the local farmers and fishermen. Great service and I really stuffed myself silly! Kauai is AWESOME and this place fits right in with that!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLsakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Merriman's Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing