We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merriman's Poipu

Merriman's Poipu
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's Poipu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Koloa
Cross street: Poipu Road
Description: In a casual yet elegant setting of an Old Hawaii Plantation, Chef-Owner Peter Merriman serves his unique style of Hawaii Regional Cuisine in Kauai's Poipu. A pioneer in the "Farm to Table" concept, Peter serves only the freshest products, at least 90% of which are locally grown or caught, using only sustainable methods. His international menu items are prepared in a manner that highlights the natural flavors of these fresh and local foods. Located in Poipu, we feature both mauka (mountain) and makai (ocean) views as well as sunset views over the Kukui'ula resort. We offer a premium bar upstairs, a downstairs cafe for casual dining, and over 1,000 bottles of wine in our cellar. Our facilities can host private parties and meetings. Our aloha-friendly staff, with a food and beverage knowledge second to none, will ensure that you have an extraordinary dining experience.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

One of the best meals we had on Kauai. We are upstairs. Nice location, good food and wine. Enjoyed our evening

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    612
    289
    118
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate at merriman's Fish House which is upstairs from the other Merriman's. It is a well lit open air restaurant with comfortable seating and a lively volume but not too loud. It is located in a group of shops so there really isn't any view but it wasn't a closed in fell either. It was possible to get two smaller sized entrees to sample for $48.00. I had the filet with mashed potatoes and a demi glace and nut crusted fish. A baby romaine salad was $12.00 with creamy caesars dressing. A glass of wine ranged from $12-19. My friend had the shrimp scampi which was giant shrimp served with the heads on. the service was very good, almost too quick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Merriman's is really two completely different restaurants in one building. Downstairs is a bar with a standard but tasty bar menu, and upstairs is an upscale fish house. Both are great at what they do. Both are somewhat expensive for what you get, but that is the nature of that area of Hawaii. The service was thoughtful and attentive and the ahi was great. The fish house upstairs is well suited for a special events, with pleasant open air seating. Downstairs, the bar is fun for an impromptu casual gathering and features a patio area. There is a weekly Farmer's Market in front of the restaurant every Wednesday afternoon that is fantastic. A quick swing through the Market followed by drinks in the bar is not a bad way to spend a Wednesday!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitch7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Upstairs, we had a lovely evening with delicious food. I am delighted to see the sources of the fish listed...by name of the boat! the meal was un-rushed with plenty of time to visit. The wine choices by the glass were excellent, which I appreciate as a light drinker. I find Merriman's Kauai u pto the Merriman standards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WynTClu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to eat at Merriman's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We so love the Merriman's on Maui, we tried Kauai's location. It delivered the same excellent top notch food. Expect high price, but you will get a taste sensation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoMsOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's Poipu also viewed

 

Been to Merriman's Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing