We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best gelato/sorbetto on the Island!”
Review of Papalani Gelato

Papalani Gelato
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Papalani Gelato Franchising Company is a family-owned and operated franchisor of handmade Hawaiian style gelato, coffee, and chocolate shops which is dedicated to sharing its hand-crafted artisanal Hawaiian inspired gelato, coffees, and chocolates throughout the state of Hawaii and beyond. Many customers rave that Papalani™ has the best gelato (Italian style ice cream) and best chocolate in the nation.
Ollympia, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best gelato/sorbetto on the Island!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

One cannot come to Kauai without stopping for the best gelato on the island at Papalani gelato! Their choices of gelato and sorbetto are amazing! My husband and I are trying to watch our diets so we both had the sorbetto. I had the dark chocolate which was rich and decadent along with the lemon sorbetto which was very refreshing. This is a busy place but a "must" for anyone who is in the Poipu area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlcsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    141
    50
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average - nothing to rave about.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I did not think this was worth the hype. It was a typical ice cream store - not a huge selection. The ice cream/gelato was not particularly rich. It was fine but not worth going out of your way in my opinion.I don't usually like to compare, but if you want ice cream, I enjoyed Lapperts more - they had a larger selection, fresher tasting and more unique flavors.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“outstanding treat”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is worth looking for across from the Kiahuna Plantation. Each of the many flavors we sampled was delicious, and the service was cheerful. This is a great dessert for a warm evening stroll. Tip for a semi-affordable good meal walking distance from Kiahuna (especially for teenagers like ours) grab a Puka Dog for dinner and then have a Papalani gelato for dessert.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank williat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is good stuff!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lots of flavors, friendly and efficient staff. Delicious gelato. I would go back in a heartbeat. Great location with plenty of parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1Groverbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive, ice cream”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Post visit...I agree with the reviewer who stated "Having had real gelato in Italy, there is no comparison". We found the ice cream to be good, but not outstanding. The waffle cones were good but expensive. Cost for a family of 4 (2 with 2 scoops, two with single scoops) $28!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papalani Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Papalani Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing