We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worthy of return trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papalani Gelato

Papalani Gelato
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Papalani Gelato Franchising Company is a family-owned and operated franchisor of handmade Hawaiian style gelato, coffee, and chocolate shops which is dedicated to sharing its hand-crafted artisanal Hawaiian inspired gelato, coffees, and chocolates throughout the state of Hawaii and beyond. Many customers rave that Papalani™ has the best gelato (Italian style ice cream) and best chocolate in the nation.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worthy of return trips”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have found that when traveling there are experiences that are worth repeating on return visits. Papalani Gelato fell into that category for me. I had the lilikoi gelato with the seeds (I brushed and flossed for 10 minutes afterwards). This was the best gelato I have had. The 4 of us were the only ones in the store but as we sat outside enjoying our treats, the store quickly filled. I am glad we caught it during a lull.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bin2oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    140
    49
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Freshly Made and Tasty Gelato”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The best Gelato on the island made with all fresh ingredients, no powder here. Lots of local flavors: guava, Lilikoi, pineapple, kona coffee. Both gelato and sorbet.

Had the mint gelato, made from fresh mint and so refreshing. Also Lilikoi cheesecake was just the right sweet tart and finally pink guava was yummy. A must visit on Kauai. Located in Poipu Shopping Village.

Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to try this place as we wanted ice cream and didn't want to go to Lappert's. We thought it was awful. Having had real gelato in Italy, there is no comparison. My selection had a gritty texture with ice crystals throughout and my husband's was sticky, like at some point the gelato had thawed and refrozen. Having to wait in line for ten minutes while a party with 7 kids tried to make up their minds didn't help matters, nor did the price. For what we paid for two small cups we could have gotten an entire half-gallon of ice cream at the Big Save, and it probably would have tasted better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent gelato but not a must have”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited because it was ranked #1 but just your better than average gelato but you don't have to go out of your way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seat29a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Handcrafted Gelato, and It Shows!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is really good gelato, on par with what you'd get in an authentic gelato shop in Italy. The owner was working the night we stopped in, and he was very knowledgeable about all the ingredients and the gelato-making process. Papalani offers a variety of other treats if you don't want or can't eat gelato. Just ask for a taste if you're not sure what to get. Everything is delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KBandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papalani Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Papalani Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing