We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good gelato spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papalani Gelato

Papalani Gelato
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Papalani Gelato Franchising Company is a family-owned and operated franchisor of handmade Hawaiian style gelato, coffee, and chocolate shops which is dedicated to sharing its hand-crafted artisanal Hawaiian inspired gelato, coffees, and chocolates throughout the state of Hawaii and beyond. Many customers rave that Papalani™ has the best gelato (Italian style ice cream) and best chocolate in the nation.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
608 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good gelato spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My kids loved this place...I held out from indulging so I could get some Shave Ice. I tried theirs and they were both very good

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    140
    49
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went there and had gelato at the recommendation of a hotel staff. We were a group of 12. The gelato flavors were ok but nothing special. That was the consensus of everyone in our group and myself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here for an afternoon treat. The gelato was good, but nothing great ... And the prices were a bit high. My daughter got three different favors, all good ... but not "knock your socks off". My son got an cookie/ice cream sandwich ... not a lot of flavor. Based on other reviews, we will try again. Initial reaction - good, not great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Overrated, not worth the calories.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I am sure that the galati is homemade but maybe the home needs a renovation. Definitely not up to NYC gelato standards. Taste is tepid and the consistency was not as rich and creamy as I am used to. We sampled vanilla, chocolate, a coffee flavor and green tea. None were outstanding and we never returned for another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dclang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkysmum
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best lillikoi treat on Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am a lillikoi fanatic! The lillikoi sorbet was super delicious. I wish we could have gone back again! The POG was also great, and the lime. The service was cheerful and quick. Everyone was smiling. You should go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papalani Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Papalani Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing