We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Gelato”
Review of Papalani Gelato

Papalani Gelato
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Papalani Gelato Franchising Company is a family-owned and operated franchisor of handmade Hawaiian style gelato, coffee, and chocolate shops which is dedicated to sharing its hand-crafted artisanal Hawaiian inspired gelato, coffees, and chocolates throughout the state of Hawaii and beyond. Many customers rave that Papalani™ has the best gelato (Italian style ice cream) and best chocolate in the nation.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gelato”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The gelato here was really amazing. Tons of different flavors and everything was rich and creamy. My favorite was the milk chocolate paired with the mint. The strawberry guava was also very tasty. All three in our group enjoyed coming here and made a point of coming back multiple times during our week on Kauai. The staff were always very friendly and never seemed frustrated when we wanted to try a sample bit of many flavors to be sure of which to get.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurenita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    141
    50
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good gelato..but pricey!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Decided to splurge a little and indulge in some local gelato. I had 2 flavors in a plain waffle cone, as did my mom. Aside from the highly overpriced treat, the gelato itself was ok. I had the haupia (b/c I'm a coconut freak) and madagascar (not much taste). Mom had coffee and something with cookies...said both were pretty good. I'm a bit picky when it comes to gelato b/c Italy is my 'home away from home', but this gelato was good. A bit expensive...but good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had a small, which was way overpriced for two small scoops of ice cream. No standard flavors, so I got the local named offerings, a scoop of each. One sucked. Butterscotch was okay.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tropical Flavors”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Best ice cream and gelato that I had while on Kauai. And yes, even better than Lapparts IMHO. I went there twice and there were new flavors to try on the second stop. They let you sample the flavors before making your selection, so it is easy to get just the right flavor for your current mood. The first time I had Lime Margarita and No Sugar Raspberry, and the second time I had Lavender White Chocolate and Pog. All four of these flavors were excellent. I highly recommend this place as there will be a perfect flavor for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Gelato”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good, but pricey gelato. Several unexpected flavors to stir your curiosity; worth visiting while you are shopping.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDBCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papalani Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Papalani Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing